We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”

The Boat House at Cameron House
Ranked #8 of 25 Restaurants in Balloch
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was a return visit to Cameron House after a disappointing stay last month. We ate at the. boathouse and well they did a fab job. We had young waitress and she delivered a first class service, just the right amount detail. Well done wish I had her name but sadly I forgot . I had the terrine for starter and the chicken parmigiana for main both very good. We shared the boathouse knickerbocker glory all very nice and finished of with the very berry mocktail.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marymac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    245
    187
    119
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Work BBQ - Very Impressed”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I visited the Boat House as part of a conference where we have a BBQ set up for us on the deck. The food was good and the staff couldn't do more to help. I really liked the ambience of the restaurant and the setting was beautiful. I had a look at the menu and it looked good, maybe a bit pricey but you are also paying for the views. Would like to try again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I dined here while staying at Cameron House. I had asked when booking for a quiet table by the window and that's exactly what we got.

We had a fantastic waitress called Daniella who was great fun and really did help make the evening. She knew the menu well and had no hesitation in helping us with some recommendations.

My husband was delighted with the recommendation of the lamb and being vegetarian I opted for the risotto which was cooked to perfection.

Thank you, excellent meal and excellent service in beautiful surroundings!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skellytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average food, great location and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ordered fish curry, was presented with rice, a piece of salmon, two prawns and a very rich creamy sauce that had no hint of curry too it. Bit odd.
Other food was good especially the tempura starter, not quite good enough to warrant the added 10% as others have suggested.
Service and atmosphere were great and a fantastic spot overlooking the Marina.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSFlanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Setting”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a great little place to go for food. Myself and my boyfriend purchased the ITISON Deal which was a pasta or pizza each and a glass of wine or beer each for £20. Well worth the money! The pizza and pasta were delicious. We were seated right at the window over looking the boats which was perfect. I would highly recommend going here as the food is perfect and the scenery is too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House at Cameron House also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Boat House at Cameron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing