We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We had a wonderful time”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Smiddy Cottage over Ballagan burn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Smiddy Cottage over Ballagan burn
Old Smiddy cottage Parking at The Old Smiddy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Old Smiddy Cottage over Ballagan burn
Old Smiddy cottage
Parking at The Old Smiddy
Cottage sitting room with black watch tartan carpet
Sitting room
Old Smiddy cottage kitchen
Double bedroom
Double bedroom in cottage
Twin bedroom cottage
Cottage double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin ensuite
Our Donald in Ballagan burn
Ballagan burn
Beautiful stag at local roundabout
Beautiful walk up Loch Lomond National Park
Balloch Castle
Balloch castle
Ben Lomond at Loch Lomond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
IanFromOx...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a wonderful time”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Old Smiddy with my family of 4 for over a week in August 2014. The cottage was very well maintained and had everything one could wish for. Fiona was kind and professional and made us feel very welcome. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2014
Thankyou so much for your lovely comments I am glad you enjoyed your time at The Old Smiddy it was a pleasure to have you stay. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webb14
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, well equipped, and spotlessly clean accommodation,. Ideal for touring the area.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Balloch. Our main theme was the Commonwealth Games so we were very occupied! The Old Smiddy was ideal accommodation for us all to visit Glasgow and indeed spend time around Loch Lomond. Fiona and David were very helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thankyou for lovely review so glad you enjoyed the cottage and also the very successful Commonwealth games in Glasgow. Weather was great for you too which was super. Kind regards Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jillian C
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic Holiday and Brilliant Hosts”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I would like to say how fantastic our holiday was at The Old Smiddy, Cottage Ballaoch Loch Lomond, we travelled from Beverley East Yorkshire and our first holiday away, The cottage was beautiful and clean, and had everything you could wish for, Fiona and David Crag were brillent and fantastic hosts, We are hoping to go back their again later in the year would reccommend this beautiful cottage over and over again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Oh thankyou so much for the wonderful review we loved meeting you both was sad to see you going and looking forward to your next visit. Take care and keep well x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matts2869
Kensington, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Best Accomodation around Loch Lomond”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

What a lovely place! It is centrally located to Loch Lomond, restaurants and shopping. The owners, Fiona & Dave, were fantastic hosts. They made sure everything was done to our liking. The accommodations were absolutely great. The bed was super comfortable and loved the full equipped kitchen too. They had cable TV with a bunch of great channels. The setting is so picturesque with the babbling brook and the funny chickens strutting around. We can't wait to come back and stay here again!
Overall a wonderful place to stay with the most amazing hosts.
Thank you Fiona & Dave!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodations were amazing and the hosts were gracious.
Liked least: Leaving :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2014
Thankyou so much for the lovely review and it was a pleasure to meet you both, Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H
Harderwijk, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
“Everything we could have wished for!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Old Smiddy Apartment for a week in august 2013. We had the most magnificent vacation, mainly due to the fantastic accommodation. Everything was clean, tidy and made us feel right at home, and the owners of the place were very friendly and welcoming.
The double bed was really comfy, and the tartan carpet in the living room was very soft and nice to our tired feet after a long day of walking.
The house is situated on a very nice and quiet location within walking distance of the train station and the local shops and stores, which was also a very big plus.
The Old Smiddy is the ideal place to stay for people who prefer self-catering accommodation, for a very pleasant price. Needless to say, the stay was worth every penny!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendly service
Liked least: nothing. everything was okay
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2013
Thankyou Linda for the great review it was lovely meeting you and your boyfriend and appreciate your lovely comments, Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R0sec0tta...
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Brilliant,relaxing atmosphere,comfortable,and beautiful.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful place-a real jewel! Before even entering the cottage we were charmed by the lovely burn and the comical strutting hens. This was also the view from the well equipped kitchen with it's rural themed tiles and light up hen. The lounge was comfy and spacious with 2 fabulous leather settees, tartan carpet, tv/hifi equipment and tastful decor. The bedrooms and bedding were stunning and we loved the light-up mirrors in the en-suites.It's just a pity the Tourist Board regard 4 stars as 'excellent' because we would give them 6!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everythig far exceeded expectations
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2013
Thankyou so much for your wonderful comments it was a pleasure to meet you all and so glad you enjoyed The Old Smiddy Cottage x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graysquir...
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, clean, comfortable and peaceful.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a few days in July.

A warm and non fussy welcome was received (which suited us)

Simple accommodation with no complicated bits!

Lovely decor in bedrooms and modern en-suites were a nice surprise.

Televisions in bedrooms were a hit with all.

Well equipped clean and spacious kitchen

Lovely friendly owners, safe area with adequate parking.

Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owners - no complicated bits.
Liked least: Worry of accidentily letting a chicken out the gate.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing