We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Inn at a lovely location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterhouse Inn

The Waterhouse Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Waterhouse Inn
Ranked #12 of 26 Balloch B&B and Inns
County Durham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn at a lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Really impressed at this Inn, very clean,large rooms which could easily rival a few four star hotels we have stopped in.Warm friendly welcome,nothing to much trouble.Had a meal in the restaraunt which was also very nice.Although we were attending a wedding we still managed to get a couple of walks in along the loch which was only a few minutes walk away.Breakfast was tasty but as usual when stopiing at an Inn the choice was a bit limited but this would not put us off.Only one TINY critisism ,plastic spoons in the room for our tea and coffee !
Would definately return to Balloch and definately stay at the Waterhouse Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparky009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
12
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked 2 rooms for our family essentially to visit a family wedding nearbt on the Loch. The rooms are certainly comfortable and very clean, the hotel is very well situated and parking opposite is absolutely no problem. Excellent breakfast and very friendly staff. Lack of telephone is not a problem these days with mobiles. We did stay in room 4 and experienced the plumbing noises - really should do something about that. Also the shower could be more powerful. Our biggest disappointment was that one of the reasons we chose the hotel was for the food yet on Saturday night we were told (too late) that last orders for dinner were 7.45! Having travelled the world I am used to restaurants only beginning to get busy at around 8.30 so this was a huge disappointment.
On balance though, we found the hotel excellent value for money and would definitely stay again (but not room 4) and try to eat earlier or somewhere else.

Room Tip: Not room 4 unless you are a sound sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed for one night as we were going to a wedding nearby. On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant girl who showed us to our room and then brought up the sandwiches we had ordered in the bar. Room was nice and clean. There was some noise from plumbing early next morning but it was time to get up anyway. Had good breakfast before checking out but we returned later in the afternoon and had excellent lunch in the very pleasant cafe/bar area.

Room Tip: Number 4 seems to be the noisy plumbing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

a couple of hundred yards from balloch train station and right opposite the national park and start of loch lomond, this was the perfect place to explore in the 1 x day we had.
the room was lovely, and the bar below was a nice place to unwind in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopsHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

We stayed in the Waterhouse Inn Sept 18th and 19th, the first two nights of our trip to Scotland and Ireland for our honeymoon. The rooms were excellent, the service was great and the traditional scottish breakfast was perfect. We could not have asked for a better place to start our trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

I spent a weekend (2 nights) in the Waterhouse Inn and I think it is fair to say that it provides with very good value for your money: clean and spacious room, extra nice staff and (surprisingly, since it is right above the pub) extremely quiet. Furthermore, given its position right on the southern tip of Loch Lomond, it is well placed to reach all the beautiful locations around the lake. It is a B&B, so some of the services are pretty basic (there was no phone in the room and - obviously - no concierge), but if your objective is to spend a few days of total relaxation while on a hiking trip this is the place to stay. My only (partially) negative remark concerns breakfast: whereas it is possible to have continental breakfast at any time, cooked ones are served only from 0900 to 1000 (0930-1030 on Sunday), at a time when overeager people like me want to hit the trails.....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gersenkirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights for my 40th birthday. I'd chosen balloch as a base from which to explore the Loch Lomond area. Balloch is at the southern end of the Loch and the Waterhouse is in an excellent location to have a relaxing beak in the area. Luss and Tarbet are only a short drive away and Loch Lomond Country Park is a stroll across the road. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and were really friendly. The food is excellent quality and great value for money. The bar area is also a good place to relax in the evening. Our room was clean, bright and modern and the bed comfy. The bathroom was spotless too. We will definitely be returning and would recommend the Waterhouse for an excellent value for money place to stay in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.5 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 26 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond
0.0 mi away
Palombo's of Balloch
Palombo's of Balloch
#14 of 26 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#15 of 26 in Balloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterhouse Inn

Property: The Waterhouse Inn
Address: The Square | Bollach Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterhouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing