We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Braeburn Cottage close to Balloch, a great place to stay.”
Review of Braeburn Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Braeburn Cottage
Ranked #10 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Braeburn Cottage close to Balloch, a great place to stay.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of September last year. The place is lovely and Maggie was a very welcoming hostess and put us at our ease throughout the stay. It was quiet, which we like, with a lovely room and views. They have a wide outlook and beautifully maintained gardens, using their own produce to provide a tasty breakfast with a nice choice. There was a cosy and pleasant family atmosphere and we felt thoroughly at home. The price for a three night stay was very reasonable and we would definitely enjoy another stay.

Tim M.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grenzach-Wyhlen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed there in march for a longer weekend with my friends from austria and germany. We enjoyed this B&B very much. The full family is very friendly and helpful. It feels more that we are a part of the family and not that we are guest in the BnB. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was crackin`! I looking forward to my next time there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We just stayed for one night in early September at the start of a cycle tour. (we arrived by car) Stunning views, quiet location, well appointed and comfortable rooms, we had two and both were equally nice. Margaret is a lovely, genuine person who can't do enough for you. Secure cycle storage available if required. Highly recommended, and just a couple of miles from the centre of Balloch which has several nice pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Hands-down the best place to stay if you want to be doing things in the Loch Lomond area. We had the pleasure of meeting everyone in the family, and all of them made us feel completely at home. Margaret wasn't in when we arrived, so Kirsty (her daughter) and Kenny (her husband) showed us to our twin room (which was really a family room, with a double and a twin).

There are ample resources in the little foyer for guests who haven't yet firmed up their plans or who are looking for a place to dine.

The rooms are clean and cutely furnished, and you can even ask for fresh milk for your tea or coffee instead of using the prepackaged stuff. Kirsty made us some tea when we arrived and even sliced us some carrot cake and what appeared to be a variation on the nanaimo bar. Delicious!

There was ample room to put everything--and we had two large suitcases, a carry-on suitcase, a backpack, a side sling, and another smaller sling. Lots of sockets to charge your electronics, free Wifi, and lovely showers that don't require endless tweaking to get the temperature right. After bagging Ben Lomond, you'll want a nice hot one!

Breakfast is incredible: huge and traditional, with the inclusion of homemade jams, fresh eggs from the chickens, and homegrown tomatoes and courgettes (that's zucchini for us North Americans). Margaret will ask you if you'd like to try black pudding and haggis. We stayed for two nights and one morning we got regular breakfast sausages and the other we had Lorne sausage. Both quite good.

I could go on and on about the cottage and the lovely living room and the stunning view and the beautiful gardens, but what really sticks with me about Braeburn Cottage is the family who lives there.

Margaret sincerely wants to provide for her guests an excellent place to stay, and openly welcomes her guests into her home and family unlike any other place we stayed at. Her husband Kenny chatted with us at length about curling when he heard we'd played the previous year. Craig, her son, took us on a tour of the farm, although the sheep and cows were out in the fields. He picked up chickens so we could get good photos of them, showed us the enormous pig they'd just purchased, led us through the vegetable gardens in and outside of the greenhouse, herded the ducks so we could see them, and picked fresh plums from the trees so we could try.

They really are lovely folks. Everyone needs to meet them.

We really enjoyed staying with this family, even if it was only for two nights. I'd definitely go back if I were given the chance. Margaret, Kenny, Craig, Kirsty--I miss you guys already!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorBakGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed overnight at Braeburn Cottage at the end of our vacation. It is a beautiful spot in the country and we could not have asked for better. Margaret our host, was very welcoming and helpful with suggestions of where to eat and what to visit on our return journey. The room was very comfortable and the access to the family sitting room was appreciated. The breakfast was very generous and what a selection to choose from. Our only regret was not having time to stay longer and explore the beautiful countryside here. We enjoyed speaking with Margaret and Kenny and learning about the building of there beautiful cottage and about the farm and area. Always great to bring away a bit of history from where you visit. Thanks for everything! Karyn, Jim and Andrew

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsB1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Braeburn cottage and we knew that we had made the right choice from the moment we pulled up outside the well presented bungalow. We were welcomed in by Margaret who showed us to her lovely sitting room and wasted no time in bringing us a pot of tea and homemade cakes. Our double room was immaculate, spacious and well furnished with lots of storage space, the adjoining ensuite was also spacious and like the bedroom immaculate. There was a tea and coffee tray on the dresser and plenty of easily accessible sockets to charge phones etc. When we decided to go and explore the local area Margaret was on hand to provide directions, maps, leaflets and advice on things to see and places to eat. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, fruit juices and plenty of tea, coffee and toast with homemade jams. Of course there was also a freshly prepared full Scottish breakfast with lorne sausage, fresh tomatoes and courgettes from the garden, mushrooms, tattie scones and a choice of eggs all of which was cooked to perfection. We made the most of the fantastic area surrounding Braeburn Cottage to sightsee and when we returned each evening we found our room and bathroom clean and tidy with fresh towels on the rail. On the one day that we did return early, the only day it really rained, we took refuge in the cosy sitting room and chatted with Margaret for ages about the farm and local area where she grew up. We know exactly where we will stay on our next trip to Scotland. Thanks to Margaret, Kenny, Kirsty and Craig for sharing your home with us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Margaret, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful. Plenty of choice for breakfast and a very quiet room. Our family of four, two adults and two girls (aged 4 and 6) stayed comfortably at the family room. In the morning we had the chance to see parts of the farm, including the vegetable and flowers greenhouse, and the ducks. The girls played in the trampolin.

Room Tip: The family room is great for travelling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILSEBEDOLLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
2.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.2 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#21 of 24 in Balloch
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gowanlea Guest House
Gowanlea Guest House
#5 of 24 in Balloch
225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#14 of 24 in Balloch
404 reviews
1.8 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#9 of 24 in Balloch
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeburn Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeburn Cottage

Property: Braeburn Cottage
Address: Braeburn Cottage Auchencarroch Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 9LU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Braeburn Cottage is on our family working farm, we have beef and sheep, enjoy fresh eggs for breakfast from our free range chickens and a good Scottish breakfast cooked on the Rayburn to start your day.Spectacular views from our cottage, set in peacefully landscaped gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing