We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dumbain Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dumbain Farm
Ranked #8 of 26 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prairie City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We arrived in Balloch about 6pm and found Sheila and Dumbain Farm with no problem.

The room was carefully and perfectly decorated (not wee at all, to my husbands delight). It was exceptionally clean and well appointed. When we returned from dinner, Sheila had fresh shortbreads and a pitcher of milk waiting for us.

Bed was comfy and breakfast was wonderful. Best of all was the warm hospitality and great conversation with Sheila. I can't imagine a better spot. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is literally an ideal B&B experience. We had the Granary (two double rooms) which was beautifully decorated and a huge space to enjoy with its own kitchen/dining area. Sheila left us with a delicious continental breakfast to enjoy each morning and tasty treats to keep us going too!
She was also very helpful in offering additional support, apologising for accommodating more than two sets of children simultaneously (not her usual policy she promised). However for us, it was all about the breakfast and lovely rooms. If only all B&Bs were like this!

Room Tip: The Granary is self contained and doesn't offer full English - perfect if you want more space an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank streamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

What a fantastic experience!
This place is so relaxing,welcoming and clean and bright and peaceful,
I stayed with my Sister when we arrived from Australia for a holiday,and were both very happy with everything,from the decor to the lovely hostess Sheila,and her welcoming cuppa when we arrived,and the lovely breakfast each morning.Would agree that the approach via the housing estate was a bit unusual but the farmhouse and surrounds are lovely .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was a lovely stay. The farm is gorgeous, the rooms were large and very comfortable with beautiful attention to detail. Our host, Sheila, was lovely and looked after our needs well.
Balloch was just the most beautiful town. I agree with Sarahlou70 that the drive through the housing is deceiving and once you drive in the farm gates............well it feels like home :)
Would definately recommend this place for family, chick or couple holiday stay.

Room Tip: Sorry i dont think there was a swimming pool but didn't know how to de select,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The farm house is stunning! me and two friends came to balloch for a girls night for a wee change and we met sheila and oor george with us all under 30 we felt that shelia looked after us gave us advice and really went that extra mile to make us feel welcome. we stayed in the barn wow it was gorgeous sheila made homemade jam and shortbread and also gave us the recipe for it. the barn was very clean and all the little nick naks fitted in perfectly. defo should be a five star place. The next morning we were able to park the car at the farm as we cleared our head of a hangover, walking back to the farm sheila drove next to us and gave us a lift back. very caring and epic people! love them xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We were thought the farm was beautiful and our room huge and very well decorated with lots of lovely ornaments and finishing touches. There is so much attention to detail and we would love to return. Sheila was lovely and great to chat to. The drive through the housing estate is deceiving but once on the farm the views are fantastic. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahlou70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Sheila is a wonderful host and has a beautiful farmhouse building which is a joy just to sit in and enjoy looking at the place, but she also recommended a restaurant (the Tullie Inn) which was just the sort of thing we were looking for. There's a double room with a small room next to it and a bathroom connected to both so it's great for kids....our daughter was very pleased with it. We were only here for one night but enjoyed it a lot.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TimWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
2.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
1.3 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 26 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#2 of 26 in Balloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gowanlea Guest House
Gowanlea Guest House
#4 of 26 in Balloch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumbain Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumbain Farm

Property: Dumbain Farm
Address: Balloch, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dumbain Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accommodation is offered in the simple and stylish conversion of the farm outbuildings. Situated in Balloch at the foot of Loch Lomond in a quiet peaceful location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing