We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the job!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palombo's of Balloch
Ranked #15 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Did the job!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very friendly staff on arrival. Room adequate and clean though could do with some updating and blackout curtains. Quilt not quite big enough and an extra pillow each would have been good! I think the point about being able to smell the chips depends on where your room is - we could definitely smell them in our room, but it wasn't overpowering. Great location and, for what you pay, no real complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cath w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    25
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
12
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Staff here are ultra friendly nothing was too much trouble, room lovely, breakfast was great, staff were attentive and genuinely interested in where you where from and your holiday plans, would recommend!! Would stay here again, plus chips were fantastic!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Douglas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francoilbassista, Owner at Palombo's of Balloch, responded to this review, 5 December 2015
I am so sorry for not responding sooner. Thank you for your very positive review and I am so glad you enjoyed. Reviews like this make it all the easier for us to try and continue to improve and satisfy We hope to see you return and thank you very much again.
Franco Palombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zakynthos, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were attending a wedding in loch lomond recentley and stayed at palombos b&b as soon as we entered the door the people were very freindly and showed us to our room. Staff were more than helpfull the room was spotless lovely shower and the lovely breakfast. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francoilbassista, Owner at Palombo's of Balloch, responded to this review, 5 December 2015
I am so sorry for not responding sooner. Thank you for your very positive review and I am so glad you enjoyed. Reviews like this make it all the easier for us to try and continue to improve and satisfy We hope to see you return and thank you very much again.
Franco Palombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Room was small but clean and comfy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was brill. There was noise from out on street, but nothing too annoying. Very central for balloch and access to loch Lomond

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francoilbassista, Owner at Palombo's of Balloch, responded to this review, 5 December 2015
I am so sorry for not responding sooner. Thank you for your very positive review and I am so glad you enjoyed. Reviews like this make it all the easier for us to try and continue to improve and satisfy We hope to see you return and thank you very much again.
Franco Palombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were attending a wedding in loch lomond recentley and stayed at palombos b&b as soon as we entered the door the people were very freindly and showed us to our room my wife has walking difficulties and they were more than helpfull the room was spotless lovely shower and the lovely breakfast( especially the square slice) and for the price it was embarrassingly cheap! read some reviews before writting this and some people just dont get it!...thanks again to the lovely staff see you all soon if were visiting balloch even for a run

stevie& kathy wilsonxx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigstevie7255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francoilbassista, Owner at Palombo's of Balloch, responded to this review, 5 December 2015
I am so sorry for not responding sooner. Thank you for your very positive review and I am so glad you enjoyed. Reviews like this make it all the easier for us to try and continue to improve and satisfy We hope to see you return and thank you very much again.
Franco Palombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

It is a bit awkward getting into the B&B, having to walk either through the restaurant or through the back firedoor if the restaurant is closed. The room is adequate, nothing special. It was clean enough, apart from shoe/mud stains on the bathroom floor. Cups and saucers, tea was provided, but unfortunately there were no glasses in the room. The bed was fine.
The owner was really friendly and we were asked when we would like breakfast. Cooked breakfast was fine, nothing special, but fills you up!
I think this B&B could improve on quite a few points, and is slightly overpriced for what you get. We were a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marijke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This stay was for one night as a stop-over after travelling from the Highlands. We were welcomed by a very pleasant man who I assumed was the owner, he didn't introduce himself, but then he was pushed aside by someone else, a woman who was very brusque and demanded we tell her when we wanted breakfast - this was almost as we stepped in through the door. She showed us to our room over the chip shop and cafe and I was very disappointed by the size of the room. It was just big enough to hold a bed and a desk. The cafe was an internet cafe but we weren't offered wifi which I thought was a bit mean spirited.The bed was fairly comfy but only had one very small flat pillow each so not good there, the duvet seemed small for the size of the bed and was not comfortable. The bathroom was the smallest bathroom I have ever seen with an inadequate shower and few extras. The breakfast was cooked to order by the man who had greeted us on our arrival and he was a very pleasant man. The breakfast was a fried egg, 2 burnt pieces of bacon, a sausage, a square sausage and a potato waffle with the usual toast, coffee, tea and juice.. It was adequate but that was all. I thought that overall it was expensive for what what was on offer especially as we had just left a lovely B&B in Fort William which was cheaper and much nicer. I am glad that it was only for 1 night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanofarc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.5 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#18 of 24 in Balloch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#16 of 24 in Balloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#7 of 24 in Balloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palombo's of Balloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palombo's of Balloch

Property: Palombo's of Balloch
Address: 40 Balloch Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palombo's of Balloch 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palombo family, orginally from Italy, run Balloch's traditional fish restaurant. It's above this restaurant that the family have 5 beautiful Bed and Breakfast rooms looking onto the picturesque Loch Lomond town of Balloch. The Bed and Breakfast is on the main Balloch Road, a couple of minutes walk across the bridge to further restaurants/cafes/pubs and a 10 minute walk to Loch Lomond Shores (full of shops including Jenners, Loch Lomond Aquarium, National Park, Woodland Trails, Ceramic Experience, Loch Cruises, and more). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palombo's of Balloch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing