We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food is good, service is average”
Review of The Tullie Inn

The Tullie Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Restaurants in Balloch
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“food is good, service is average”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

They have friendly staff but waited 10 mins to get a irn-bru and diet coke after i ordered it, Food is reasonable priced and really enjoyed it once i got it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am so sorry for your wait for your drinks this should never of happened. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and very happy that this has not put you off visiting us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    237
    185
    105
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely venue”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely venue and surroundings, food was lovely and very reasonably priced too. The service was a bit slow but we'd definitely come back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 259hazelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for a delightful review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely area and good food.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We especially liked the location which is very near the river flowing into the loch you could dine outside - it was a beautiful day but we opted to eat inside.We had very good service and the food was very good.I particularly enjoyed my Cullen skink..Would recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is wonderful to receive positive feedback as all the Team work very hard to make your visit enjoyable. We look forward to you returning in the future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Looking, service not great. Expensive salmon.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Brilliant looking interior, Sat down in the bar area, menu on table would be nice in bar area, had to ask, no big deal. Waitress took drink order quickly (diet coke and glass of white) but took around 15-20 mins to arrive, too long. Ordered the teriyaki salmon and the smoked haddock risotto, both nice, my salmon was tasty but the rice and cucumber didn't really work with it, quite bland. Suprised by the cost of it, £30, not totally ridiculous but £14 for the salmon is, small piece which would probably cost £2 in supermarket, plus some rice and a slice of cucumber. Never got asked for drinks even though we were almost finished them by the time the food arrived. Didn't look very busy either. Great potential but needs some work.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gazkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that the service was slow. There is no excuse for that. We will take on board your comments regarding the salmon as this feedback is very important to us to improve on. I d hope you will give us another chance and visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Terrible Service.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

An enjoyable Sunday family dinner turned into a frustrating experience. It wasn't busy so no excuse for inattentive service.

Felt like I'd asked for the moon on a stick when I asked for more drinks.

Really disappointed. Local and not a day visitor who won't return.

Helpful?
2 Thank StephenD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very sorry that the service was not up to your expectations there is on excuse for this and we will rectify this straight away. I hope that you change your mind and visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tullie Inn also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to The Tullie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing