We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise on Loch Lomond”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Balmaha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Passfoot Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balmaha
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This little B&B is quite the charmer. Our room with its newly remodeled ensuite was quite comfortable, and the public area where we were welcome to sit and enjoy the view out across the Loch after 4:30 was quite snug and welcoming. The weather was not warm enough while we were there to enjoy the lawn chair area right on the lake, but I can imagine that would be blissfull in the warmer weather. Passfoot is just down from the walking path round the lake which was a delightful pastime. Betty prepared a wonderful breakfast for us with offerings beyond the usual Full Scottish Breakfast. She did a nice job accomodating my husband's special diet as well. Joe and Betty were most helpful planning our day's drive to the next spot on our itinerary, giving us great ideas for stops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

A really lovely B&B - great Loch Lomond views, excellently positioned for fine walks, clean and very well-organised, great breakfast and lots of good advice available from Betty - the three of us really enjoyed our overnight stay there and will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RovingMike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I'm generally very fussy but you cannot fault Passfoot B&B.
It's a lovely building with history (Tollhouse from mid 18th Century) that has been sympathetically modernised to give great comfort to us B&Bers.
Views of Loch Lomond from Betty's lounge window which you just can't take your eyes off whatever time of day it is.
A welcome cup of tea on arrival and a warm and friendly welcome from Betty - nothing's too much trouble.
5 minutes' walk from an excellent pub serving great food and ale.
Full Scottish breakfast sourced from local produce. We will definitely be back again, Betty. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Use the pub 5 mins down the road for your evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serenajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After not being able to check in at the Balmaha Bunkhouse, the Passfoot Bed and Breakfast turned out to be a true gem. We had a very warm welcome even though we had not booked and more or less stumbled quite exhausted and with low spirits into their living room. We couldn't have had it any better! Betty, the manager offered us a nice cup of tea and was very kind throughout our stay. Our en-suit room was absolutely fine-nothing to complain about. The living room, which can be used by guests in the evening, is beautifully decorated with many personal items and family pictures. In the evening we had a glass of wine in the garden which is right next to the shoreline, which would have been absolutely romantic except for the midges who came out just after sunset.

For breakfast we (both vegetarian) were offered a very rich fruit salad and the usual coffee, tea, toast, etc. so we were quite happy with that. Alternatively there would have been eggs and bacon etc. if I recall correctly.

All in all the Passfoot is a cosy, welcoming, homelike Bed&Breakfast perfect for exploring the quite east shoreline of Loch Lomond.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisN194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Wonderful position with views to die for. Modern bedrooms, very comfortable, with fully equipped en-suite wet room. Friendly welcome from Betty with a pot of tea when we arrived. Wonderful breakfast - the smoked haddock was the best I have ever had. Large lounge with views across the Loch. Everything you could want.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aberdeenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I just spent one night at Passfoot with my family and must say: Thanks for the nice time! We were welcomed with a hot cup of tea, the rooms are nice and the bathrooms modern and clean. We had the continental breakfast which was more than enough with a large bowl of fresh fruit. I would always come back again. A nice idea was also to get a postcard shortly before our vacation started.

Room Tip: Beautiful and cosy cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juergen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We didn't get the opportunity to spend long at the B and B but the time we did spend was good. Room was clean en suite was modern breakfast was good but was missing haggis. All in I would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northumberlandstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,137 reviews
0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passfoot Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passfoot Bed & Breakfast

Address: Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balmaha
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Passfoot Bed & Breakfast Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing