We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for large groups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lomond Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not for large groups”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Came here to celebrate my 30th birthday with friends.

The lodges are spacious and nicely decorated with lovely views over the loch. The bedrooms are big with en-suite and the open plan living / kitchen area is massive. The hot tubs are a lovely treat and very warm, though you need to be out of these by 11pm.

We had 2 adjoining lodges, each sleeping 6 – however there are only 2 bedrooms in each lodge so the third couple in our group were to sleep on the double sofa bed. This is stated on the website, however my husband booked the trip as a surprise for me and being a typical man didn’t think to check the finer details...this caused a bit of upset with the couple who did not get a private bedroom - so bear this in mind when booking for a group and make sure everyone knows the sleeping arrangements!!

Unfortunately on our second evening one of our party became very unwell and as a precaution an ambulance was called. No staff came to our lodge to find out what had happened until the following morning when the owner (rather rudely) asked us why the Police had been out the previous evening and asked if we had more people in the lodges than allowed. We explained that it was not the Police but an ambulance and that there were only 10 in the party, two of whom were now at the hospital and were not coming back.

As our friend’s poor health was upsetting to us all, we decided not to stay for the third evening and left after cleaning both lodges entirely...we even did the hovering!!

A few days later we received an email from the owners, claiming that their night staff had witnessed Police cars at the lodges, that we had been told to keep the music / noise down by the night staff during the evening, that there was smashed glass all over the patio and that we had broken the rules of their T&Cs. We replied stating (again) that an ambulance had taken our friend to hospital, no Police were involved, we saw and spoke to no night staff during the evening, there was no smashed glass and the lodges were left clean and tidy. We also recommended that they get in touch with their local Police to confirm that they had not been on the premises – the night staff obviously cannot tell the difference between a Police car and an ambulance!

We received another email back, saying ‘thanks for clearing that up’.......no apology was made for the accusations.

The Waterfront Lodges are really lovely, it is obvious the owners have invested a lot to make them to such a high standard. However, after reading other reviews here it seems that we are not the only ones to have been treated this way. It was unfortunate that our friend had to be taken to hospital but this certainly does not justify jumping to the conclusion that we were up to any ‘funny business’ or running riot!!! The lodges are certainly not cheap and with a 5* rating you would expect a better customer service.

I can only assume that the night staff, for whatever reason thought the ambulance was the Police, however they have obviously lied to their boss that they came to our lodge and told us off for noise / smashed glass etc. Perhaps this was because the owners were out for the evening in question and the staff panicked when they saw the flashing lights of the ambulance so thought it best to imply we were running amok?? Whatever the reason, it has resulted in me writing a none too perfect review for them, which I don’t like doing because the lodges / location is very nice – but I have to be honest.

Despite all of this I would possibly go back, perhaps with my husband or just one other couple. But I wouldn’t recommend for large groups.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debs1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Thank you very much for your review after your visit early November. We are pleased that you liked the accommodation and as you correctly point out our website clearly indicates the sleeping arrangements. Two members of staff witnessed the arrival of police in the main car park. It may be that they were checking that everything was okay if they saw the ambulance arrive whilst out on their regular patrol. A member of staff did call to see if everything was alright but did not get a response from either lodge, despite knocking on front and rear doors that were all left open. Glass was also cleared up from the patio. Ambulances have been called when guests have become unwell after combining alcohol with long stretches in the hot tub and this is why make sure that guests are handed the health & safety guidelines on arrival.
The adjoining lodges are ideal for family group bookings, of which we get many , and we do not advertise ourselves as a party destination as most of our guests enjoy the peace and tranquility of the beautiful country surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    32
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We have stayed in the lodges numerous times before and once again were not disappointed , we use these as an annual get together for friends, and know what to expect. The lodges are very nice and have all you would want, a good sized living Kitchen area and lovely en suite bedrooms. So why not "excellent", very minor points but as I'm a tight ar$e to get an excellent everything would need to be perfect. The ongoing problem with internet, which having chatted to Susan will be removed from advertising, Balmaha doesn't get good broad band and the lodges is very poor, so if you have to do a quick work e-mail it's impossible. Secondly one of the 3 lodges had a problem with its heating, we didn't mention it at the time but did at check out, this is a known problem. I believe if it's a known problem then it should be fixed. Lastly as we had a larger group, 17 peeps we required 3 lodges for one of the nights less on the others, I was unable to book in advance for just 1 night, however I was told nearer the time I could book for 2 nights if it was available!!, can't really organise people to come visiting on the off chance they will get somewhere to sleep. Anyway I digress, I opted for one of there up graded lodges, which while still very nice I don't personally think were worth the extra, saying that though, some people wishing a bit more privacy these would be fine for that.
So to sum up, I will be back to the lodges, they are great for a getaway, minor issues will no doubt be resolved one way or another and the only reason not to get 5 stars is very minor personal points.
Oh and Susan if you could organise some snow for my next visit that'd be grand..........too much?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dornadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you very much for your review we appreciate you comments. We are looking into Satellite Wi-fi to see if that will work in our location. We'll keep you posted on that one. We have put an info sheet on the front of the boilers so that guests know how to re-set them. It's snowing now and we have some availability!! :-)
Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We found all the staff very friendly and helpful - apologising that the lodge wasn't ready , when we were two hours early. The website is clear that the two storey lodges are semi detached , but we found the lodge a bit too overlooked, and were aware of others in their hot tub, when we were using ours. This is not a criticism, just about our personal preference . However, no noise heard through walls and the staff were out and about throughout the day and night Hot tub well maintained, lodge spotless. Chef in lodge service excellent. We have stayed elsewhere in Loch Lomond where the water was right at your doorstep - this may have spoiled us a bit , re the location of the lodges here, again this is our personal opinion, and the website doesn't make erroneous claims.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for your review. We very much appreciate your comments. We did build the lodges as near to the water as the flood levels allowed us to and so far have not been flooded out in the winter months, thankfully. The Chef service is very popular now so you need to book well ahead if you are interested in this service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

We booked this very last minute direct with the park who had no problem working around our strange time frame due to shifts and days off.
Greeted on arrival by friendly young man who checked us in with no problems or attitude as mentioned in other reviews.
The lodge itself was immaculately clean and tidy with everything we needed for our hideaway we loved everything about this place especially watching the sunset over the loch drinking fizz.
How anyone could find fault with the lodges or the staff escapes me. Even the dog was welcoming!
We cannot wait to return tho it's an expensive trip sometimes you truly get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mairi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Sorry for the late response but we do appreciate all comments posted here. Hope you can come back and stay with us soon - we have a special discount for returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Booked late so got a very deal. The lodge was very spacious, clean and had everything we needed including a washing machine, ironing board, dishwasher etc. And of course a hot tub. Would definatly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We booked 7 nights here for the first week of our honeymoon. We were so excited and paid through the nose for the lodge for the week (£1,200 approx). after paying only £1,500 for a weeks all inclusive to Egypt for the second week we did feel the pinch on the purse strings. But.... it looked so lovely we decided what the heck.

We were in Lodge 7 i believe and when we arrived and looked around i was awe struck, everything looked amazing. Not even the Queen has a bigger bed then the one we stayed in and it was made up beautifully. We had champayne on arrival at our lodge which went down rather well in the Hottub. We stripped off to the swimmers and jumped straight in and we were very very happy.

BUT as the week went on little things built up and it took the shine off the lodge i am very sad to say. First of all our boiler kept shutting down so we had no hot water on our first day. because reception doesnt open until certain times we had to wait which was an inconvience as we had Claire (beauty therapist) booked in to see us at half 10. Claire by the way is brilliant and i would fully recommend!!!

Our dishwasher also leaked, and wouldnt close properly, and one of the tiles in the kitchen was actually shattered so when we walked on it bits of tile came off for a walk with us. Our hottubs were checked every morning by what we assume to be the maintenance man who was lovely, as are the owners. However on two occations our hottub cover was left off which meant bugs and leaves etc got into the hottub. it became so extensive that we didnt want to use the it for our last two days.

We also had neighbours with a dog who let it run around. this dog ended up in our lodge and constantly was chased by the owners around our hottub with us in it. Might not bother everyone but on our honeymoon we found it very invading.

I also have to admitt that after complaining about the boiler twice we didnt feel comfortable complaining about some of the other problems we found and i am sure if we had of done, the owners would have been happy to put things right for us. Now these are such small things but they did build up and become an annoyance being the price we paid for the lodge.

With this said there were also so many good things about the place. It was a beautiful location, the staff were very friendly and very accommodating. We were amazed at some of the attention to detail. A pint of milk is left for you on arrival, sugar, tea, proper cafeteria coffee etc is available for you to use as well toilet roll which is brilliant. Espechially for us as we had travelled up from Cornwall, it meant we could settle in right away and not do one of those little shops for the essentials till the following day. the kitchen was kitted out with everything you would ever need. infact it had more equipment then our one back home.

The lodges themselves are beautiful and we did really enjoy our time there.

We would 110% recommened a fishing lesson with John Milne as stated on their website for things to do. he was fantastic and we have taken up fly fishing since we have returned home.

This place had such potential and i think maybe we just had bad luck this time. we would go back again without a doubt, we just feel for our honeymoon it didnt live up to what we expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsWilkes2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback and can assure you that we will always try and respond quickly as, just like your own home, things can go wrong from time to time. We do provide an out of hours mobile telephone number for this reason. Cannot control dog owners to the same extent but always happy to speak to them if we are made aware of any problems. Not everyone reads the T&Cs in regard to dogs being kept on leads around the lodge area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Just spent two nights in lodges my daughters wedding on saturday,everyone commented on the lodges and loved the hot tubs and the reception area for the wedding was beautiful.Great location for chilling and would highly recommend it for a wedding or holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angelaot02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you for your comments. We loved having you all here and we were delighted that Jo and David chose our venue for their special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
11.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lomond Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lomond Waterfront

Property: Loch Lomond Waterfront
Address: Main Road, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Loch Lomond Waterfront 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self catering lodges and chalets in the heart of the Loch Lomond National Park with loch views and private foreshore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lomond Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lomond Waterfront Hotel Balmaha
Loch Lomond Waterfront Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing