We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic lodging” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Lomond Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loch Lomond Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Soignies, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Our family of 5 spent 3 nights here. It was wonderful! It is located in a tiny, peaceful town, each cabin has its own private hot tub. The accommodations were very spacious, with two bedrooms upstairs and a fold out bed downstairs. The fully equipped kitchen was nice as well. Honestly, it was a delightful and serene location, and we did not want to go home!

There is a lovely restaurant within walking distance, which was a huge plus.

The only complaint I could give would be that our wifi didn't work. When we asked an employee we were told that it was hit or miss, and it probably wasn't going to work. It forced us to disconnect, which was a good thing!

I would highly recommend staying here! We would go back in a flash if we could.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wagnerrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    31
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
68
61
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckie scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We travelled here as part of a large wedding party for the weekend and these lodges were beautiful..we had the diamond lodge which had a hot tub and a sauna...there was 6 adults and one child which had a rollaway bed provided ...there is everything you need here to make our stay comfortable but the wifi was very poor signal...the view is beautiful ...the food hitch was provided was outstanding and all the staff couldn't do enough for you....a real credit to them....I highly recommend this place and I am hoping to return again with my family at smell point or another weekend...forgot to mention there is ample parking outside the lodges and there is also a great wee village shop 2 mins down the road if you need anything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Queensland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Spent 3 relaxing days here. Stayed in 1 of the chalets "abbotsford". On arriving a GREAT WELCOME from staff, and was blown away by the size of our chalet. As we were only a couple, 2 bedrooms & 3 bathrooms was more than we needed. It was so lovely & WARM on arriving. Very economical for 2 couples or family, great if you have a large group in your party.
Our 1st night had us booked with a large wedding party who used most of the lodges. People walking past our chalet continually in the night and again in the morning was a little tiring. One guest got lost (or nosey) and looked thru our rear glass door while i was in my PJ's! The next 2 days were however tremendously quiet.
Chalet was CLEAN & well equipped with all basics to get us through our 3 night stay. This is not a hotel, so make sure you bring toilet paper etc if you have more guests or you intend to stay longer.
This is truly a "home away from home". All modern conveniences like a dishwasher, washing machine & kitchen utensils (although 1 frying pan may not be enough for a large group). 4 people in the chalet would be comfortable, but 6 adults would be a push.
WIFI was INCONSISTENT during the entire stay. PARKING very SECURE in view of our chalet.
The SPA was spotless and a real LUXURY.
Thank you Suzanne for organizing a fishing booking. Such a shame he caught a cold!
A wonderful stay.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a romantic getaway, check you aren't there with a large booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank incink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review. As you booked the night before arrival it did not give us chance to let you know that we had a wedding on the Saturday but usually they are not a bother to other guests on site and we are sorry that you were unfortunate and disturbed.
Pleased that you liked our accommodation and the Hot tub! Wi-fi is troublesome for us as BT do not offer the best of services to Balmaha yet but this is always available in the Lodge Reception area for guests to use. Always happy to arrange other services for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Up for a long weekend the single story lodge was exceptionally clean and tidy, and plenty of the essentials such as loo roll, washing powder etc. The staff were excellent. There have been some issues with the land drain out the front following the bad weather last year, however this was not an issue and we got to see a lot of wildlife such as deers and heron from the luxury of the hot tub.

The location is brilliant, nice and quiet, the rules on noise on sight are well worth it as it enhances the idyllic location, we will definitely be back!

If you are heading to Loch Lomond and want to stay in luxurious surroundings then stay here!

Also worth noting it seems to have its own micro climate, it was calm and sunny despite the forecast being quite the opposite!

Cheers.

Room Tip: Front lodges 5-11 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here in Oct 2010.

We have two dogs and wanted to take them away with us were looking for luxury accomadation, we found it here!

Absolutely beautiful lodges and even more so beautiful surroundings!

The private beach area is just gorgeous and it's in walking distance of a brilliant pub!

Were so happy we picked here for our honeymoon as it was just perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCF_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just back from a weekend at The Waterfront lodges. First impressions were great, as we had two lodges with conjoing doors which were perfect as there were 11 of us. We were Impressed with the rooms and the standard of cleanliness.

I understand that the owners work very hard to maintain these establishments to a high standard however we just felt it was slightly regimental.
I know it’s stated for families and as previous reviews have stated it’s not for large groups however we ignored these reviews and sadly we felt the same. I know they are trying to do their job but getting told off for laughing is slightly tedious. We also didn't appreciated the fact that you had to be out the hot tubs by 11pm, again we know its stated in the T&C and for noise control but they were right over at 2 minutes past 11 telling us we should get out. Another point is that the lodges sleep six and the hot tub can only fit 4 people in at a time, I don’t understand the logic of that.

Overall, I would have to point out the lodges were of a high standard as previous stated, but possibly more suited to couples and families. However having the conjoing doors is such a bonus for group parties/friends.

I hope the owner takes my comments into consideration as in this day in age; they surely would want to attract all types of people and not just families and couples. We must also point out that we did have a fantastic weekend and it’s not all negative. Will be recommending to family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca40055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments but do have to keep to our policy on the hot tub use to ensure peace and tranquility at night time. This is what the majority of our guests come to Loch Lomond to experience. We normally allow a 10 minute grace period. Safety is another factor and our Insurer's wanted us to put a 10 p.m. time restriction but we feel that 11 p.m. is more reasonable and suits most of our guests. We get many group bookings who enjoy the facilities that we offer here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at The Waterfront Lodge (number 8) for 3 nights and managed to get 3 nights for the price of 2 as a special in March. This suited us as we couldn't have afforded it otherwise and it was a super treat for my family. We have 2 children age 1 and 2 and they loved the space of the lodge as well as the patio doors to step out and feed the ducks that often visited.
It was ideally located with lovely places to visit nearby but yet so peaceful and isolated which I often find quite hard to achieve. It was lovely to watch the winter sun rise over the loch in the morning.....I think my other half was sick of me going on about the view! It truly is magnificent!

My partner had been before 5 years ago so he had recommended it and we will definitely return..... Hopefully ASAP.

One thing .... And this is not meant to distract from my fantastic stay.... Is there is ongoing drainage works ..... A little trellis fence where the works begin would have been super so I didn't have to worry about the children playing and falling down the ditch! As i say that is a very minor detail....
And there is a note in the lodge apologising for the works!

Room Tip: Watch out for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will have a think about your fence idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
17.4 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lomond Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lomond Waterfront

Property: Loch Lomond Waterfront
Address: Main Road, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Loch Lomond Waterfront 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self catering lodges and chalets in the heart of the Loch Lomond National Park with loch views and private foreshore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Lomond Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lomond Waterfront Hotel Balmaha
Loch Lomond Waterfront Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing