We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 5 star...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lomond Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not quite 5 star...”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a lovely time at the self catering lodge in Balmaha, but don't think it has the finishing touches that would make it 5 star. The sofa bed was adequate for our 2 young children to share, but don't think it would work for 2 adults (although we were offered another mattress for it which we declined). The property is clean and the hot tub was great, but best fit for 4 people not 6. Beach however was not great due to the sticks washed up on shore. Going down to the beaches past the water bus pick up point was a far better option although was a 15-20min walk away. We used the property as a base to travel from and explore the area and other lochs as not all that much to do in the immediate area after a day or so, which makes a car essential to do this properly although cruises and water us do make access to other areas around the loch possible. Oak Tree Inn was great as was walking up Conic Hill which are both within close proximity. Staff onside were always friendly and very responsive to requests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    32
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have just spent 5-nights at Waterfront and wasn’t disappointed. Is it 5 stars? It’s not a 5 star hotel, as I have stayed in one. Is it a 5 star lodge? Most likely, I have stayed in a number of self-catering properties that are rated as 4 star and they aren’t a patch on Waterfront. So for self-catering holidays then it’s right up there. The furnishings and fittings are of a high standard, comparable with a Hilton or Sheraton, it was very clean and tidy and the grounds very well kept, there was little to really fault with the site. Everyone mentions the flaky Wi-Fi and given its remote location I think that the owners will have to be radical to fix that one, but this shouldn’t detract from the holiday, unless you really need to access your email.

We took the dog with us, who loved it and the owners had no qualms about her, in fact that were at least 2 others when we were there, no noise or issues. There was very little dog mess evident on the site but a 'poo-bin' would be nice, as we bagged ours up and took it into the local village to dispose of most of it

If you’re after a relaxing peaceful holiday in great surroundings then you won’t be disappointed but nightlife is limited, its quiet, although there are some nice restaurants in the area. As a treat I would definitely recommend the ‘Chef in the Lodge’; the chef Peter, is fantastic and worth treating yourself, an excellent chef…and he cleans up afterwards

Room Tip: Most rooms look out over the Loch, and all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are taking up your suggestion and purchasing a doggy bin. Wifi is always available in Lodge Reception if not always connected in the lodge. The Chef is called Robin :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I have just spent a relaxing 4 nights in the Brodick Chalet. The accommodation is lovely, just like the photos on the website. Everything is provided for a comfortable and enjoyable stay (apart from the food and drink...obviously!). Towels, bed linen, kitchen utensils, scented toiletries and even the dishwasher tablets are provided. The mattress was really comfortable and we slept well. We particularly enjoyed the peaceful environment and the chance to organise and control our own holiday. The nearby pub and village shop are really handy and offer good choice.
Needless to say, the view from the hot tub is fab too. We saw deer.
The only downside is the price. We are unable to access the offers due to work commitments. We would have liked to have stayed longer but couldn't justify the cost.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlerattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be able to visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

No, lodges - yes. Bed comfort - 5, 5/10, indented and firm. The novelty sauna shower did not function correctly. A number of items were tardy, missing or broken. That said, replacements were relatively swift. Be aware that the hot tub water for new guests is not fresh although strong chemicals are administered. More could be done on location for guests but the location is central with great walks nearby. The local pub, just down the road, offers good food with a small yet conveniently stocked store.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for posting your feed back. We are sorry that you had some niggles that detracted from your stay but happy these were sorted for you quickly by our staff. The mattresses are top hotel quality and most of our guests find them extremely comfortable. The hot tubs are checked and cleaned daily and chemicals administered according to guidelines form the suppliers just like swimming pools and spa pools in leisure clubs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

An extremely enjoyable return visit. We recommend the diamond lodges; the sauna and hot tub and welcome facilities after being out all day. Good facilities and good location. Strongly recommend a fishing lesson with John, fabulous fun and you may catch something to cook for your supper!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinejframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have been twice now, once in October 2012 and once Easter 2013. On both occassions we have had a wonderful time. The setting is excellent right on the shores of the Loch and aas others have said there is a great little pub down the road called the Oak Tree Inn, which serves good food and has a great drink selection. We also went to the Glengoyne distillery which is well worth a visit. On the first visit in October 2012 it was a surprise for my wife's birthday and the family met us there which she was not expecting. We had the 'chef in lodge' for the Saturday night which was really good. Lovely Haggis and clapshot to start with Salmon and rolled oates for main course. Suzanne the owner is really helpful and the hot tub is great. We will be going back and hope to make this an annual event. Highly recommended for a relaxing break with a fantastic setting.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your return visit and look forward to welcoming you back next year! The Chef is becoming very popular so anyone interested in this service should book in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Pleasant 4 day stay in lodge no. 9. Comfortable layout, relaxing patio ideal for eating out in good weather, hot water tub and a lot more. Downside - very poor internet service, practically unusable. Maybe a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulmer_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments and the wi-fi is a difficulty that we have to live with in this rural location and that is why we do not charge. It is always available in Lodge Reception where we have comfy chairs for guests to use. We are now considering hard wiring a few of the lodges so that those guests that need access for work can book these. There will I expect have to be some sort of charge for this service though. A couple of the lodges already have a better service so please ask at the time of booking if it is essential.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.6 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lomond Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lomond Waterfront

Property: Loch Lomond Waterfront
Address: Main Road, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Loch Lomond Waterfront 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self catering lodges and chalets in the heart of the Loch Lomond National Park with loch views and private foreshore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Lomond Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lomond Waterfront Hotel Balmaha
Loch Lomond Waterfront Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing