We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Lomond Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I stopped at a Waterfront Lodge for two nights recently for a family wedding. The lodges were lovely - very well equipped with everything you would need from garlic press to crystal glasses for that special meal. The lodge had two double bedrooms and a sofabed. The view from the lodge was spectacular and we were blessed with sunshine and blue skies. The beds were very large (7ft), there were leather sofas, a large screen TV (signal not that good) and plenty of space. Free wi-fi is provided but because of the location, the signal can be intermittent. The kitchen was equipped with dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, tea towels, oven gloves – everything you would need. The only thing missing was bathroom toiletries, but remember this is self catering.
The hot tub was great fun and the steam shower was very welcome after a long walk. The owners are very strict about rules regarding the hot tub and I think this is for health and safety reasons and for the comfort of other guests.
There is wooden garden furniture outside along with parasol.
The wedding marquee location was perfect – right on the water’s edge. I have only given four stars because there was one thing that slightly marred the evening and that was after the bar had closed one of the lodge guests went and collected 4 tins of lager from his lodge and we were challenged by a gentleman who said that we should not be drinking alcohol not purchased from the bar. We had used the bar all evening but wanted to continue the celebrations. The lager was provided after the bar had closed. I mentioned that we were staying at one of the lodges and he rather ungraciously walked away without comment. I feel that he could have handled the situation better and if he had made enquiries, he would have discovered that the party had filled his coffers rather well that weekend. I believe the wedding party had hired at least 5 lodges.
Would I recommend this venue? Yes, most definitely and I would be happy to spend a week here taking advantage of the local walks, sailing and beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank HelenNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

The location of these lodges is excellent, it is a super break for relaxing and enjoying the Scottish scenery. We stayed in lodge 2 and it was well equipped and extremely spacious. I would have to agree though with a previous review of "could do better".
The agent website we used to book this, advertised the location as having an onsite bistro and shop, but when we arrived it was closed, we were disappointed as this was one of the appealing features of the site. The lodges are advertished as having WI-FI broadband but the signal was not strong enough any of the 6 days we were there, we had to sit outside with the laptop to get the internet. The TV signal is also poor we got fed up trying to watch the tele as it would freeze for minutes at a time about every 5-10 minutes. There was no dishwasher in our lodge so it was back to washing the dishes by hand (not my idea of 5 star) and the drains in the kitchen and to the wasing machine smelt foul.
We found the staff pretty unhelpful, we were given the impression they were overworked and undervalued. We had enquired with them to hire fishing gear and we were told this would be possible. On the day of the boat trip we went to reception to arrange to pick up the kit and it was closed, we called and the owner told us a lady would be along soon to help us. After waiting about half and hour she had opened up but could not assist us as it was her first day! We ended up going out on the boat with no fishing gear.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

We are truly sorry that you felt our service did not meet your expectations. If you had mentioned the dishwasher problem during your stay we could have shown you where it was (it is an integrated one). We can't find a drains smell at all and no one else has mentioned it but the local farmer was fertilizing fields that day. Maybe that was the problem after all.

The poor digital signals you experienced can be intermittently bothersome I agree. We have installed the most powerful transmitter but there are many protected trees surrounding the site and the satellite is very low on the horizon. But all guests are welcome to use our office facilities at any time free of charge.

We were delighted that you wanted to use so many of our additional services and it is a great shame that our longstanding and very loyal book keeper did not know where the fishing tackle was that we had put aside for you. It was our one day off in the week and we were in the countryside and in and out of range of a mobile signal. We are a self catering business with a loyal compliment of staff. But when sick leave compounds with holiday leave we do all have to double up and just put in the extra hours somehow. We will all try harder to apply the duck principal in future; You know All serene on the surface but paddle like crazy underneath! By the way our office is manned nearly everyday and our home landline and personal mobile numbers are available to all our guests should you want them next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

we stayed in lodge 9 for three nights. Location is beautiful. The lodges and the grounds are well maintained. Cannot fault the place in terms of location and facilities. Most of the lodges have hot tubs and the lodges are modern, clean and well stocked. Few minor gripes - the plates dont fit in the small dishwasher for example.

However our main critisism and we agree with a previous review is that you get the impression that you are an inconvenience to the owners. We had pre-booked a BBQ (£15). We thought that this hired you a BBQ for your stay. However on our second stay we had to ask several times before it was delivered to our lodge. It had neither been cleaned or emptied from previous use. It was removed next morning and appeared in our neighbouring lodge. It transpired that £15 was for single use!!! would it not be reasonable to have a BBQ at each lodge? to be fair when we complained to the staff, the owner appeared later with a bottle of bubbly but by this time we had cooked our lunch in the oven. You get one towel per person per stay (we got 4 for 5 people and it took over 2 hours to get the extra towel delivered after a further phone call which got short shrift from the owner).

The potential is here for a fantastic break but they let themselves down with attitude and missing out on the wee extra services eg, fresh towels each day.

The hot tub is fab. On the morning we were leaving the staff did the usual chemical check - hope this wasnt instead of replacing the water before the next guests!!

Would we recommend this place - probably but owners take note - you need to show you are interested in your guests and their needs - its all part of the hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uno_chiwawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Arrived at the Loch on a perfect sunny day,The lodge was ready when we arrived and we were shown around a spotlessly clean well furnished lodge.The veiws were amazing and the thing that we both noticed were how peaceful it all was .There was a wedding on the following day but we were not disturbed but that either.Well done to the people who run it for making us feel as though we had a weeks holiday instead of a weekend break!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Leeds40ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We have actually been to these lodges 4 times now but the last visit was for my son's 21st birthday in November. The lodges are beautifaul and so well equipped. The bedrooms are really luxurious and the beds huge. The location is lovely and I find it fantastic to be able to take our little dog with us. The food is really nice and you can see see that the owners have put their heart and soul into this place. A short walk, five minutes along the road, is a great gastro pub called the Oak Tree Inn which is well worth a visit. There are also a couple of really good walks which the owners will tell you about with stunning scenery. Also great to take a walk down to the boatyard where you can take a ride of the mail boat and visit Inchmurrin.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyinredScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We had a superb time and we were very impressed with the location, views and
lodges which were second to none!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillyC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

The accommodation is excellent the restaurant very good with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloblerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
11.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
549 reviews
3.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lomond Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lomond Waterfront

Address: Main Road, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Balmaha
Price Range: £123 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Loch Lomond Waterfront 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self catering lodges and chalets in the heart of the Loch Lomond National Park with loch views and private foreshore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lomond Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lomond Waterfront Hotel Balmaha
Loch Lomond Waterfront Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing