We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodation for walkers”
Review of Balmaha Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balmaha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balmaha Bunkhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation for walkers”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night here after walking the WHW from Milngavie. The three of us were in a bunk room for 6 people but had the room to ourselves which was a treat. Clean & comfortable accommodation that provides everything you need. Shared shower/toilet facilities and a good sized kitchen/lounge with all the mod-cons. A simple breakfast was included of cereal & toast which was perfect for us. Great location for WHW walkers as it's literally on the path, so no extra walking involved! Would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank WLS2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Gwen and I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your v positive review.
"THANK YOU".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    32
    18
    4
    9
See reviews for
14
27
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived on Saturday 2nd August after walking from Milgavie in the pouring rain all day, we were very wet and cold and there was no heating on. After asking if the heating could be switched on it eventually was for a full 20 minutes!!! Needless to say we left in the morning with just the same amount of wet clothes that we arrived arrived with.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Lynn:
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All guests are made aware of the facilities we offer, and it is the responsibility of the potential guest to make sure our Very Good, Clean, Value for Money Cost Effective, Budget. Accommodation, meets their requirements before booking.
Our Brochure which is pointed out to guests on arrival, offers a laundry Service so those who wish to have their clothes cleaned & laundered can do so, by calling the Laundry Lady. who will wash dry and iron guests Laundry. This is also explained to potential guests through our terms and Conditions brochure which is also shown on our web site. We do not have on site laundry facilities.
I hope all our guests are well rested enjoy their stay and that the sun shines on you always.
yours aye
Jock & Gwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was there mid week, and the bunkhouse happened to be very empty. I was hiking the WHW way from Fort William to Milngavie (backwards), and was tired and sore. Jock promised me the room to myself if any more people arrived… very thoughtful. I got the well needed rest I needed to finished my last 20miles the next day. The bunkhouse has a very home style (rather than hostel style) feel. Definitely appreciated the self-catering facilities and fair price. Complimentary tea/coffee and light breakfast were nice little bonuses. Thank you. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you have 4 people in your party, try the private chalet (I hope to one day!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Sarah: It was our pleasure to have such a positive minded person stay at our wee place. Congratulations on your achievement in conquering the mighty WHW.
The chalet with your own private conservatory over looking the loch is a great choice for you and friends. Hope to see you again sometime soon.
yours aye
Jock & Gwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Hiked 20 miles on the WHW then rolled into the bunkhouse. The owner was very welcoming and got me a dorm bed no problem though I think in high season he fills up quickly. Nice clean & quiet spot, tea and coffee all day and cereal or oatmeal for breakfast.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Debbie:
Its Fantastic to meet positive people from all around the World, you are one of them, Congratulations on your achievement on the West Highland Way. We Salute you all the way from Scotland.
yours aye
Jock & Gwen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We rented two single kayaks for the day from Jock and really enjoyed the entire experience. Previously renting kayaks at other locations, places usually ask for large deposits, but the only money we had to worry about was the rental price. The safety briefing was short, professional, and very helpful even for an experienced kayaker (and the coffee provided with it went down very well).

Jock took special care in making sure we knew where to go and gave some very helpful tips for enjoying our day (we are archaeologists and he knew some great historic island sites for us to check out).

The cherry on top of this great day was his attentive attitude. He even went so far as to meet us as we pulled up on the beach (directly across the road from the Bunkhouse).

The lovely dog Tiny was also a wonderful host.

We would highly recommend this to anyone who wanted to add a day out on the water to their trip and plan on going back ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meaghan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
I am so pleased you had a great safe time, The loch gives you views from a different perspective, your out there amongst the landscape & waters respecting it and enjoying it. thank you for your positive kind words "Haste ye Back".
Jock & Gwen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

What a lovely place! We stayed in the Bunkhouse for 3 nights, couldn't fault it. Great facilities, very clean, lovely kitchen area - with cereal, bread, milk, and tea and coffee included!! Facilities to lock bikes up and leave bags during the day. Jock and Gwen could not have been nicer, so welcoming and always wiling to help. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you Gwen and I are most grateful for your comments. Hopefully we will see you again sometime in the not to distant future, Good Luck and happy travels.
yours aye
Jock & Gwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I had read some previous reviews of the bunkhouse and B&B but I prefer to make my own mind up, more people tend to review to moan than to praise.

As a solo walker, I was pleased to learn that there was a single room B&B in the main house available for a night as I walked the West Highland Way. The breakfast is optional so you can pay just for the room if you wish. I was met at the door by Jock who wasn't an Ogre as some reviews seem to suggest and shown upstairs to the single room.

If you book a single room and it's a cheap price, you aren't expecting a huge room with lots of space and all the mod cons but the room did the job. After all, I was only wanting somewhere to sleep, rest my feet and warm/dry up after a day walking in the rain, I wasn't planning a weeks stay.

The room has a toilet, sink and also a shower as well as a TV and tea/coffee making facilities and I found the bed to be comfy enough. Well, I had no trouble getting to sleep and managed a good sleep, so no complaints there as it meant I set off for the walk the next day refreshed after being wished good luck by Jock.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank arcticfox2096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your kind and positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
3.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.8 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
4.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,070 reviews
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmaha Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmaha Bunkhouse

Property: Balmaha Bunkhouse
Address: Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the picturesque shores of Loch Lomond and some 5 minutes paddling to the first of many islands, you can explore castles, ancient graveyards (including the burial place of Rob Roys' cousin), local wildlife including deer, capercaillies and even wallabies, altogether making some of the most beautiful landscape in the world. Balmaha House Bunkhouse & Canoe Hire is ideal for family get togethers, stag / hen nights, business away days and corporate team building events. A great place to base yourself and your group in order to explore the wider area or for training events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balmaha Bunkhouse Hotel Balmaha
Balmaha Bunkhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing