We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balmaha Bunkhouse
Nearby Hotels
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$98
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
US$197
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront(Helensburgh)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$107
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dumbarton(Dumbarton)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
81
35
20
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
35
20
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest highland waycooking facilitiesloch lomondabrupt mannerhot showercold breakfastdouble kayakdry our clothessimple breakfastfree cerealsmall kitchencomfy sofastumble dryerbed roomcommon roomfriendly welcomefirst stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed there one night (4 bed Bunkroom) in part of our roundtrip in Scotland. At arrival we were well informed about the facilities, features and the rules. Ok beds. Not the most comfortable and scilent :-) Nice common room with assorted games and well equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheOrangeDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014

Thank you, for taking the time to post your v positive review of our wee place Gwen and I are happy that you found most things to your liking. I hear your point ref the beds and will aim to replace all mattresses as soon as we can. Thank you and haste ye back.
yours aye
Jock & Gwen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night here after walking the WHW from Milngavie. The three of us were in a bunk room for 6 people but had the room to ourselves which was a treat. Clean & comfortable accommodation that provides everything you need. Shared shower/toilet facilities and a good sized kitchen/lounge with all the mod-cons. A simple breakfast was included of cereal & toast which was perfect for us. Great location for WHW walkers as it's literally on the path, so no extra walking involved! Would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank WLS2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014

Gwen and I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your v positive review.
"THANK YOU".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived on Saturday 2nd August after walking from Milgavie in the pouring rain all day, we were very wet and cold and there was no heating on. After asking if the heating could be switched on it eventually was for a full 20 minutes!!! Needless to say we left in the morning with just the same amount of wet clothes that we arrived arrived with.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Lynn:
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All guests are made aware of the facilities we offer, and it is the responsibility of the potential guest to make sure our Very Good, Clean, Value for Money Cost Effective, Budget. Accommodation, meets their requirements before booking.
Our Brochure which is pointed out to guests on arrival, offers a laundry Service so those who wish to have their clothes cleaned & laundered can do so, by calling the Laundry Lady. who will wash dry and iron guests Laundry. This is also explained to potential guests through our terms and Conditions brochure which is also shown on our web site. We do not have on site laundry facilities.
I hope all our guests are well rested enjoy their stay and that the sun shines on you always.
yours aye
Jock & Gwen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was there mid week, and the bunkhouse happened to be very empty. I was hiking the WHW way from Fort William to Milngavie (backwards), and was tired and sore. Jock promised me the room to myself if any more people arrived… very thoughtful. I got the well needed rest I needed to finished my last 20miles the next day. The bunkhouse has a very home style (rather than hostel style) feel. Definitely appreciated the self-catering facilities and fair price. Complimentary tea/coffee and light breakfast were nice little bonuses. Thank you. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you have 4 people in your party, try the private chalet (I hope to one day!)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sarahCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Sarah: It was our pleasure to have such a positive minded person stay at our wee place. Congratulations on your achievement in conquering the mighty WHW.
The chalet with your own private conservatory over looking the loch is a great choice for you and friends. Hope to see you again sometime soon.
yours aye
Jock & Gwen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Hiked 20 miles on the WHW then rolled into the bunkhouse. The owner was very welcoming and got me a dorm bed no problem though I think in high season he fills up quickly. Nice clean & quiet spot, tea and coffee all day and cereal or oatmeal for breakfast.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Debbie:
Its Fantastic to meet positive people from all around the World, you are one of them, Congratulations on your achievement on the West Highland Way. We Salute you all the way from Scotland.
yours aye
Jock & Gwen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews