We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis by the Loch”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Balmaha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An Oasis by the Loch”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The Oak Tree Inn is a great place to unwind. The whole place is just so friendly and welcoming.

The food is superb and plentiful. The rooms are lovely and so well equipped.

The staff could give some 5 star hotels tips on how to provide a service. Especially Kirsty and Holly in the bar/restaurant.

Well done .

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch View - stunning in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trustme555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak_Tree_Management, General Manager at Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear trustme55

Thank your very much for your fantastic feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have passed your kind comments onto Kirsty and Holly. We strive to provide 5 star service with a 4 star product at 3 star prices. We hope to see you back at the Oak Tree very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Brandon Van Rensburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    421
    132
    44
    33
See reviews for
208
730
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in October. Stayed in one of the rooms in a cottage 100yards up from the main inn - a really pleasant room, everything you could need. Had read that noise from unthinking fellow guests may be a problem, but we found it really peaceful.
The bar area is great....fantastic selection of malt whisky, and a fabulous log fire. We ate in the bar both nights and the food was excellent as was the breakfast.
Staff were friendly, and we had a great chat with the owner....who bought me a whisky!!
Much recommended!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mackemmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This out of the way inn is worth finding, on the eastern side of Loch Lomond in a small village a stone's throw from the loch. The inn is in a great location for walking,boating,fishing or just relaxing,the menu has a good choice and decent choice of beer's. We stopped in a room with ensuite facilities it was clean and fresh with decking overlooking the loch. This was in a quiet spot three door's away from the inn. We will stop here again.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a deck which overlook's the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88grizzly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2011

It is rare that accomodation is better than the pictures on a website, but that was the case with the Oak Tree Inn. We had beautiful rooms in one of the oldest converted cottages in the village. The peace and quiet and the views to the loch and the nearby walks through the forest were magical. We loved the wholesome food and the easy going nature of the staff and their thoughtfulness and consideration, especially for our children. I have already recommended the Oak Tree Inn to a friend and hope to make a return visit soon.

Room Tip: well worth paying a bit extra to stay in the cottage in the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2011

What a wonderful guesthouse. We had a lovely time, we couldn't have asked for anything more. The facilities were top notch, we loved the bar and restaurant. The open fire made it really cosy and the food was delicious. I had the arctic charr which was my best meal while in Scotland.
Our room was actually a suite with views over the loch. What a bonus. I wish we'd stayed longer. The guesthouse is right on the loch and right next to the national park HQ, we went for a 1.5 hour walk that gave us stunning views of the lochs and the islands.

Room Tip: Choose room 41 -it's a superior double. It's slightly more expensive but you get a suite wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Fantastic accomodation, great food and a great atmosphere, will definately be visiting again. Its setting on the shore of Loch Lomond was beautiful and the accomodation, though spead out in different buildings was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in the bunkhouses next to the hotel, they were comfortable if a little dirty (and spider filled - see photo) The food was good and the staff friendly. The open fires are exactly what is needed after a long day next to the loch.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbb8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
4.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
3.6 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,040 reviews
13.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Property: Oak Tree Inn
Address: Main Street, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Tree Inn consists of accommodation in rooms above the inn and in a series of on-site cottages. There is also a restaurant and bar, coffee shop & ice cream parlour and village shop. The Oak Tree is in Balmaha, a beautiful loch side village in Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Balmaha
Oak Tree Inn Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing