We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Balmaha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have visited the Oaktree Inn a few times over the years and it keeps on delivering on many levels. The staff are just so friendly and welcoming, especially Agnes on reception.

The food is superb and and for a hotel of this size the menu is extensive. One of the things that I like is that you can choose to eat in the bar (with the open fire) or in the restaurant. Either way it is a very relaxing atmosphere. I like not having to dress up - everyone is smart/casual.

I've read some of the not so positive comments about the rooms / bunk house but I have to disagree. The rooms are lovely and so well equipped - ok the walls could perhaps do with a bit more sound proofing but I've never had any bad experiences. The cottages near the Loch are the best and the views in the morning (not the rainy ones) are stunning.

If I want a formal 5* luxury experience and a price to match then I'll go to the other side of the Loch but for my wife and I we think that the Oaktree is a fantastic getaway

For those that moan about the location - surely you know where you are going ?? The moaner's in life will always find something to whinge about !!

Well done the Oaktree - you're doing it well.

Room Tip: Sweet talk Agnes for an upgrade !
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trustme555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,407)
There are newer reviews for Oak Tree Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

835 - 841 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The first impression was good, my annex, (cottage), room was clean & had underfloor heating in the shower/toilet, a large freeview t.v. and firm bed & pillows.
In the Inn it is a restaurant with a small bar. There can be long queues for food at main times but takeaway is available. The beer is well kept but with no competition is a bit overpriced. My main gripe was the lack of any kind if entertainment, even on Paddys night. Apparently the owner doesn't like it!!! He's not there & we are! The staff were all great, hard working & professional & broke the near silent monotomy, so did some great customers. Good food though.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Great staff. Great breakfast. Room was very clean and comfortable, I liked the idea of ear plugs on the bed stand, but really could have done with industrial strength ones.... The walls are incredibly thin, like paper!!! and the man next door snored like a train!! Maybe we were just unlucky, but this spoilt it for me. And for that reason would never stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night and were pleasantly surprised by all the hotel had to offer. Very friendly helpful staff, excellent food and service in the bar and a spotlessly clean room! On the shores of Loch Lomond, we had a lovely view and enjoyed a very peaceful walk near the hotel. If you need a short break away to get back to nature please consider this little gem of a place!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My Husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay.From the moment we arrived we were met by friendly staff and this continued throughout our stay! Our room was very nice. Spotlessly clean- well done to the housekeeping staff! l liked the idea of the earplugs on the bedside table ! Perhaps I should have used them as we were awakened at 7am by the couple next door's moans!! The walls are very thin!! The Bar is very welcoming and again staff here were very friendly. Food was superb. Good choices at sensible prices. My request for Porridge and boiled eggs at breakfast was acknowledged by pleasant staff. Maybe Porridge on the buffet would be popular with the walkers? My Husband enjoyed the "full Scottish breakfast" each morning. We very much plan to return later in the year but until then Thanks to all Staff who make this place so special. A big thankyou to Agnes for her humour and friendliness! Well Done Everybody!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigi464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Whilst staying in the area we dined here on three consecutive evenings. Every meal we had was delicious and the portions are large. The staff are very friendly, attentive and professional even when it was very busy. So if you are in the area dine here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pauline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was a short break booked through5pm big deals. Was not expecting this level of service and excellence of food. Best I have experienced for a long time. 5star rating for a 3 star hotel. Thank you.

Room Tip: We are in room 3 - (lovely).
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann101_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Address: Main Street, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
Price Range: £94 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Tree Inn consists of accommodation in rooms above the inn and in a series of on-site cottages. There is also a restaurant and bar, coffee shop & ice cream parlour and village shop. The Oak Tree is in Balmaha, a beautiful loch side village in Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Balmaha
Oak Tree Inn Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing