We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“June break away from it all” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Balmaha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falkland, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“June break away from it all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great wee place, staff are very friendly and well organised, we stayed for 2 nights in one of Dans Cottages rooms, which was lovely, very clean and comfortable. The only downfall we had was that the TV was in the wrong place and we couldnt watch it in bed and the noise from the other guests which we did not expect. We were hoping for peace and quiet but were unable to get that, although ear plugs were provided i was awake every morning to the sound of upstairs urinating into their toilet and the flushing of this, did feel that the price we paid for the room was a bit excessive to warrant this unfortunatley.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper ask for an upstairs room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    404
    129
    39
    30
See reviews for
193
691
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst walking the West Highland Way.

We were accommodated in a cottage close to the main inn. I loved my room which was spacious and had a good view, but it would have been a problem for anyone much taller than me (5'2") due to the sloping ceilings. My dad stayed in a room (in the same cottage) which was so tiny that there was nowhere to open his suitcase other than on his bed.

Earplugs are provided in the rooms in case of noisy neighbours, but thankfully this wasn't an issue.

The restaurant has quirky decor (tea cups hanging from the ceiling) and a good atmosphere.

My only criticism would be that when we arrived at 3:30pm we were told very bluntly that 'check-in is at 4pm'. We were advised to sit in the bar whilst we waited, so I guess that's good business sense! Other than that, the rest of the staff were friendly and helpful. Everywhere else we stayed during our WHW walk, the receptionists/ owners always checked to see if our room was ready, whatever time we arrived.

Room Tip: If you're very tall ask not to be in the attic of the cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here overnight on our way back from Tyree and arrived in time for lunch. What a buzz - the place was heaving and full of walkers freshly off the West Highland Way. We were soon seated and tucking into a delicious lunch - hungry walker's portions! The menu is one of the most imaginative we have seen in many years and runs for both lunch and dinner. The bar restaurant is rustic and full of interesting collectibles. The bar is well stocked with a wide selection, of course, of Scotch whiskies. Our room was, maybe a trifle on the small side, but very comfortable and everything worked. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we look forward to the next excuse to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We arrived here for dinner after finding our first and second choices fully booked - on a Thursday night! We were served by a gentleman whose accent was a fascinating mix of a eastern European and Scottish. Ordered a pint of the local ale - Ale of Leven which had all the peatiness and smokiness of a single malt whiskey. 2 of us ordered the Cullen skink as we had read it was the best on the West Highland way. One of us had the prawn parcels and I ordered the locally caught haggis. I was pleased about this because those farmed haggises are not nearly as good as the wild ones! The food arrived and two bathtubs of delicious Cullen skink were delivered. All the starters were excellent. For mains 3 of us had burgers which consisted of an entire cow between two mattress-sized buns along with a side of bacon, a kilo of onions made into onion rings and a hundred weight of potatoes made into chips. The other had a steak and ale pie that Desperate Dan would have been proud of. After consuming this gargantuan quantity of food we waddled to our car, on entering which the suspension broke.
Did I mention the portions were large?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AST111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for one night while walking the West Highland Way. Great room and a really good pub for our evening meal. The food was really nice with a wide selection of food and beers. The service was excellent. Our room was above the bar so there was some noise from below but as we were very tired from walking it didn't affect us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajmax2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Visited this place on 25th May for something to eat after a long day hill climbing.
The place is nice and cosy and the food was excellent. There were 9 of us in the group and everyone thought the same. Prices were reasonable and would recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LJMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Country Explorers
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here the second night of our West Highland way walk. We were upgraded to a nicer room which was , spacious, clean, & recently renovated. We had lovely views across Loch Lomond.
Great place to stay, staff very helpful & friendly.
Good choices for breakfast.

Room Tip: The adjacent cottages were recently renovated so try to book one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navigator01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
3.6 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Property: Oak Tree Inn
Address: Main Street, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Tree Inn consists of accommodation in rooms above the inn and in a series of on-site cottages. There is also a restaurant and bar, coffee shop & ice cream parlour and village shop. The Oak Tree is in Balmaha, a beautiful loch side village in Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Balmaha
Oak Tree Inn Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing