We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but very noisy”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Balmaha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for one night while walking the West Highland Way. We first had to wait as there was no one at the check in desk, staff were walking by us, but no one asked if we needed help. After someone finally came, we checked in and were shown to our room which was very clean, but small, we could barely fit ourselves and two suitcases in the room. The room was very noisy as we could hear loud work noises outside and people coming and going from their rooms, as well as the tv in the room next to us. After a long day walking the WHW we just wanted to relax, but the noise did not allow for that.
We did eat in the restaurant and the food was just okay, not great but not bad.
The location of the inn is nice but this is not a place I would return to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank donjenks35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hi folks, thought I’d drop you some notes on our trip up to the Oak Tree Inn.

Well we arrived there last Saturday about 3.15pm, after 250 dry miles, and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Got booked in and went to the well stocked bar for a few beers, lovely selection of real ales and quite a few whisky’s although didn’t get to try them lol.

The room was clean and had everything you needed including earplugs, we thought it was cos we were bikers, but it turned out it was because the walls were quite thin haha, well we never had to use them. Did I mention the bar?

Had a lovely dinner, cheers guys, it’s a really fantastic menu, more alcohol and then bed.

I never have a problem sleeping but if the Mrs doesn’t like the bed I certainly get to know about it in the morning. Well, good news – she had the best nights kip she’s ever had away from home, (thank God!!). Breakfast had everything you would want, so well happy there and then we packed up and headed South for home…

Thanks again

Andy - MotoGoLoco prize winner

Room Tip: We (luckly) never needed it, but there's a pressure washer available to hose down the bikes, alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A group of 4 of us ( plus dogs) sat outside for Sunday lunch. It was busy but there seemed to be plenty of staff and no-one appeared to be waiting. Unfortunately those staff were dropping off and picking up dishes but no-one was cleaning the tables, which were filthy as well as being covered in greenfly and bits from the trees. Expected as it was outside, but they could have been wiped down.
The food was awful. We all had various burgers and all were those cheap, chewy kind you expect from a burger van for £3, not from a restaurant for £10 to £12. A few wilting lettuce leaves and some extremely greasy, frozen chips all added up to the kind of meal you would get in a local pub 20 years ago. To add insult to injury, we couldn't even let the dogs drink from the water bowls they had kindly put at the tables as the water was filthy, green and full of dead insects and rubbish. Sad.
Food here used to be so nice, we were gutted. Needs a massive improvement before we go back I'm afraid.....

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kwak1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. The room itself was clean and comfortable enough. However it would have been nice to have a wardrobe to hang clothes in as we had a suit and a dress that would have benefitted from hanging properly!

Couple of things really let the place down for us.

The chambermaids seemed to like hanging out and having their tea break and biscuits (from the spare trays left out for guests) right outside our room. These "breaks" would last about half an hour and made it quite difficult for us to get to our room as we had to clamber over them sprawled on the floor chatting. When we came back to our room later, they were then hanging out chatting in a room they had "cleaned". If I were the owners of Oak Tree Inn I wouldn't be impressed - they make a bad impression and obviously don't have enough work to do!

Breakfast was also a let down and struck us as an afterthought. Limited choice of either cereal (four sorts), toast or a horrible looking fry up. No fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries. We didn't bother to go to breakfast on the second morning as it just wasn't worth getting up for. (The food in the pub was also very poor when we had lunch there).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skibunny_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here whilst walking the WHW. On arrival I was made very welcome. I stayed in the 4 bed bunkhouse and it was clean and well equipped. The bed was extremely comfortable which was appreciated. I ate in the restaurant and the service and food was first class with good sized portions.
I would recommend the Oak Tree Inn to family n friends whether for a meal or an overnight stay whilst on the Way.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank john J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed one night at the Oak Tree Inn. Our cottage interior was cute and comfortable however we were expecting a view of the Lake and virtually looked out at the storage area with the Lake beyond by quite a distance. We found the staff curt, appeared to be stressed. The pub food was good but we were not impressed with the breakfast. The area was lovely and peaceful to go for walks. However we felt this was not good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in april after being given a groupon voucher for Christmas. My partner upgraded us to one of the cottages (Dans Cottage) in which we had the room which lead out to the decking. It was very clean and homely, instantly relaxing with views looking out to the loch. Slight odd point of the room was the tv positioning, it was to the left of the fireplace and could not be seen from the bed. This wasn't too much of a problem because there is a couch but it was just a bit strange. Also, as we were on the ground floor when a couple checked in above us you could hear every step, laugh and anything that dropped on the floor. This didn't hinder us in the slightest because they were hardly in the room but I can see how it may have been a problem with noisier guests.
The food was beautiful. We ate in both the pub area and restaurant throughout our two nights stay and every meal was delicious, with brilliant service. The atmosphere in both was lovely, very cosy and lots of antiques and trinkets to look at. Especially loved the teacups in the restaurant. Breakfast was also wonderfully cooked, both in buffet and table service form. The area itself is very remote - perfect for a relaxing break to enjoy the company you're with. Stunning views, beautiful walks and a stones throw away from the bus stop. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemerson54009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
3.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
3.6 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Address: Main Street, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
Price Range: £96 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Tree Inn consists of accommodation in rooms above the inn and in a series of on-site cottages. There is also a restaurant and bar, coffee shop & ice cream parlour and village shop. The Oak Tree is in Balmaha, a beautiful loch side village in Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Balmaha
Oak Tree Inn Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing