We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good long weekend”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Balmaha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our first visit to Scotland and we were attending a wedding on the other side of the loch. The staff here are fantastic and we received a very warm welcome. We stayed in a cottage with a nice view of the loch and plenty of parking, the cottage was fine for our needs and was well equipped and spotlessly clean. We ate in the bar, it was very busy but we did not have to wait long for a table thanks to the restaurant supervisor. The food was lovely, the steak pie was outstanding as were the fish dishes. My only small critism was the buffet breakfast, the unit that keeps the food warm could be a bit larger as breakfast items kept running out and replenishment took a while. We certainly would return to the Oak Tree Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This proved to be an ideal place to stay for a couple of nights. The Inn consists of the main building and 4 or 5 cottages. Indeed the family seem to own most of the village. The welcome at reception was excellent. We were allocated a room in one of the cottages about 100 yards up the road.

The room was excellent. Spotless. It is situated about 50 yards from Loch Lomond. Breakfast was excellent and the evening meals of great quality. All the staff were friendly and made us feel at home.
This is an Inn that we will happily recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Loch Lomond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrecianHighworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We ate here after our trip on Loch Lomond. The service was cordial and the food represented very good value for money. We all left most satisfied. The burger was especially good, as was the milkshake, oh and the chips.
They seemed to have a fine selection of single malts as well, if that's your thing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Cook6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Love the ambience of the place. Perfect for Ben Lomond conic hill climbs. Spotless rooms. Food good. Only one wee thing. Could do with a wee bit of Scottish music on at night for some entertainment. Definitely will return

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank probb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My family and I recently stayed at this hotel. It has a main hotel section and separate cottages for families. We stayed in a cottage which had a room with a single bed and bunk bed for three, and then another room which was very nice and big with a king size bed. The bathroom was nice in size though the shower was inside a very large bathtub but with no glass or shower curtain. So no privacy and the floor gets all wet. But it was clean and nice. Beware though. I was quoted one price over the phone and they tried to charge me a lot more for the room. I was insistent and they honored what they originally told me if not a bit begrudgingly from the staff. I would not stay in balmaha again though. Wrong side of Loch Lomond and not near anything.

Room Tip: Weak wifi but mostly there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJK12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We visited on a wet day at lunch time and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. Fantastic fish and chips and a huge steak & ale pie. Good local beers too. Friendly staff and good value.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KatUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We went for lunch with grandson. Ordered smoked salmon salad, chicken goujons & cheeseburger with onion rings. What we received was shocking, flaked cooked salmon hot potatoes salad leaves tomato & red onion £12.95 add coleslaw. Extra 85p chips £2.45 becomes very expensive. The burger was like rubber & the onion rings were dripping with oil & tasting like fish as were the chips. Kids chicken are frozen the waitress told us. Complained too management & they admitted we didn't, receive smoked salmon & the food served was not their usual standard.We did receive a reduction from our bill however, we shouldn't, have paid for something we didn't, eat. We will not return as there is better restaurants around.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank westown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
3.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
3.6 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Address: Main Street, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
Price Range: £96 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Tree Inn consists of accommodation in rooms above the inn and in a series of on-site cottages. There is also a restaurant and bar, coffee shop & ice cream parlour and village shop. The Oak Tree is in Balmaha, a beautiful loch side village in Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Balmaha
Oak Tree Inn Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing