We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super little homely guest house with outstanding hospitality and breakfasts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balmaha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
salisbury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Super little homely guest house with outstanding hospitality and breakfasts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

A warm welcome awaits on arrival with a superb high tea including scrumpious home made scones served in the guest living room. Our room was comfortable with all necessities to hand. The hot tub was simply wonderful! Liz served us with excellent breakfasts, an excellent choice of juice, bread, lovelyhomemade marmalade. If you want to be spoilt rotten book in to Bay Cottage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelbwilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Of all B&B and bunkhouses we stayed during our West Highland way, this was my favorite place. First: the traditional Scottish breakfast was the best I had in all the seven places we stayed (I would order the Scottish breakfast everywhere so my basis of comparison is quite good). We were sorry to have worried Ms Liz Bates because we arrived very late: we were clearly not prepared for the West Highland Way as we assumed. Also, my partner forgot to pack her raincoat, which had terrible consequences. She arrived soaked and cold at Balmaha but Ms Bates lent us a rain coat, which was extremely useful for the other six days of our trip. We were eternally grateful. The beds were very comfortable. I wish we stayed more days there, we did not have a chance to use the hot tub, we were so tired and exhausted that we slept like stones. The cottage is beautifully decorated and clean. It is the type of the house I will live in one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oishimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrhead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Me and my friend stayed here and it's a lovely b&b ,nice room ,lovely breakfast ,bonus is the hot tub ,we also had the packed lunch ,so if you are walking this is ideal ,it's also rite across from the pub ,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golferBarrhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wonderful 2 night stay at Liz's fantastic bed and breakfast in the heart of Balmaha. A warm welcoming atmosphere right from the start and throughout our stay. Our room was beautiful with a really comfy bed and spacious bathroom just next door which was fully stocked.
A delicious cream tea was provided on arrival, which consisted of homemade cakes, scotch pancakes and biscuits.
The hot tub was an amazing perk of the stay, robes and extra towels were provided when used.
Breakfast on both mornings was outstanding, all cooked and prepared by Liz with a great selection to choose from and all locally sourced.
Highly recommend staying at Bay Cottage, Liz's hospitality was fantastic and we felt very at home throughout our stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahDawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review.
The hot tub certainly is a fantastic way to relax & enjoy views of the Loch & is something I will never tire of.
Living in an area of such abundance is really great. We can source a great deal of our produce locally & enjoy the fact that we know where it comes from, who grows it/breeds it & even know their children!
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Bay Cottage & we hope to see you again soon,
Liz Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My stay isn't even over but I know already this is a 5 star place. Liz is absolutely the best hostess, the rooms are lovely and the breakfast and tea are fab. I highly recommend Bay Cottage if you are anywhere near Balmaha.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AIR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review!
I'm glad it was a good review or else you might have found yourself out in the street.
In all seriousness it was really lovely having you. It really makes my job (I use that word very very loosely) really rewarding.
I hope to see you back someday!
Take care & all the best,
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I found this place as one of 3 local B&Bs and booked it since the prices were reasonable and the owner got back to me the fastest.

I expected a bed and nothing more but what I got was an experience!

A beautiful, homely and immaculate house with well appointed rooms. I felt like I was at home! We shared some great home baked treats and stories with Liz and the other guests (I don't know how she gets the time to do all this baking along with everything else!) before getting into the oh-so-good hot tub (really good!).

Just such a great B&B, don't look anywhere else.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your really lovely review!
It's a real compliment to hear that I got back to your enquiry quickly - until a few years ago I didn't even know how to turn on a computer....now I'm complete with smart phone, tablet, website & even a Facebook page - so Thank you.
I'm really glad you were pleasantly surprised & enjoyed your stay. B&B isn't easy, but its really rewarding & you get to meet fantastic people, share stories & life experiences.
A lot of the baking actually comes from my 92 year old mother...she's famous for her scones & her story telling in equal measure.
We hope to see you again soon,
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergun, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was a grate place to stay. Nice and friendly lady in the B&B. Its a small little town, with only one restaurant. but grate dinner and perfect location. the room was fantastic. the breakfast was incredible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanninemaillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
Balmaha is a lovely small village in a very idyllic location & I feel really privileged to call it home.
We're lucky to have a great Inn in the village & lots of local produce to help with our breakfasts.
Many thanks again & we hope to see you again some day soon,
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
3.5 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
4.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cottage

Property: Bay Cottage
Address: Balmaha | Loch Lomond, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liz Bates moved to Balmaha in 1986 & has called it home ever since. Shortly after moving she opened up her home as a Bed & Breakfast to weary walkers, tourists, fishermen & anyone who needed a room for the night. Twenty five years later & she's still greeting guests from day one back into her home with tea, scones, home baking & her legendary hospitality - with the welcome addition of a hot tub & a few more mod cons to bring the 200 year Cottage into the 21st century. Along the road she has seen countless things & told many a story, served thousands of breakfasts, baked enough scones for the entire Jubilee celebrations, washed & dried any soggy walkers clothes who turned up on her door, fought of the dreaded midge & made a good few friends - all in the name of Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast and Liz Bates.If you are walking The West Highland Way or visiting the east side of Loch Lomond then you will find Balmaha a lovely village lying at the foot of Conic Hill, which forms part of the West Highland Way Route. The picturesque bay is sheltered and is a perfect haven for sailing and many other water sports. The Village offers many facilities for visitors and walkers and has a large free car park in the centre. Bay Cottage is located opposite The Oak Tree Inn which has a fine reputation for beer and food and is open all year round. At Bay Cottage we welcome walkers, cyclists or anglers and have all the facilities for muddy boots and wet clothing after a long day outdoors. We also have a Hot Tub on the decking which is freely available to all our guests. Costumes and dressing robes are available if you need them. Afternoon tea and home made scones can be served in the conservatory on arrival or after a hard days walking and is included in our bed and breakfast charge. Bay Cottage is a wonderful base for exploring Loch Lomond or visiting the Trossachs with its many miles of cycling and walking routes. We are only 7 miles from Rowardennan and the start point for those wanting to climb Ben Lomond, the most southerly Munro (mountain over 3000ft, 910 metres) in Scotland. We also have drying facilities for boots and clothing if you have been caught in the rain or taking part in water sports on the Loch. Balmaha is a quiet and peaceful village but is only 40 minutes from the centre of Glasgow or just over an hour from Edinburgh. Whatever your reason for visiting this beautiful area we will try to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible and look forward to welcoming you to Bay Cottage in Balmaha. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Cottage Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing