We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip”
Review of Monachyle Mhor

Monachyle Mhor
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Whilst it takes a bit of careful driving to get there,it is certainly worth it. We only went for a plate of soup (which was really good !) the reception and the service we got was second to none. The young Belgian gentleman made us welcome and chatted to us as if we were old friends. The views are spectacular and the restaurant very intimate.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heywood, Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spontaneous lunch”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were passing this hotel and popped in on the off chance for lunch. We struggled to find where the entrance was but someone saw us and guided us through to the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The views were fantastic, we would love to stop here for a night in the future. The food was really nice and reasonably priced for the quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A trifle pretentious”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The food was nice if not very slow in coming and the egg on my burger was burnt to a crisp, a much better ambience than was in the previous hotel ( kings house )but they need to stop taking themselves so seriously

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ferruleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow best place I've ever stayed !”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Room was amazing . Staff were fantastic . Food was out of this world , Michelin star or two is need for this place . I will be coming back

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gieezzier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Can Be Very Expensive”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Chef Tom Lewis is the cornerstone of this family run hotel and restaurant.

You find it along a single track road which can be quite challenging but the journey is well worth it.

If you want to stay there, the rooms are huge and a complete delight but you do pay for the luxury.

We went for lunch in the restaurant and it was absolutely brilliant. We spoke to Chef Tom and the end and, not only is he a great chef but a darn good bloke to boot.

Luxurious accommodation, superb food? If this floats your boat add it to the top of your list.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monachyle Mhor also viewed

Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Monachyle Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing