We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every cloud has a silver linning”

Old Library Tearoom
Restaurant details
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Every cloud has a silver linning”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were looking forward to enjoying a trip to this tearoom and were very disappointed to find it closed. HOWEVER it has been re-opened at Mohr 84 nearby which was well worth a visit :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelagh22W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, quaint tea room”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

We found this tea room completely by accident. We were to have lunch with the chief of clan MacLaren and his wife who live next door, we stopped in to ask directions only to find that we had arrived. So, we had some time to kill and decided to have coffee and a wee cake here. The staff were wonderful and friendly. The coffee was the best we had in Scotland. The cake was grand as well. It can get very crowded very easily, but people seem to cycle through quickly, so don't be put off.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tuirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Tea Room”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

What a nice little tea room in Balquhidder.
Although it is very small - therefore very quaint, individual and well worth a visit, the food is lovely and fresh.
Would say that if you do go to Ballquhidder make a stop off for tea and cake.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathrine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good cakes, awful service”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Went there on the 05/09/12, cakes were nice but the lady who served was grumpy, burnt the scone, did not even apologized, and pretty much miserable with everybody, she complained it was too busy, there were only 4 tables who only wanted cakes and tea ! Despite the food was nice, we decided not to come back as service was too awful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cocob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Little jewel”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous little tearoom in the historic village of balquidder - home made scones are to die for and the soup of the day (butternut squash, sweet potato Thai style) was as amazing as it was creative. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baz171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Library Tearoom also viewed

Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Old Library Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing