We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An 'Angelic' Stay at the Monachyle Mhor”
Review of Monachyle Mhor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monachyle Mhor
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balquhidder
Certificate of Excellence
Gorebridge, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An 'Angelic' Stay at the Monachyle Mhor”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Just back from a one night stay at the Monachyle Mhor - now voted our favourite hotel in Scotland. The welcome and the room were both very warm. The staff were, without exception, delightful. They are friendly, natural and not at all obsequious. The food was outstanding and the views (in wall to wall sunshine) inspiring. Our room (room 7, in the courtyard) was very comfortable with a 'real' gas fire and a colour-changing bath(!). We went for a walk the next morning (with slightly sore heads..) and were accompanied by Angel, one of the hotel dogs. Who we managed to lose... apparently she turned up later though, thank goodness! Can't speak highly enough of this lovely hotel, and thanks to Itison we were able to afford it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    97
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
62
385
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Wow! Monachyle Mhor is simply amazing, from the location, to the staff, and the food is honestly the best I have tasted. We have just returned from a two night stay in the coach house room and from the moment we arrived until the depressing moment we had to leave it was fantastic. If you are looking to get away from the noise of everyday life - mobile phones, crowds and traffic then this is the place. It is located down a winding road that meanders along Loch Voil and at times you think you are driving down the wrong road, constantly questioning the sat nav! Thankfully as you follow the small road there are signs that reassure you that you are driving in the right direction and you slowly proceed absorbing the great scenery all around you, which can only be described as "picture perfect". The hotel then appears on the right hand side within is own well kept grounds with not a single neighbour on either side. At night the isolation is more apparent because the darkness that surrounds the hotel is incredible, without a full moon the only light you see is way off in the distance on the other side of the loch. On our arrival we were greeted by the reception staff that quickly and efficiently checked us in to our room and gave us a brief tour of the main house which is decorated throughout to a high standard. The bar, although not very big, is full of warmth provided by the open fire which is continuously kept alight. A word of warning do not drink too much of the local Whisky on offer whilst sitting near the fire as you tend to drop off. As I mentioned earlier we booked one of the larger rooms on offer which is called the coach house which on the left hand side of the court yard. Access to the room is via its own staircase which adds to the seclusion and Isolation from other guest. Once you climb the stairs the room opens up into a spacious open “loft style” room with its own fire, and should you require to ruin your peace, a Television and Music system. The bathroom is simply huge, complete with a large bath (enough for two), a walk in shower cubicle which doubles as your own personal steam room. Our only disappointment was we realised that the bed was two beds pushed together which I find slightly uncomfortable as you feel the “ridge” of the two beds. I personally think that the bed should provide exceptional comfort that should challenge you to get out of during your stay.
We had dinner both nights of our stay and each night the food on the menu was amazing. Both myself and Fiancé thoroughly enjoyed each of the seven courses and if you are like her, and you are particularly “fussy” on what you eat then I am sure your temptation will dare you to try just like she did. I can assure you will be blown away and will be left wanting mhor. The restaurant boasts an extensive wines list that covers just about everybody’s taste. Hopefully our review will entice you to go and you will be able to settle a slight argument between my Fiancé and I. It is well documented on the site that the owner is Tom Lewis but I reckon that it is actually owned by the actor Brian Blessed! During our stay I actually happened to see Brian around the hotel, complete with his big bushy beard with his deep long drones of speech echoing throughout the court yard and corridors of the main house. My Fiancé is not convinced she says it was Tom with a beard which he has grown to keep him warm throughout the Scottish Winter. Answers on a review please!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rixy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windermere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This place is very special, from the moment we found it 14 years ago, run then by Tom's mum and dad, then went back 5 years ago and then two days ago, it has undergone some modernisation but still remains the perfect place to stay. The food is and presentation is fantastic, the service very friendly and attentive. Breakfast is served with the stunning views over the Loch. If you're thinking about going, don't think anymore just do it! The 6 or 7 miles drive to it along the loch shore is something else and a welcome tea awaits, however we opted for the bar, next to the open fire.
We love it and know you will too, the only problem is we don't get enough time to go as often as we would like.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lori s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Very comfortable room and stunning views. The service is excellent and is hard to fault. We managed to get our car stuck on the snowy drive- the staff kindly helped pull it out with a 4wd. There is a nice little bar with a log fire. We had the 7 course tasting menu with accompanied wines- the food was perfect. Breakfast the following morning was equally good. We look forward to returning......

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairreviewer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
184 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed here on a dark winters day. We had a wonderful room in the house with a bathroom bigger than most hotel bedrooms. The bar is small but cosy with a good range of drinks. The mael in the evening is the main reason to travel down this way and it did not disappoint. We had a delightful 5 course meal and the wine list is very good. The staff are friendly and helpful. The scenery around is beautiful and there are plenty of short walks. This is not a cheap stay but worth it. Minor improvements could be in the lounge area, as this is a bit small and it does not comfortably take more than 1 group.

Overall this is wonderful place that I would not miss if in this part of Scotland.

Room Tip: It is worth getting one of the more upgraded rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adeno_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The setting is lovely but the road along the loch side to get to and from the hotel is not great. The staff were very helpful however the restaurant, lounge and bar areas are really not big enough to cater comfortably for a full house of 28 guests. Our room within the house was rather underwhelming but there had been no option to upgrade as all of the rooms in the other parts of the hotel had been taken by the time I made our booking. Only 3 of the 5 TV channels that were supposed to be available were actually working.

They make a big thing on their web site about the range of toiletries they provide, but I was extremely disappointed that they wouldn't (yes wouldn't) provide conditioner with the shampoo even though conditioner was available within the range (they sold it in their shop). There was no hot water for showers all day on the Saturday - we had to ask the staff if there was a problem with the hot water system. The initial excuse given was that they had a full house that day, but as I see it this is all the more reason to make sure that there definitely should have been sufficient hot water available for all their guests who, after all, were all paying handsomely for the privilege of staying at the hotel.

I enjoyed the home made breads served at both breakfast and dinner but I was rather disappointed with the dinner on both nights. What has happened to good old-fashioned unfussy cooking that makes the most of the great local ingredients available whilst also leaving diners feeling as if they really have had a meal that is satisfying for the stomach as well the eye? My pre-dinner G & T was also served in a glass that was chipped - not good!

Also, rather bizzarely, the hotel is now painted pink which I found a little strange as it is definitely not localted in Suffolk - why change from white which is much more in keeping within the beautiful Scottish landscape?

Overall, at almost £700 for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast I thought that it wasn' great value for money at all.

Room Tip: Go for a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed Four nights in November beautiful location and worth the drive! The staff are a credit and nothing seems too much trouble. The MHOR although an exceptional dining experience manages to create a very comfortable enviroment. The cosy bar is just lovely and favoured above the dull lounge. All has been tastfully designed through out with stylish furniture and sale room finds dotted here and there.
The food is excellent and the evening dinner menu well balanced with canapes, tasters, starter, main, sweet or cheese all delicious!
Breakfast is'nt forgotten either lovely range of goods, eggs bacon and more all well sourced and home baked wonderful breads and scones all in all very very good.
What also makes it special is the lovely attitude to dogs! Theirs and that of the guests our two just had a ball especially with Betty and Tinker the inhouse pooch's
We would return but would choose a different room, although spacious and warm room 10 wasnt the best. The bathroom needs a remodel BIGGER bath and updating! I love a good soak when away especially when walking. The only other little gripe is the view it does look over the farm buildings and the butchery department! Beautiful mountains beyond! Other than that the MHOR would have gained a straight 5! We will be back !! 'if you will have us?'

Room Tip: see details above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitramYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balquhidder
23.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
12.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
17.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monachyle Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monachyle Mhor

Property: Monachyle Mhor
Address: Balquhidder, Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balquhidder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balquhidder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monachyle Mhor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Monachyle Mhor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachyle Mhor Hotel Lochearnhead
Monachyle Mhor Callander
Monachyle Mhor Balquhidder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing