We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay. stunning location. faultless food. excpetional service”
Review of Monachyle Mhor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monachyle Mhor
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balquhidder
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“perfect stay. stunning location. faultless food. excpetional service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just returned from an delightful one night stay where we just completely indulged in every pleasure available. We spent an absolute fortune on wine but that was our choice - a good one. The food was very reasonable priced and was genuinely brilliant. Far far superior to some Michelin starred restaurants Ive eaten in. The staff were to a man and woman faultless just spectacularly good. The room we stayed in was utterly brilliant with a bathroom to indulge in. On top of all this we had the views. We will be back many many times in the coming years.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobehave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    100
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
65
397
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A lot of what the rave reviews say about this place is true: the location is matchless and stunning; the last 4 miles of single track to get there are simply gorgeous: you can't drive safely at more than 15-20 mph but you should go slower to drink it all in. Everyone is friendly: booking, check in and out is easy and effortless. The room we got (a feature room in the courtyard) was spacious, calm, fresh. Nice touches included cafetiere with ground coffee and nice pukka teas instead of the regular anonymous nasties; steam room was a boon, robes were soft, the bath was deep - all perfect after a day walking.

There were some flies in the ointment, though, which surprised us at this price bracket (Dinner B&B came to more than £400 with quite a modest choice of wine).

1. You gotta like dogs here: shortly after we settled in around 4pm, a black labrador set up barking right outside our back door and would not be quieted - eventually went away. Then around 10.15pm as we were drifting off to sleep, 2 puppies played in the courtyard with plentiful barking for some time and woke us right up - we had to ring reception to have them shushed. Finally we woke up the next morning to find some fresh dog poo near our door - mentioned it to reception and it was cleared up but I'd rather not have that on the way to breakfast...

2. The food is distinctive and delicious; but you need patience: our main courses still had not arrived 75 minutes after our reservation time of 7.15: tired and ready for my dinner after a day outdoors, I was SO hungry by then, despite the various amuse bouches etc. There are several "Slow Food" stickers on the door, but this was stretching the point too far...

So overall it was a really enjoyable experience but not without its odd moments.

Room Tip: Our feature rooms in the courtyard was very nice, though pricy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svendb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our first visit to Monachyle Mhor after having it on a to do list for some time. The hotel is situated down a single track road and has a beautiful outlook with views over Loch Voil. We had booked a superior room and were not disappointed. The room was fantastically styled with lots of space and a much appreciated welcome tray of tea/coffee and shortbread. We had lunch and dinner in the hotel. The food was amazing. Perfect portion size and absolutely delicious. I loved the cozy bar and all staff were so pleasant and helpful - it was obvious they all enjoyed working at Monachyle Mhor. We booked a Landrover safari with Hidden Glen Safaris as recommended by the hotel. This was a great way to spend a few hours in the afternoon with a very knowledgeable guide. The weather was amazing, we got to places that we wouldn't have been able to on foot, saw red deer and a golden eagle. We are planning to visit the Mhor Festival this weekend just for the day but I am so looking forward to going back at staying at Monachyle Mhor - it is a truly fabulous hidden gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DillDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Situated close the end of the single track road up Balquhidder glen, this hotel is in a peaceful but isolated setting. A traditional large farmhouse, it is tastefully and comfortably furnished with very friendly staff. The food is excellent, beautifully presented and deserves to have a Michelin star. Relaxed atmosphere, not pretentious or "precious" . A perfect experience.

Room Tip: We were in the main house at the front with lovely views over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Such a nice stay at monachyle mhor, room was stylish with lots of windows looking out to the hills. Fantastic giant bath, and a shower with a steam room. We ate in the restaurant, and the overall experience was fantastic. I'd recommend to anyone looking for a luxurious, romantic night away!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our first visit to Monachyle Mhor and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and it was nice to be able to say hello in person to Tom Lewis. We travelled as 2 couples and had booked 2 courtyard rooms. My brother and sister in law stayed in the Stable (6) and we had the But 'n Ben (10) Both rooms were nice in their own way - the Stable has a beautiful bathroom and looks like it has been refurbished fairly recently. The space in the But 'n Ben was great and we liked the eclectic mix of furniture and accessories. The bathroom was not so great though and I think it needs a bit of time and money spent on it to bring it up to the same standard as the Stable. Our meal was delicious and at £55 per person I thought it was good value for the amount and quality of food that you get. My crab starter was fantastic and then followed by a big plateful of beautifully cooked lamb. I did think it was a bit odd that coffee was not included and was an extra £4.50 each. The setting is fantastic and the weather was great when we were there so we enjoyed sitting on the terrace with a drink. It was very relaxing and laid back. I loved the fact that everyone you bumped into said hello with a smile. We really enjoyed our stay there and will visit again at some point but I'll need to save up my pennies first!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woohooemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice secluded hotel well off the beaten track. We got our stay here as a wedding gift and it was fantastic. Room was unique with its decor and the way it was laid out. Had a look at other rooms and everyone is laid out differently. Staff were welcoming and friendly on arrival as were the bar staff but the service in the restaurant wasnt as good as you should be expecting for the price your paying but staff seem to be mostly new for the season so maybe being to picky. We had a room to the front of the hotel and the views in the morning were brilliant. Would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a romantic getaway for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_SandraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balquhidder
15.6 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
412 reviews
23.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
12.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.3 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
668 reviews
17.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monachyle Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monachyle Mhor

Property: Monachyle Mhor
Address: Balquhidder, Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balquhidder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balquhidder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monachyle Mhor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Monachyle Mhor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachyle Mhor Hotel Lochearnhead
Monachyle Mhor Callander
Monachyle Mhor Balquhidder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing