We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monachyle Mhor”
Review of Monachyle Mhor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monachyle Mhor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balquhidder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have known Monachyl Mhor for many years and have been there previously to eat there on many occasions.This was the first time that we had stayed there. The accommodation was first class, warm, comfortable and attractive. The welcome was good and the staff were very attentive. We left though with a feeling that there was room for improvement. The exterior was neglected. It was raining, gutters were full and dripping, paint was peeling off doors at the back, metal signs were rusty. Dinner was good, but the main courses were unimpressive. My wife had a very small single chined lamb chop which was no more than three mouth fulls. I had turbot, again very little, a strip barely two fingers in width and rather dry, I have to say the meal, though prettily presented, left us disappointed. I am not sure we would stay there again which is a pity.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room and were delighted with it. It was raining. We were provided with a large um...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

It is well worth the long drive down a very narrow scenic road to reach this hotel and restaurant.. The location is excellent with big grounds and splendid views. Accommodation is good rather than excellent but the meals are very good. We felt it was a little overpriced for what it provided but perhaps we were also paying for the view and the isolation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic night's stay at this hotel - our first visit and based on a friend's recommendation. Location is picture perfect and the views are enchanting. One word of caution, the road leading up to the hotel is very narrow and can be a tad un-nerving if you are used to motorways and more than just a smattering of tarmac however, we managed to successfully negotiate it in a roadster without incident so all good! We checked into a Courtyard room and were immediately impressed, the décor was a clever mix of contemporary (stunning bathroom) and rustic (decorative deer antlers and stone wall features) - loved it - all amenities provided and a chilled bottled of champagne to start the evening off on the right foot. All of the (very friendly, professional) staff were exceptional - service at dinner was perfect (timed well and non intrusive yet attentive). The food is also exceptional in taste and quality. In our view worth every penny, if a little on the pricey side. Portion sizes are spot on and on a par with most top end restaurants - dinner is three courses with canapés, amuse bouche and optional coffees (with the best tablet and chocolate treats!). Recommend the cheese board also the selection was excellent. Breakfast the next day was again of exceptional quality. Many local fish based dishes available with local fruit compotes and so on. I ordered slightly off menu and it was no problem. If you want a spot of comfortable luxury, rest and relaxation and enjoy some fine food and wine, then this is the place to go. We will definitely be back. Thanks to all staff who made us feel very welcome on our visit.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the reception in the courtyard - was a quiet stay throughout!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having stayed here in 2008, I couldn't wait to go back and experience it all over again. The location is out of this world and it has picture perfect views. At some points along the road you are left wondering if you will actually head into the loch!
We stayed in a Courtyard room (Room 10) at a cost of £215 for the night bed and breakfast, with dinner at £55 per head plus drinks. So for me, this is a special occasion kind of place.
The 6 years that have passed since my previous visit has taken it's toll, which to be fair any establishment which is this popular will experience this - but at these prices time and money is required to keep the standard. The carpet in the room and bathroom was stained and the bathroom suite itself is in need of replacing.
Other point to note was the staff, there seemed to be several new members of staff and not too much experience about. Things seemed somewhat disorganised and not a well oiled machine - the staff and their enthusiasm for the venture was something that sold Monachyle to me previously.
Dinner is without a doubt worth every penny, a culinary delight and fantastic. Time to slow it down again if possible - I know some people have commented that service is slow but surely that is part of the appeal of this place. I would like to see a return to the long leisurely dinner where one can enjoy and savour every moment. Also, chef coming out for a wee chat was always such a nice touch.
I left Monachyle this time without a feeling of longing to return as a must do but instead they have become a has been. I just wonder if the MHOR brand has all become to much for Tom Lewis and he has lost focus on what Monachyle was all about. Time to re-invest some time and money into the place to ensure continued success.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Recently visited Monachyle Mhor for lunch - the set menu is fairly limited. Sandwiches are available.

The bread did not have enough salt in it though was fresh but at times, really too crispy and crusty around the edges. The sweet potato soup with chilli was delicious and definitely reccommended!

No cooked options were had for the main course as we both had open sandwiches. Again the bred lacked seasoning and was failry crusty. Apart from the crustiness and lack of seasoning the sandwiches were substantial in size however there was not enough chicken for me whereas my wife had a lot of salmon.

We ordered a child's cheese sandwich - this was okay though maybe a little too crusty for chiildren and the cheese was really strong and almost to an excessive quantity.

Onto desserts, a few choices here. I opted for the banana parfait - it wasn't bad but could have done with more 'crumble' to it and possibly not serve it in a deconstructed fashion.

Service was really slow though once the orders were taken, it was not long till the food arrived. Biggest complaint was the amount of time it took for the orders to be taken throughout the luncheon.

IMHO, a nice quiet retreat for couples.

Some other points to note (these are not included in my rating)

The road is a single track road with passing places - care is needed. Be aware of the west coast midges :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Valued_Guest12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Quite a remote location, up a single track road from Balquhidder. The rooms are interesting, and comfortable. Some overlook the farmstead, which is busy during the day. The food is excellent and efficiently served. Very good dinners, and breakfast also. An early morning stroll before breakfast gives many views of scenery and wildlife.

One point, there is no nearby petrol station so keep a reasonably full tank.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToastedWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Food, Accommodation and Service are as good as I have experienced anywhere. Beautiful surroundings and excellent views of lochs and mountains. Staff were always friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. Not a cheap hotel but, in my view, worth every penny.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgb-gargunnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balquhidder
12.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
446 reviews
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.3 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.6 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
17.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monachyle Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monachyle Mhor

Address: Balquhidder, Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balquhidder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balquhidder
Price Range: £191 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monachyle Mhor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monachyle Mhor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachyle Mhor Hotel Lochearnhead
Monachyle Mhor Callander
Monachyle Mhor Balquhidder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing