We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Monachyle Mhor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monachyle Mhor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balquhidder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Surprise overnight in one of the 'feature rooms'loved everything about it. Food,staff,atmosphere was wonderful. Total relaxation with travelling to far. Felt like we were a million miles from anything. Will definately return. Very pleased and lovely memories. Thank you Mhor ♡

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridgeback74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Really comfortable hotel. Relaxe countrystyle. Beautifull environment. But overrated if you ask us. Maybe because adresses like these are hard to find in this environment? Hardly wifi! Great breakfast served by an enthousiastic kind young man from Edinborough. The diner we had was not good at all. It looked quiet nice, but strange combinations (salmon and grapefruit?) much too salt in many courses, the fish was cooked far too long and hardly could eat the desserts; much too sweat. And therefor you pay 55 per person.Suggestion: visit Jamie Oliver in Glasgow for real good food and price-level.

Room Tip: Well described on there website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DijkgraafFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had lunched at this lovely little gem of a hotel twice in the past, had loved the food and smart-casual style, and had wondered what it would be like to stay overnight, so we were thrilled when we received a gift voucher from our family for dinner and bed and breakfast.

We arrived for our overnight stay on a cold, wet Sunday afternoon but the welcome was warm. A charming receptionist showed us to a lovely, spacious room where a stove had been lit earlier to ensure that it was cosy. It was very suitably and stylishly furnished with comfy sofa and chairs in addition to the inviting kingsize bed.

The lounge was just as welcoming, with log-burning stove and comfortable armchairs, and the bar too had a good fire blazing.

Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The weather the following morning was warm and very sunny, in complete contrast to the previous day.

This is the ideal spot for anyone who wants to 'get away from it all'. The hotel is set deep in rural west central Scotland, and the last few miles along the loch side are on a single track road with passing places. A Japanese family happened to be staying overnight too when we were there and, like us, were totally charmed by the hotel and its setting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bandicoot1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Another great stay at Monachyle Mhor - one of the special courtyard rooms providing modern accommodation and of course a wonderful dinner with superb food and wonderful, friendly service. Breakfast outstanding. Setting stunning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We toured Scotland and stayed in many great places, but this was by far our favorite. Monachyle Mohr gets it right, the food is great local fare, yet sophisticated. The rooms are wonderfully modern and rustic. The location is stunning, and the folks are terrific. We stayed in a courtyard room and loved being part of the place...of our way out we stopped at mohr Bread in Callander and had some fantastic goodies..wow! Bakery is simply amazing as well. Wish we could have stopped at Mohr Fish...but alas there was no time....this is one of the truly great escape places. All I can say is we want Mohr! Would be great to have an outpost in the US...

Room Tip: Every room is unique and has its own appeal. I would stay in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ZenaRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The small road leading to the hotel runs along a lake, small village and woods.
The hotel is secluded among beautiful scenery. The owner and staff are most wellcoming and the room we got was large and comfortable.
The food is amazing both in breakfast and dinner. The menu has a wide choice of local products prepared skillfully.
We watched the world cup final on a large screen in the barn with an open fireplace and free drinks.
I highly recommend Monachyle Mhor to people who love nature and want to relax in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elikopilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Cannot write highly enough of this place. Ok its a bit out of the way but its worth the effort to get there. The drive up the glen with the hills reflected on the loch water was just a taster to come.
This is a farmhouse converted into a fantastic hotel in a wonderful location. One of those places where you feel the strains of the world melt way.

I am not sure where it actually falls in star ratings but I would put it as a good 4 star.

The rooms decor in the courtyard rooms are a bit modern for a traditional person like me but my wife loved it and I certainly could not complain about the standard of the facilities, including a steam room!!. We had a Queen size bed while our friends got a King size and I think that a king in our room would have been better but it was very comfortable

The dinner was very good, I am not really a foodie but some of our party were and they loved it all. But what I had was well prepared and well presented, just the right quantities. The wine list was modest in size but thats no bad thing but what was there was good and resaonably priced.

The staff were first class, nothing was too much trouble and always a with a smile.

Some people have commented on the wifi and in the bedrooms it was not really available but was in the sitting room. Actually I was quite glad to get away from that anyway.

We were leaving quite early the next day and my only complaint was that breakfast started a bit late so were were not able to partake in a full breakfast but they did arrange a continental breakfast for us.

Would I go back, yes definately

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a king sized bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy21558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balquhidder
23.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
688 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
17.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monachyle Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monachyle Mhor

Address: Balquhidder, Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balquhidder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balquhidder
Price Range: £192 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monachyle Mhor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monachyle Mhor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachyle Mhor Hotel Lochearnhead
Monachyle Mhor Callander
Monachyle Mhor Balquhidder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing