We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "boutique" hotel in wonderful setting -- and excellent food”
Review of Monachyle Mhor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monachyle Mhor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balquhidder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We spent 3 great days - and nights - at Monachyle Mhor. The lochside setting is beautiful and the interior of the hotel is delightful: a great mix of old/traditional and modern. We loved the look and the "feel" of the place; a lot of care has gone into it. The staff was great: helpful and efficient. The food was very good and attractively served; at risk of being a bit harsh (and a bit fussy) i would say it's close to, but not quite, Michelin 1-star standard.

Although I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a small, luxury hotel, but without all the fancy facilities like a swimming pool, etc, there are of course a few "negatives" -- and there's no point writing a review which isn't frank and balanced. The negatives were minor but were: slow service at dinner (even allowing for the standard of the food, which isn't conveyor-belt cooking), a waitress who barely spoke English, and (even though I'm a big fan!) almost constant Frank Sinatra music in the bar and nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2009

A fabulous place to stay - the food was superb, the service impeccable. The room was spot on, everything you could want was there for you. The enthusiasm and professionalism if the staff was first rate. As it was a cold February we'd asked for a room you could take a dog in, and had a lovely bedroom/bathroom/sittingroom in the corner of the courtyard. They even tied in cleaning the room so as not to disturb the dog when we at breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowy6491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We have just stayed at Monachyle Mhor for two nights on the recomendation of a friend. We couldn't bear to tear ouselves away from Scotland and it was worth the stay blow the cost. The young staff were very helpful efficient and human and took time to talk to us seniors, nothing seemed too much effort, everything was done with a smile and the client's benefit. More than a home away from home as one can take their dogs for a walk if one didn't bring one of their own. An experience to be repeated, the weather was kind too, but it wouldn't have made any difference the peace and quiet topped up our batteries and will be shared with many friends and family. Thank you one and all especially Mark one of the chefs.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robroyhindhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Imagine our delight at arriving, after traveling a narrow, serpentine road that threatened to be interminable, at this welcoming pink stone farmhouse. Hungry, car-weary and chilled by the damp, we were revived by a cheery greeting from staff, black labs and border collie ; superb soup, slabs of lightly smoked salmon and just-picked salad greens; and the warmth of a coal fire in the bar. A walk of several hours after lunch took us along a series of lochs, and brought our appetite around again. This was more than satisfied by the fresh, ample but simply prepared meal we enjoyed in the glassed-in porch overlooking the majestic scenery we had trodden that afternoon. Our rooms were cozy and well-equipped with opulent baths. Breakfast featured freshly baked bread, eggs lain by the hens we saw strutting on the lawn outside, and that smoked salmon again.
Our only quibble concerns the service. While waitstaff were friendly and solicitous, they could benefit from a bit more training. Most notably, at dinner there was a long gap between the arrival of one of our party's food and when the others were served. Also, waitstaff were not able to recommend an after dinner whiskey. Again, minor, easily remedied reservations about an otherwise splendid hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LightTravelerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

This is a laid back place where you can take the dogs for a walk on the hills if you fancy. After building up your appetite you can satisfy it on some of the best food to be found in Scotland. Oh yes and superb views whilst you dine or take breakfast.
Bigger folk might find the smaller rooms a bit on the dinky side.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Me and my fiance stayed here for 3 nights in November 2008. The room, location and staff were excellent. The real attraction though was the food, amazing! I can honestly say the best food I have ever eaten. The wines were also very good too. The staff including the head chef were also very welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Although a bit on the pricey side, we didn't feel like we were ripped off and like most pricier upmarket hotels, this place was not pretentious at all. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonCompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

The food is the star - no doubt !
We've stayed there three times over the past few years, for the food, the scenery and the walking, but the prices are on the high side, so we tend only to stay a night or so at a time if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_from_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balquhidder
23.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
689 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
17.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monachyle Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monachyle Mhor

Address: Balquhidder, Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balquhidder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balquhidder
Price Range: £191 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monachyle Mhor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monachyle Mhor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachyle Mhor Hotel Lochearnhead
Monachyle Mhor Callander
Monachyle Mhor Balquhidder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing