We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The delights of Crianlarich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have recently stayed at this hotel on the way up to the Isle of Skye and enjoyed it so much that we stayed again a week later on our way south. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome by everybody that we met. The rooms were clean and comfortable as was the rest of the hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant which was absolutely delicious, the Cullen Skink especially. The restaurant staff were all very pleasant and very helpful. We could hardly wait for our return visit and once again everything went perfectly. We will certainly recommend The Crianlarich Hotel to anyone heading that way and even suggest that travellers make a detour just to sample the delights of the hotel.
Many thanks to Joan and all her staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Good Morning

Thank you for you kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here as a party who had come for the Murder Mystery weekend. I was put in a room which did not have a shower but an old fashioned rubber shower attachment instead - however - on asking to move to another room were accomodated and provided with a room with proper shower.
Room was excellent - staff very friendly and breakfast was great.
Murder Mystery itself was fantastic and would highly recommend to anyone thinking of trying this.
I would definately stay here again

Room Tip: Avoid room 232 as this does not have a proper shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lugscuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Good afternoon
Thank you for you kind review, myself and the team are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Joan peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We visited this hotel as part of an organised holiday by Treyn and I can only re-iterate the previous comment - best forgotten. The service, food and general maintenance of the hotel were poor. We visited as a party of seven and all of us felt that we received sub-standard service for the money paid. On arrival the rooms were not very clean eg the soap dishes contained soap from previous occupants and the rooms were not cleaned properly during our 4 night stay. The heater did not work. A temporary repair was carried out late the first night but it was never properly resolved. The restaurant service was poor. We usually waited an hour for the first course to be served. The whole meal normally took 3 hours for all courses to arrive. The standard of the food was very variable. My roast pork consisted of what resembled two thin rashers of bacon. The lentil soup was inedible. The garlicky linguine with leeks in white sauce did not contain any leeks in white sauce. We were often hungry at the end of the meal. When we came down for breakfast we often had to wait 5 or 10 minutes for the bacon to be refilled in the buffet tray. Walking about thehotel, puddles of water were not identified by a warning cone - an accident waiting to happen. One morning, in the conservatory, I sat with water dripping down my neck and had to move my chair. We were aware that the tour manager had taken complaints by other members of the group to the management, but we didn't think that this made much difference, except for slightly faster service on the last night. We would not recommend this hotel, based on our experiences on 4 days over the new year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennie_watkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Good Evening
Thank you for your comments, myself and the team are deeply disappointed that your recent stay was not as you had hoped it would be. Please contact me on 01838 300 272 or e-mail gm@crianlarich-hotel.co.uk where we would discuss your stay in detail.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just back having orgainised a group of six of us based at the above for a walking week-end. It exceeded our expectations in every way.

The hotel was warm (2nd week of January) thoughout. All the staff we met were friendly & helpful, the food served in the dining room and the breakfast room was extensive in choice and plentiful in quantity. Even with a couple of our chicken dishes coming out cooler than we would have liked, they were replaced immediately with new piping hot ones. The Cullen Skink starter is to be particularly recommended, almost a 'knife and fork' meal on it's own.

Rooms were of a good standard, the beds were VERY comfortable with all of us having a great sleep wherever we were roomed, and the views from the front rooms were spectacular with the mountains & hills snow covered.

One of the rooms only had a rubber attachment on the bath for a shower, inadequate in this day and age, but we understood that there is a refurbishment programme this year, which hopefully will address these areas, as well as the baths without a regulated shower on them.

Even with the above comments, it is worthy of five starts for what we paid. Excellent value for money, a great base to explore the beautiful highland scenery, and a hotel which is clearly well run and managed.

Too many Scottish hotels can leave a guest disappointed on facilities/food/ service. The Crianlarich is NOT one of those. We would ALL be more than happy to return to enjoy all what was offered. Well done to the management and staff for an excellent product.

Room Tip: Front rooms have best views, and even with both a main road and a railway line close by, the excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Academical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your kind comments, myself and the team are delighted that we exceeded your expectations. I am sure the next time you visit you will see further improvements.
I am sure we will see you all again soon.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have nothing but praise regarding our stay with you over the festive period and cannot thank everyone who was there working hard for our enjoyment and relaxation enough for a wonderful Christmas that we will always have very found memories of.


We wrote an email to thank them for an amazing Christmas experience and especially to say
thank you to all the staff for the wonderful reception, treatment, food and service we received from everybody.

In particular Scott is a credit to the hotel and he really made nothing too much trouble for us right down to a warm bedtime drink for our 5 year old every night.

Joan the manager allowed us to make our room more Christmassy with the spare decorations she sourced for us, we really were grateful.

Its a great base camp for venturing out and about and far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Good Evening
Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay and that we could help with the decoration for the visit from Santa.
I hope that we see you all again soon

Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have contributed to tripadvisor over the years and I tend to say what I think and find.
.
My wife and I have just returned from a New Year Organised Break at this hotel and the title above says it all.

The room we had was had concertina (swing doors) doors into the bathroom.
The service in the restaurant was diabolical.

On the first night we had to wait over an hour for our first course. The main course, which followed, was to say the least was minuscule. The roast pork appeared to have been cut on a bacon slicer. A skilled surgeon could not have made a cut that was so thin. If one had held a newspaper behind it, you would have been able to read it.

A member in our party can only eat Glutton free meals, She had contacted the hotel the previous week to make sure that they were aware of this. On the first night she asked for glutton free bread, only to be told that the Manager was "Down the super market getting some". Our tour manager complained to the manager about the delay in receiving the courses and the size of the portions.

Breakfast on the first morning was no better. It was a buffet style breakfast and we had to wait for the food to be fetched from the kitchen (the restaurant had been open for an hour when we came down to eat) Our friend, again, did not receive her Glutton free bread. The tomato and brown sauce were kept in a bowl along side the food and not on the table. This, when the bowls were empty were not refilled. One of our party found a slice of bread which was thick with mould.

The second night came and the service was no better. The portions were however a little bigger.

Breakfast never improved throughout the stay.

Our tour manager again laid the law down and eventually on the last night, the service was better. This however had us asking "If they could do it on the last night, why could they not do it on the previous nights?"

I could go on and on but must leave it here. You will be pleased to know that our friend did eventually get her Glutton free meals.

In summarising: All of this could have been avoided if there had been a manager present in the restaurant at meal times. The staff were bringing out from the kitchen individual meals, rather than using a "Dumb Waiter". There were, most of the time, 2 or three waiters standing around chatting, rather than clearing away and serving meals. Only one or two members of the staff showed any interest and commitment.(Namely Martin, who was serving on tables, clearing up and wiping the tables, although, as I understand was employed as a "Third Chef", and a Hungarian girl). If ever these two employees leave, the hotel will come to a standstill.

I can't understand how this hotel maintains its "Best Western Status". Will we be returning again? Never .

.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heavisidesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Good Evening
Thank you for your review, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you would like to discuss your stay with me in detail please contact me by e-mail at gm@crianlarich-hotel.co.uk or by telephone on 01838 300 272

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the 5 days over Christmas 2013.
The staff were excellent and were keen to assist with any enquiries we had.
The food was excellent and second to none, and being a vegetarian, this is not something I can say too often.
The rooms were spacious & clean and the hotel log fires were a welcoming site when coming in from the Cold & wind.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we will certainly be staying there again.
Well Done to all the staff for making our Festive stay a very enjoyable one.
5 stars to all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your kind comments , Myself and the team are delighted you enjoyed Christmas with us. We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
525 reviews
14.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
439 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tyndrum
539 reviews
20.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range: £61 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing