We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stopping point” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A good stopping point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Clean, friendly hotel with good beer and wine, good food, great service and in the perfect place for a stopover on the way to/from Oban. Could do with a few pounds being spent on fixtures but it's nothing drastic. For the location and the hospitality, it's great!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AMLEWIS2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Good Morning
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Joan peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    275
    135
    50
    34
See reviews for
141
427
44
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Came on a six-day coach holiday from Hampshire. The hotel was very welcoming and keys were efficiently distributed.

My room had a large double bed which was very comfortable. It was located at the back of the hotel and was very quiet. (some of the rooms at the front can be a bit noisy from the passing traffic). The bathroom had a super modern shower cubicle with lots of hot water at a good pressure. The towels were large and fluffy.

There was a good choice of food, always served on piping hot plates.

One evening there was a performance of traditional Scottish music performed by a group (lady and gentleman) called Philmari. They use acoustic guitar, fiddle and voice to provide a lovely atmosphere...far removed from the usual over-amplified boom music often in evidence in hotels. It was lovely to hear this Celtic music in the middle of The Highlands.

The hotel is situated in The Trossachs National Park and is in a good location for various energetic outdoor activities (if that is what you like !!) I will certainly be returning next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lk2010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Good Morning
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Joan peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked to stay overnight at this hotel on our way to Killin. Our room was large ,with a comfortable bed and was adequately clean. We met with friends and ate in the restaurant where there was a limited menu. I only enjoyed my starter as I felt that the rest of the food was quite bland and tasteless, while being quite pricey. The waiter brought us a bottle of red wine when we had ordered white, and we are still waiting for the vinegar and tap water that we requested.............. We were glad we had booked a table as there were some people waiting for tables as the room was set to be turned into a dance floor for the ceilidh. On the weekend that we visited it was torrential rain and there were several leaks in the reception area, but more so we had huge rain drops falling on us and our table and crockery at breakfast the next morning. The staff were all friendly and helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for you kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here mid february for 2 nights with a groupon voucher. The hotel is a bit dated and on arrival there was a bucket in the reception area collecting rain water from a leaking roof. Our room wasn't ready and we were invited to relax in the lounge where there was a lovely log burning fire whilst waiting. We decided to order a drink and I must say that £10 for a pint of beer and glass of wine is not what I'd expect to pay in a 3 ☆ hotel!
The receptionist quickly informed us when our room on the first floor was ready and directed us to it. The room was adequate for a short break, the bed was comfy, heater and tv both worked. The bathroom was quite small, with louvre style doors which didn't shut properly. There was no window and the extractor fan didn't work, this meant the mirror was rendered unusable after using the excellent shower due to the steam. However that said ,the room was ok. I cannot fault the food, however the dinner menu was a bit limited, but what we chose was excellent. Breakfast buffet style was lovely, good choices but it wasn't untill the second morning we realised you could request fried / poached egg etc insteasd of the scrambled eggs on offer. All the staff were very friendly and helpful making out wee break away realy enjoyable. We know this beautiful area very well and thoroughly enjoyed returning to old haunts such as Killin and Oban.
Overall we had a lovely stay and would return to use the hotel as a base again!
Sorry!!! I picked 'terrible' for the fitness room by mistake, wher in fact there are no leisure facilities

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for you kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My Wife & I stayed for 2 nights using a Groupon vocher we bought for £78 which included both nights accommodation & a full breakfast each morning.

We decided to catch the train down from Fort William where we had being staying the previous night. The little station is literally 200 yards up the road from the hotel which is ideal if you wish to leave the car at home & enjoy the stunning scenery of the surrounding area.

We checked in to the hotel and was given a room on the first floor. The room was quite small but adequate with tea/coffee making facilities & a flat screen TV. The bathroom was also quite cramped but did included a bath/shower toielt & washbasin. There was a heated towel rail but could not get this to work. As the room had a heater, this wasn't a problem.

We had a meal in the hotel which was again adequate. I took advantage of the Hotel's 'New' pizza oven but the underside of my garlic bread was charred but the pizza not too bad - more practice needed. My wife had soup followed by steak & ale pie where she thought the accompanying vegetables had been reheated. The service by the hotel staff was excellent throughout our meal, even though there was a wedding reception taking place in the hotel.

After a reasonable night sleep we had breakfast in the morning which was a buffet style breakfast which was excellent. There was a good choice of cereals, pastries & hot food to set us up for the day.

We caught the morning train to Oban which took about an hour & a quarter where we visited the Whisky distillery in the town. For £7.50 each you get an hours tour plus two drams of whisky & you get to keep a charming glass as a momento of your visit. You also get a voucher each for £3 off any full size bottle in the shop which is a good deal cheaper than buying it from the local shops before the discount is even applied.

We had diner in the town before returning to the hotel about 7.30 in the evening. The bar areas in the hotel benefit from having wood burning stoves which makes an evening drink that mouch more enjoyable.

Following breakfast the following morning we checked out of the hotel & made our way back to the railway station to catch the morning train back to Glasgow.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piemanutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for you kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed with our two young boys, 5 & 1 as there was a tour staying the same time, we felt less of a priority prior to them, we stayed in a spacious room but on arrival it was cold and smelly and not very clean, I'd like to point out that the high and low dusting could be done a lot more frequently, as I'm pregnant the dust etc affected me quite abit. The staff we're wonderful particularly one girl who I regret not asking for her name but had short hair and glasses on, she took the time to come talk to us and involved our boys and made them chuckle a lot, also Pamela & Wayne on breakfast times couldn't of done enough, Jason on the other hand a very abrupt attitude, heeing and hawing at our boys running around, and touching things as much as he saw we we're telling them off, asking for sauce and cutlery, we had to find him to ask what the soup was and he rushed us to order and my husband doesn't enjoy being referred to as "pal" and when I had told him we joined the tables I got "aye no danger pal" not the kind of dialect I would suspect from staff also would it kill him to smile he looks like he'd rather be elsewhere, he really did make us feel like a hindrance and very uneasy, only on that matter we remain to have mixed decisions on our stay but the hotel itself was beautiful we loved the stuffed animals and the rest of the staff, the location to was lovely so many views and things to look at.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, We use all comments and feedback as a tool to improve the service we offer.
We hope to welcome you again soon

Kind Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
1.8 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
13.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
23.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Property: Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing