We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hello”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

This Hotel was on our route to Perth and a beautiful place to stop for a late breakfast. The food was great but it took us quite a while to find someone to serve us. We walked all the way through the reception area to a tv lounge and through the small bar area to the dining room and back before find in an employee.
The girl who did serve us was very nice but disappeared after bringing g out food and we had to hunt for her again to pay our bills
Beautiful old hotel and would love to return for an overnight stay.
Sandra and Mike
Rhode Island.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank sanmann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Good Afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regard
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Having dined here several times thought I would write a review.
The food is excellent, piping hot and very quick service... the Cullen Skink was the best I have ever tasted and highly recommend it.

For the main course my husband had the Steak & Ale pie... the meat was so tender it melted in your mouth. I had the Chicken stuffed with Chestnut mushrooms with a tarragon lemon sauce.... delicious.. the chicken was so moist and the buttered mash was so soft and creamy.
The waiting staff were very efficient and attentive, however, just a small point, the fixed seating area needs updating as some of it is worn and is not very comfortable to sit on. Glad to see some of the "Taxidermy" has been removed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank am227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Good Afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regard
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Mrs L M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 April 2014

From the start the staff booking were extremely helpful, I had a few changes to make and always were helpful. On arrival they were friendly and happy to help wherever! Rooms were basic, but everything you require! We did the murder mystery and were not disappointed. A fantastic weekend spent there. All staff were lovely! Many thanks for making it a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We were gifted a two night groupon deal. We upgraded to a better room which I think was a good move. Our room was very big. The decor and bathroom are a bit dated. In fact, dated with regards to the bathroom is being kind! But I must say the bathroom has been very well maintained over the decades.
The tv really needs to be bigger - a 17in is not at all suitable for a room of that size. And they really desperately need to expand the DVD menu.
The lounge is bizarrely laid out. They should rearrange the furniture to allow more people to sit and watch tv. When we were there the rugby was on and people were clamouring to watch it.
But the restaurant is superb. The staff are very friendly. And the whole building offers great value for money. Would stay if up that neck of the woods again.
Also, the taxidermy makes for an interesting talking point over dinner :-)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lozzybf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Good Morning
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Joan peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We arrived on a Wednesday for a 2 night stay using a groupon voucher. It didn't really start off very well, a 10 minute wait for a member of staff to appear in reception, not what I would call a friendly welcome.
We were in probably the smallest double room in the hotel, would have been better suited as a single. You are greeted by hideous wall paper above the double bed, the room also contained a desk, stool, chair, TV (wall mounted) & one bedside table. One had to manoeuvre round the bed & the best surprise was the cupboard, which was actually en-suite toilet/bath/sink/shower. In all the hotels we have stayed in, the set-up of having the bathroom in a cupboard was rather amusing.
The bathroom was clean, but as described tiny & cramped. The shower which was a mixer from the bath taps was worse than useless, one wouldn't describe it as a power shower, more a powerless, even with the taps turn full on, the water only came out as a trickle and that after adjusting the nozzle to try & improve the power. One word of caution, the temperature also varies and can be very hot, I daresay it depends on how many other guests are using the hot water at the same time.
Breakfast was also an experience, on both mornings no member of staff was on hand to check to see if you were a guest, show you to a table, ask if you wanted tea or coffee etc, etc. The first morning we sat at a table that was vacant but was covered in crumbs, it was then laid without being cleaned, whilst we were seated. Is this the standard one expects at 3 star dining, I somehow doubt it. The plates that are used for putting the cooked breakfast on were cold on both mornings, staff in the dining area are very scarce, so asking for a fried or poached egg was not worth the wait. Both mornings we had to ask a member of staff for tea. The food itself was edible, my wife wasn't overly fond of cold bacon, but she is maybe very selective.
Would we return, I think one can guess the answer to that question!
A great shame because the location is superb, I pass through Crianlarich just about every month on my travels, but I won't be dropping in.

Room Tip: Hopefully not all double rooms are this size?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mfb4138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Good Morning

Thank you for your comments, I am disappointed that your stay with us was not satisfactory. If you could contact me on 01838 300 272, I would like to discuss your stay in further detail.
Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed for a couple of days mid week. Had a great time staff very friendly especially Wayne unfortunately can't remember the other ladies name but had recently just started working there. Food was excellent dinner and breakfast. Lovely room very spacious. Great central place for walking and visiting other beautiful areas and great scenery from room definatley go back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Good Morning
Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
525 reviews
14.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
439 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tyndrum
539 reviews
20.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range: £61 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing