We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep driving past!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stopped here with friends for some refreshments after a day hillwalking. Had been in about 3 weeks previous and, although quiet, it seemed like a decent place. However on our return visit bar prices seemed to have doubled (!) and when this was queried with bar staff all we got was a shoulder shrugging attitude.

Nevertheless we thought we'd have another round of drinks, after 20 minutes of searching for a member of staff we gave up and walked out in disgust and went to another establishment in the village. We tried shouting over the bar, checked reception, knocking on the kitchen door, shouting into the kitchen and despite the fact we could hear voices in there no-one came to serve us. During the 20 minutes we looked for a staff member 2 other groups of people came in and left as they could not get service either

When we went to the other establishment we met a couple who were staying the in hotel but had left to come to the other place because they couldn't get served at the bar either! Not the way I would run my business!!

We did write to complain and received a £25 voucher redeemable against food or accommodation. Having said that I stil won'tbe rushing back. Not recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EtiveGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to us. I am deeply disappointed that your visit was not as expected. If you were able to contact me on gm@crianlarich-hotel.co.uk to discuss this recent visit it would be appreciated.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
There are newer reviews for Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stopped off for coffee and a snack on the way to Oban as eateries were limited and we was hungry and needed the loo.
We ordered 2 coffee's(very small for the price of £3.90) and asked if they did scones, was told yes and charged £4.60 for two scones. The young girl then came back and said we don't do scones so will shortbread do. Well we had no choice really as we had already paid. So it cost us £4.60 for 4 biscuits which weren't that nice anyway(far too much sugar on them)
For a Best Western the toilets were nothing to write home about either.
Sorry but we was very disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rae21465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have to say that we went as a group of 65 approx and although there were hiccups on the first night with food and timings. On the second night Joan the Manager pulled it out of the bag and we had a fantastic day, night following this. We had first class breakfast and the tables were set for a very special occasion with all the staff working to make this a very memorable night. Thank you so much and I will visit again.

Room Tip: No problem with our rooms so can't judge.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madgefitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that your family enjoyed their stay with us, we certainly enjoyed having you.
I hope to see you all again for the 2015 reunion with maybe a few more family members joining.

Kind Regards
Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently enjoyed a midweek short break at the Best Western Hotel, Crianlarich. We found it an excellent location with access to Scotland in various directions. The room was comfortable and very clean. The evening meals were excellent. Breakfast scrambled egg could have been better. Every member of staff was excellent, polite, friendly and helpful. We'd go again in a minute.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyMowatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Good Afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regard
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I got this as a gift from a friend through Groupon, me and my friend stayed here for two night's bed and breakfast. We arrived Tuesday 15th and we were disappointed with the welcome as the receptionist did not finish greet us until she finished her conversation with the other member of staff, we were standing there for 2 minutes before we were greeted, even then the receptionist did not ask how she could help, she just looked at us and I advised I had a booking. After checking in, we went to the room and it was Ok. We had a pink room which I was happy about as pink is my favourite colour lol. The room did have everything you needed, however power sockets in unusual places, bed was not comfy at all, so we did not have a great sleep, shower was great though. The restaurant was beautiful, could not fault the food at all!! value for money but the alcohol was quite expensive. The food for breakfast was Ok I guess, potato scones were not cooked properly, my friend said that the scrambled eggs were very dry. I wouldn't book this place myself again, however I wouldn't mind staying again if i needed too, I would definitely go back to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaM132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Good Afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regard
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here with friends and enjoyed our stay, nice twin room with comfy beds and good shower. One friend had a room you could hardly turn in so request a decent sized room. The breakfast wasn't great, only warm. The manageress was very helpful, and Scott remembered us from the previous year and spent time chatting to us.There's a pub 5 mins away serving good food and was busy with people from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Good Afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regard
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We took shelter from the weather here and were invited in to the lounge. They lit the stoves and we stayed for lunch. We were allowed to put our wet jackets in the drying room. One waitress had trouble with the credit card machine and nearly charged us £120,000 for our snacks but easily sorted - quite funny really :)
We were offered rooms at a very good rate and had our bags not been waiting for us in Tyndrum we would have accepted.
Thank you.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank adrkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Good Morning
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Joan peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
14.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
23.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
20.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range: £69 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing