We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly, but not quite” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crianlarich Hotel Restaurant

The Crianlarich Hotel Restaurant
Price range: US$22 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel's flagship restaurant can be found in the Highland Lounge. The restaurant has been awarded one Rosette by the UK's AA food guide and has won a number of accolades at the Scottish Hotel Awards in recent years. Our menu showcases high quality, local ingredients and is prepared with imagination and flare. The restaurant provides an informal yet high quality dining experience and is open year round. Non-residents are particularly welcome - please call ahead to be sure of securing a table.
North Wales
Level Contributor
197 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nearly, but not quite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had dinner here while staying in a local B&B, and all taken together the experience was 'ok.' On the plus side the staff were attentive and prompt, and did a decent job of finding us a good table considering we hadn't booked, and also helped get a couple of variations to what was on the menu for us (different veg, sauces removed and the like.)

On the down side the food didn't quite deliver. All a bit overcooked and haphazardly presented, but value wise it was fine for what we had. We left with an impression that it could have been a more memorable occasion, and that we may not have visited on its best day. Checking some of the other reviews suggests this was a fair take on the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyke1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    58
    26
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“staff who go the extra mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The food and the service was excellent, and very very good value. We passed up opportunities to eat elsewhere because the hotel was such a good place to eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Restaurant shorted staffed very busy!! Staff that were on had a thankless task and did ok considering!! Food was very good and more than enough to eat a little over faced if anything!! made up for the "Fawlty Towers" affect!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner on the road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Driving from Mull to Ayrshire in early evening and needed an evening meal, but not at Tyndrum where we were ripped off three days earlier.
48 miles from Oban we stopped at The Best Western at Crianlarich, where we were able to get a table without booking. (mid week)
Restaurant is in a lovely hunting shooting fishing type room with two woodburning stoves. Staff were both friendly and efficient, just as well as the restaurant filled up rapidly.
Steak & ale pie was particularly good. Two courses with excellent coffee was approx £18/ head.
Would I go back ? YES.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was meeting someone for lunch here and as they were already in before us they had a seat, drinks and menus which they had to wait for. To save time I went up and got pad and pen to write the order. There was 3 members of staff so they were not busy. Simple order 3 sandwiches and 3 soups. One tea and one mint tea. Mint tea arrived cloudy so I went to bar and asked for fresh one. They brought me normal tea. So I took that and the cup up to the bar and asked for mint tea. They brought me mint tea but I had to go back to the bar and ask for a cup. One sandwich was meant to be cheese with red onion chutney. They forgot to put on the chutney so I asked for small dish and we would spread it ourselves. Only one side of the bread was buttered and the "garnish" was doritos. Pathetic. For £8.50 for soup and sandwich it was a disgrace. Tea was extra. I don't think I will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foster1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crianlarich Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Crianlarich Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing