We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crianlarich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craigbank Guest House
Ranked #2 of 10 Crianlarich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Collinsville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice guesthouse”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Even though we called last minute, we were able to secure a room, and our hostess was very welcoming a helpful. The guesthouse has had some nice, new refurbishment and is clean and bright . Breakfast is in a lovely conservatory attached to the house, making the morning a pleasure to take in. Our room upstairs was small, but with very clever use of space and we had a comfortable night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
96
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Weather was awful and walking along loch lomond had been tough so were very relieved when we saw Craigbank. Since we'd got a soaking along the way the owner helped us with our wet things and we got the chance to put our feet up in a cosy bedroom before going to the next door pub for a good dinner. Had a great sleep in comfy beds followed by tasty breakfast...I can vouch for the full fry up but my friend said her fruit was delicious so I must try that next visit. Throughout our stay the service was first class and the atmosphere welcoming so just wanted to say 'well done guys, we'll be back'

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rambler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, Cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Our company holds events in Glencoe, Fort William and the Western Isles each month and the village of Crianlarich makes a good stop off en-route or return rest break. This was the first time at this accommodation, the value for money was good, the only let down was at breakfast.

1. Hot drinks and food held over our 7 week old daughters head as there wasn't room for her other than in her car seat in the walkway between two other tables as we were placed in the corner with nowhere safe for her.

2.Not asked what breakfast we'd like, eggs cooked etc just a plate put down in front of us without a word, not good when you don't like mushrooms and the rest of breakfast was swimming in mushroom juice and oil. The room info gives a menu choice for breakfast so we expected to be able to make our own choice as the book suggests.

3. My husbands plate was taken the second he'd finished (he eats quickly) making me feel very uncomfortable as I was still eating, when his side plate was then taken a minute later with the removal of the buffet I asked the woman if I was being given a subtle hint to go, no reply was given so I left without finishing at 9.05am which prompted a smile, enough said. Breakfast sittings until 9am we arrived at 8.45am! Very rude to be made to feel so in the way and rushed and there really is no excuse for clearing a plate when others on the same table are eating it's very bad manners!

The room was lovely, Charlie was a wonderful host and very polite and helpful, the food although not what I would have ordered given the choice was ok, Maybe she was just having a bad day although we arrived for breakfast 15 minutes before the last sitting so we shouldn't have been rushed out, it was lovely so maybe we will give it the benefit of the doubt as other reviewers appear to have stayed when she was being hospitable.

Room Tip: Family room great, no signal for mobile or wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeDistrictWalkerCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galashiels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We received a marvelous reception from Charlie after we'd overextended ourselves on our walk from Rowardennan. Our bags were in our rooms - a godsend. The rooms were brand new, spotless & beautiful with an en-suite shower that was fabulous. Charlie went out of his way to phone a taxi firm for us for the next again day. He explained all the options by train or road to cut down our walk. Breakfast in the conservatory was all that you could ask for with plenty of chats & tips about that day's walk before a warm goodbye & a "haste ye back". I cannot speak too highly of Craigbank & it's host - It really was Hotel standard. GORDON & ROBIN

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milemuncher048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in April 2011 whilst on a hill-walking break.
We had an excellent time and can thoroughly recommend it.
The room was very comfortable, well equiped and welcoming.
Breakfast was delicious and the hosts were very welcoming and friendly.
Ideally situated for hill-walking. There is a drying room which we didn't actually need as the weather was surprisingly very good.
Would definitely stay again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends.

The Simpsons - Nottingham

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We had an overnight stop here and were met by our cheerful and welcoming host. Nothing was too much trouble!

Really comfortable, clean, and warm rooms, ensuite and TV. Excellent drying room and bags brought to the room. Breakfast was great too with plenty of choice and a fresh fruit option for those who wanted it. Overall a really happy experience. Choice of eating places nearby and a local shop.

We had broken the walk and Beinglas Farm and our host had arranged a taxi to take us to and from the Guest House. It all worked perfectly and made for a really relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rug2osa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

found the place by accident on the internet & saw the reviews. Easy to find, great location to do lots of things & close to pubs for your team.

Welcome great & very friendly, room was just right & had everything I needed. Bed was comfy & had a great nights sleep. Good breakfast that set me up for my trip over to Mull.

Already planning my extended stay for when I come up to Scotland next so I can get in some of the West Highland Way

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 10 in Crianlarich
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ewich House
Ewich House
#1 of 10 in Crianlarich
784 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luib Hotel
Luib Hotel
#2 of 4 in Crianlarich
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigbank Guest House

Property: Craigbank Guest House
Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Crianlarich
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigbank Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Craigbank Guest House Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing