We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for us”
other travellers have booked this property
Stob Binnein Cottage with the Munro Ben More in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stob Binnein Cottage with the Munro Ben More in the background
View from the living area across to Loch Dochart.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Stob Binnein Cottage with the Munro Ben More in the background
View from the living area across to Loch Dochart.
Large open plan fitted kitchen and dining area
Master king size double with built in wardrobes, vanity area and ensuite shower room
Downstairs en suite twin bedroom
Master king size double bedroom with Egyptian Cotton bed linen
Double bedroom
Portnellan Estate Boats and Kayaks. Free to use for residents of Stob Binnein
Master bathroom with bath and overhead power shower
View of Loch Dochart Castle on Loch Dochart within the Portnellan estate
Clay pigeon and target shooting avaialble on the Portnellan Estate.
Stob Binnein's very own secret swiming pool in Ben More burn. A short walk from the cottage
Remains of Rob Roy's House which is local to Portnellan
Walking and Hikeing for all abilities available locally.
Canadian canoes and rowing boats available free of charge.
Pony trekking and horse riding available.
Enjoy a days fishing on the estate lochs with free use of the fishing boats.
Mountain bike hire with many cycle routes available locally.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deborah C
1 review
“Perfect for us”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Easy to find, most friendly and helpful staff. What a view, right on the loch, sheep and horses grazing out our door. Sunset views over the mountain. We had access to boats, the gym and laundry. There were six motorcyclist with plenty of parking and the large kitchen/dining and family room made a great place for us to rehash the days adventures. We are all already planning our return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The owners are very helpful and friendly, and our cottage Stob Binnen was clean, roomy, and just right for the 8 members of our extended family. You should know, however, that the photo is somewhat misleading, for the building is divided into two living areas, and other guests stayed in the adjoining part of the building. Boating and hiking are the activities we enjoyed the most, and the ruined castle on the island on the burn across the pasture was a memorable place to visit. (Take a canoe or kyack though, for the row boat can't handle the shallow water.) The scenery is breathtaking, and the location is perfect for taking day-trips throughout the Highlands.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian F
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

6 of us stayed here for one week in mid September and it is a lovely place. Cameron was a very helpful host who offered to go for a run with my sister and explore the area, and for whom nothing was too much trouble. We also used the kayaking facilities on the local loch. The 4 rooms are fine and the bathrooms ok as well. Crianlarich is a great central location to use as a base for Mid Scotland.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pf12015
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best of Scottish”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We found Portnellan an excellent place from which to explore the West Scottish Highlands. Our lodge, StobBiennan, was well-furnished and well-equipped, with four double bedrooms, although the night storage heaters took a bit of getting used to. Magnificent views from 3 bedrooms and the lounge across open scenery. No buildings in sight from them. Our host Cameron Taylor did every possible to make our stay enjoyable and memorable, often going that ‘extra mile’ to ensure our complete satisfaction. Well worth the stay, a great place to visit and a real opportunity to sample Scottish hospitality at its best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The Scottish welcome and the scenic landscape
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Climberbo...
Beith, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked the property on the back of a trip advisor recommendation and we are so glad we did. We were greeted by Cameron who runs the property and he was extremely welcoming and told us all about the free bikes, canoes and other items on the site and we got the impression nothing would be too much to ask, we were right. The property itself was bright, modern and spacious, there were four of us with a room each which were well appointed. The patio window looked out onto the loch and took the sun all day, the rear view was to Ben More, still snow capped and looking fantastic. For two fishermen and two climbers/mountain bikers this was the perfect spot. I would highly recommend this property and we are already plotting our return later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities were great, lovely spacious house with everything you need and great views but the service we got from Cameron was fantastic, nothing was too much of a problem. We will be back.
Liked least: There was nothing not to like, the weather in Scotland is unpredictable so we put a hood up, sorted.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelKazir...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Service. Excellent Facilities. Gorgeous Scenery.”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The landlord, a one Mr. Taylor, was a thoroughly accommodating host, providing excellent accommodation as well as local activities to do - not that there was any need with the view one could get from the lounge.

Kayaking, biking, canoeing, walking, pub trips, exciting drives, bird watching, Loch Lomond Cruises etc. are all available activities that are well within anybody's budget.

The only drawback would be the fact that phone reception isn't very good in this particular part of Scotland, so Portnellan could do nothing about that.

That being said, one'd probably appreciate the calm from the buzzing, vibrating and other notifying sounds that so command our lives nowadays.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easter holiday break”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at this cottage over Easter weekend with the family and had a great time. The cottage was well equipped and well laid out for our needs. There was 9 of us ranging from an 8month old baby to a 76 year old and we all had a lovely time. The complex has plenty to offer and the owner Mr Taylor went out of his way to accommodate our needs. We would certainly recommend this to friends and we will definitely be back for another visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing