We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and welcoming”

Crianlarich Station Tearoom
Price range: US$2 - US$11
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Description: Crianlarich Station Tearoom is a friendly cafe located at Crianlarich Train Station, on the West Highland Way.We cater for walkers, train passangers, road traffic and anyone else that wishes to come and visit us!We also do stamps for the West Highland Way passport, so stop in for a nice hot drink and we will stamp your passport (or you can get it stamped for free, of course!)
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Called in here to wait for the arrival of the Lord of the Isles steam on its way to Fort William. The tearoom which normally closes at 4pm was still open awaiting the trains arrival, so we decided to have coffee and cake while we waited. The lass behind the counter was very pleasant and welcomed us in. The coffee was as we like it warm and strong, and I have to recommend the carrot cake, and the millionaire,s shortbread both are to die for. The tearoom itself was lovely and bright, very clean, cosy and warm. There were lovely pictures of old steam trains on one side and beautiful views of the surrounding mountains on the other. The toilets were further along the station platform, but these too were lovely and clean, in fact the whole station was spotless and a credit to those who operate it., and the tearoom. We would definitely call in again should we be in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twoofusbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rubbish - detoured because of the signs - it was shut.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

If you put up signs advertising your business then please make it clear that you are shut. Only the sign in the station revealed you were shut. All the others lured in the innocent unsuspecting public.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank adrkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, disappointing food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were looking forward to lunch here after a day's walking, but the menu was limited, the toasties unexciting and the soup pretty thin and watery. This coupled with the toilets being out of order necessitating a ten minute walk to the public toilets in the centre of Crianlarich, it was a memorable lunch stop, but not for the right reasons unfortunately!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Depressing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I just think that a place that calls itself a tea room ought to serve tea, not a mug of hot water with a tea bag lying alongside it. The smell of over-used cooking fat hit us as soon as we opened the door and clung to us for the rest of the day. The only positive things I can say are that the railway memorabilia was interesting, and the milk wasn't UHT.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLVERHAMPTON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“GOING BACK A LONG WAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Tell you what its been 30 years there or there abouts ,wonder if the girl from the boathouse is still around , nothing beat a cup of tea while listening to terry wogan on the radio first thjing of a morning while going up and down west highland line on the trains...............happy days

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIKE-JONES66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crianlarich Station Tearoom also viewed

Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Inverarnan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Crianlarich Station Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing