We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip Top”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tip Top”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here after hard day on the West Highland way.. Arrived soaked and eaten alive by the midges... Was given a warm welcome, and a much appreciated coffee whilst my lodge was sorted.
Lodge was smaller than I expected, but certainly big enough for my needs.. Nice powerful shower, if only a little on the small side.
The attached bar was great, everyone was really friendly, and Billy Connolly impersonator kept us entertained strumming his guitar.
Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clifford W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    85
    32
    12
    39
See reviews for
51
112
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

After an incredible long walk of 30 miles I arrived at the bar where I was welcomed by the most kind woman.
After a cold drink she showed me the lodge which I had booked.
The lodge was small but very complete.
The shower was very small but enough to get clean.
After I had changed I went for dinner in the restaurant.
I chose soup, chicken wih haggis an for dessert strawberries.
All food was okay. and the service was very good.
The next day I took breakfast. This was ok.
Will come back because of the service.

Room Tip: If you do not need a lot of space: go for these lodges!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed here with two other guys when motorbiking through Scotland. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The accommodation was in a wood cabin, which wasn't massive, but was large enough to accommodate three bikers in comfort. There was plenty of space to park the bikes right outside the cabin. The evening meal was good, honest pub food. The place was very busy that evening, but the staff went out of their way to ensure that we were accommodated in the restaurant. There were some very Scottish touches in the bar area, including kilted bar stools! Breakfast was Full Scottish and served promptly with a smile. The only reason it gets 4 not 5 stars is that the accommodation is in need of some refurbishment - catches that don't close, worn floor coverings, that sort of thing. However, all the important stuff worked - heaters, shower, TV, etc. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xraydiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here with two others when walking the West Highland Way, at the end of a long 20 miles plus what appeared to be a long walk down the hill from the route to Crianlarich.
The staff were very welcoming and served excellent food and drink.
Accommodation was in a cosy cabin, which while not huge was large enough to sort out a change of clothes and provide a refreshing shower.
Breakfast was ideal and packed lunch did the job for the next day's walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Only stopped here by chance due to disappointing experience at a hotel up the road.(sat at a table for 15 minutes, only to ignored) but im glad of that. This place was the opposite. A warm welcome as you come through the door, made to feel comfortable and that nothing was too much trouble.
The food was served in a timely fashion and was very nicely presented. The portion size was maybe on only thing I could fault....it was way too big..lol..put on a few pounds after that meal.

I can recommend the steak and ale pie. It was packed with steak and the gravy was gorgeous.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin_black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Popped in here for lunch and found it very cosy and warm (had a real fire) and the staff were extremely friendly & welcoming. The walls were covered in written comments by travellers on the West Highland Way, and though not to everyone's taste & found it novel and interesting to read what visitors thought of Scotland.
The pool table area was attractive with paintings of Scottish castles, etc.
A very Scottish-themed pub, which left me disappointed when I ordered Soup of the Day... to be given tomato soup! A broth, lentil or leek & potato soup would be more in line with the theme?
I'd definitely return here though as it was very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilybhoy
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here along with my two friends on day 2 of our walk on the west highland way. We arrived at around 7.30 pm and were met by staff who appeared concerned for our safety as we had been walking in the dark. The staff could not have been any friendlier and welcoming. Our bags had already been delivered to our rooms, which doesnt sound like a big deal, howevere after a long day of walking it is. Our room was like a cabin and had 3 single beds. There was plenty of room and the room was very well heated, en suite with sky tv. Our room was a 30 sec walk to the main building where we had our dinner. A lovely meal was had. I can only apologise to the staff as I was so exhausted mentally and physically that I could not engage in much chat. All our needs were met, and yes we did manage to finish the west highland way walk...just! I wood definitely recommend a stay here. Thank you

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank neilybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
1.8 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
15.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
469 reviews
15.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
411 reviews
20.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
15.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben More Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben More Lodge Hotel

Property: Ben More Lodge Hotel
Address: Stirling Road, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ben More Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben More Hotel Crianlarich
Ben More Lodge Hotel Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing