We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge Portnellan”
Review of Portnellan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portnellan
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lodge Portnellan”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed at the above lodge last weekend has a great time even although weather was very poor. Had a great touch by experiencing the piper Duncan on satuday night was amazing touch. Would really go back and stay there, i am planning another trip there.


Trish

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    23
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
87
59
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in Ptarmigan lodge in September 2011 for a long weekend and although it was a comfortable stay I don't feel it was worthy of a 4* rating. Very dated decor and furniture, very uncomfortable sofa and cramped kitchen and rooms, not ideal. I had previously stayed in the also 4* rated lodges at the Cameron House resort at Loch Lomond and they are worlds apart.

After reading on the website about the range of activities...kayaking, clay pigeon shooting...etc... I was looking forward to the stay. We were not made aware on how to go about booking or getting involved in any of these when we arrived which I was very disappointed about however as it rained non-stop for the whole 3 days we where there it was not a massive issue.

Also it states on the website that the lodges have Sky TV, this is not the case, they use a Sky box to obtain digital TV signal which then gives you access to freeview channels, there was no access to any Sky channels whatsoever in the lodge we stayed in which is abit of a con on the website.

The last point i wish to make is that I have never been on any sort of holiday where I had to be conscious about how much electricity I was using and making sure I was turning things off after myself, contantly worrying how much we were using and also cleaning up after myself...the lodge was in no way messy but i think expecting guests that have paid to stay there to also clean up after themselves and pay the electricity bills is abit too much.

Like I said...comfortable stay but won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MuzzyOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portnellan442, Owner at Portnellan, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback regards your stay in Ptarmigan Lodge, one of our 4 * properties. I take all feedback very seriously.

Portnellan operates a continual refurbishment programme on all our properties taking into consideration the professional advice given from VISTSCOTLAND’s quality assurance advisors and our experience of being in the Tourism accommodation sector for over 30 years.

Over the last 36 months Ptarmigan has had the following undertaken: new living area carpet, retiled kitchen floor, complete interior walls redecoration, new Sony 32” LCD TV, WIFi installation, new oven and hob, solid pine coffee table, respatex bathroom wall panelling and bathroom suite. The exterior walls and window frames have also been painted throughout the Summer months of this year. It is one of our most popular 4 * lodges.

I am somewhat concerned that you have compared one of our 4* lodges to a stay in a 5* time share at Cameron House, it is an unfair comparison and I would welcome you back to try our 5* properties should you choose to return. I would be more than willing to offer you a 15% discount, subject to availability.

Upon arrival you would have been personally welcomed and given a map to show the lodge location. On the rear of the map is a description of important things to know while occupying a lodge and staying at Portnellan including the following paragraph.

Activity equipment: Bicycles, canoes, kayaks, lifejackets, paddles, oars and fishing gear is stored in the garage beside the visitors’ centre. Just help yourself and return equipment when finished. If you require any assistance, just ask. Please report any damage or repairs required to reception

There is also a blue information folder that rests on the coffee table that reiterates this information and much much more including detailed drives, local information, walking suggestions, DVD list and much much more. With these 2 forms of information provided for you along with a manned reception and visitors centre I can not see how you were not able to use the boats, Canadian canoes, fishings and any other facility we provide.

Regards electricity consumption. Your paragraph states,

“I have never been on any sort of holiday where I had to be conscious about how much electricity I was using and making sure I was turning things off myself”

Our intention is not to make you feel like you are watching the pennies, and with the constantly fluctuating costs of electricity it is common practice in self catering properties to allow the guest to pay for their electricity costs separately rather than charge an all-inclusive price for a holiday which may not be reflective of current market pricing.

SKY television is available in Ptarmigan but only on the freeview channels. This provides the terrestrial channels along with a number of SKY channels. What I think you are suggesting is that there were no sport channels, movie channels etc etc. We offer the full SKY TV package in our 5 star lodges and some of our 4 star properties. However, we do mention in the literature on the Portnellan website that if you wish to bring with you your SKY box with card you can plug this into the lodge television and receive the SKY package you subscribe to.

Finally, the weather...in the words of the big man himself, Mr Billy Connolly.

"There is no such thing as bad weather just inappropriately dressed"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Just had an enjoyable stay at Portnellan with friends. We stayed in the whooper lodge which is well situated with a south facing veranda. The lodge was clean and tidy on arrival and although compact very well designed. The kitchen was well stocked with every thing you could possibly need plus the added bonus of a dishwasher. The bedrooms were small but adequately furnished with good storage including wardrobe and drawers. A hair dryer is provided along with decent mirrors for dressing. The beds were comfortable with good pillows and duvet.

On arrival Cameron made us feel most welcome and took the time to come back later in the evening to check that everything was OK and to our satisfaction.

As keen walkers Cameron gave us a list of local walks and provided us with a supply of maps and books. There are a good selection of games, books and DVDs for you to borrow plus the free use of bikes, water activity gear, boats and kayaks for sailing on the loch. We took advantage of the rowing boat to visit the island and castle in the middle of loch Dochart.

We enjoyed our stay at Portnellan and the surrounding scenery and will definitely be back.
We highly recommend the lodges and facilities at Portnellan

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annettmackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

If you are looking for a break in a highland lodge, don't bother looking further than Portnellan. Four of us stayed 3 nights and were so impressed with everything. Accommodation is brilliant, clean, modern, well-equipped and comfortable. All boats, canoes, kayaks and fishing gear are free to use and there is plenty of walking info in the lodges. Scenery speaks for itself and all the lodges are surrounded by it - mountains and streams, fir trees and birds. What makes Portnellan shine is the fantastic management and staff. Cameron and his team are just brilliant. Nothing appears to be too much trouble - including helping us out when we had a problem with our car. We will be back and can't recommend the place highly enough. Honestly, I don't have shares in this place but believe that good service deserves to be rewarded. Tricia McBride

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaMcBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed in Heron Lodge which was lovely, cosy and well equiped. It has a balcony that looks out over beautiful woodland and felt very secluded - excellent for bird lovers. We recommend the food/wine parcels - no more stressing about where the local shop was on arrival, all the shopping was on the kitchen side (or in the fridge/freezer) awaiting us!! Very helpful and friendly atmosphere, everything was explained on arrival. The location of Portnellan is brilliant for Loch Lomond, Glencoe, Fort William and Oban - don't forget to do the Seafari and the Hogwarts Express (Jacobite). We had a lovely time. Many thanks to Cameron and all at Portnellan.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

From the first contact with Cameron we were impressed with this place, price wise it was very competitive and the location, quality of the cabins etc second to none. They were well supplied, very clean and in addition there were free DVD's, games and various facilities available to us on-site. Food in the local area was good, especially at the Luib Hotel a mile or two away towards Killan.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianhodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2011

From the moment you arrive your welcomed to Portnellan like a friend! Cameron was great! Always there if you needed anything and very helpful when you did! Lovely to have a personal visit to our lodge on our first night! Our lodge Buzzard was gorgeous, spacious, homely, comfortable with a view no one could forget! This is a must for any family to enjoy a break and for couples this is an escape to our own Scottish paradise!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss-C-J0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
1.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
250 reviews
17.1 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
14.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 10 in Crianlarich
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portnellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portnellan

Property: Portnellan
Address: Portnellan Glen Dochart, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Portnellan 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portnellan. Where memories are made. This years finalist for the Visitscotland's Thistle Award in the category "Best Self Catering in Scotland" for our region. Portnellan has a 'Certificate of Excellence' from Tripadvisor for the fifth year running with over 190 reviews from guests. A tasteful collection of 4 and 5 star self catering holiday properties owned and run by the Taylor family for over 35 years. Located just outside the picturesque village of Crianlarich within the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. A great central location for touring and visiting many of Scotland's attractions and adventure. All properties are positioned thoughtfully on a small private estate with sensational views of loch, glen and mountains. There are many activities onsite to enjoy including free use of rowing boats, Canadian canoes, kayaks and estate loch and river fishing. In addition there is an on site visitors centre with a small essentials shop, fresh organic meat (perfect for BBQing or home cooking), local information, board games and DVDs. Mountain bikes, clay pigeon shooting, WiFi, SKY TV package and BBQ hire are also available. All properties are tastefully appointed to 4 and 5 star standard varying in size from 1 to 5 bedroom with stunning views across the loch, mountain and glen. Other features include Egyptian Cotton bed linen and king size beds with pocket sprung mattresses. Some properties even have sauna and spa bath. There are even fresh eggs available from our hand reared chickens (when laying). This beautiful accommodation is available for short breaks, weeks or longer all year round. A family business for over 30 years proud of their Highland hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Portnellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portnellan Hotel Crianlarich
Portnellan Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing