We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect way to see in the bells!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portnellan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portnellan
Certificate of Excellence
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect way to see in the bells!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I drove my girlfirend up from Yorkshire to the picturesque Glen Dochart where we enjoyed the best accommodation that the Highlands can offer. Waking up with stunning views from our balcony over the Glen was the perfect start to the mornings. We decided to make it a romantic holiday but if we had wanted to be more active then there was lots on offer from bikes to canoeing, from fishing to walking. Cameron and Elaine were always on hand to offer advise - they were brilliant hosts and are one of the reasons we will definitly be returning. Hogamanay itself was spent on the banks of Loch Dochart with the other lodge guests, a whisky in hand and a large bonfire to keep us warm. The fireworks and bagpiper made it a truly Scottish experience. New Years started with a the annual 'loony dook' - a charity led jump into the loch to clear away any hangover (a whisky before hand is maybe advisable!!). This was followed by a New Years Day ceilidh in nearby Killen where my girlfriend and I were introduced to proper Scottish Highland dancing by the local community. Thanks again to Cameron and Elaine and of course 'wee' baby Taylor!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoguntoranaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portnellan442, Owner at Portnellan, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Glad you both had a great time at your wee highland hideaway. As you have said, Hogmanay was a great success and ticked the boxes for a traditional celebration. Whisky, dancing, bonfire, fireworks, piper, loony dook, good cheer and fun, fun, fun all the way into the new year Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Cameron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    22
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
85
59
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at Portnellan in April, and had a really special few days exploring the area both Portnellan and the lake as well as the surrounding villages and towns. The cottage was warm and very comfortable in every way, even with snow outside and the views are superb. We loved borrowing the bikes and the canoe to the ruined castle in the lake was a huge highlight for our 3 kids. When we next come up to Scotland we would be delighted to come back to Portnellan. Cameron's warmth and passion for Portnellan shines through in all the details, as well as his welcome. We couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3088Cotswolders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

13 friends and myself shared three 4 star lodges over 5 days over the new year, and we had such a great time.
Cameron, the host is a very nice guy. He's thought of everything.
On Hogmanay he even organised a bonfire, fireworks and a little dance in a near-by field for all the residents to attend.
I will return there :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluKoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed over new year and the hospitality of the area was lovely, we got invited to several event which were lovely! The lodges were really nice with comfy beds and a nice kitchen. Cameron, the owner, was really friendly and helpful! I even lost my phone at one of the events, but he managed to find it and send it to me after we left the lodges!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We accidentally found ourselves at Portnellan after our original plans fell through and Cameron accommodated us at an hour notice. We stayed in Kestrel which was lovely and cosy, with dramatic views of Ben More.

Cameron is so helpful and the whole site is stunning. We used this as a base for Loch Lomond and Inverary. Our two tots and dog LOVED it - so much so that our two year old wants to return now!

We will definitely be back - unspoilt piece of the country and so much to see!

Room Tip: All are fab - some more modern than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight in The Osprey Lodge as a group of 4 including our dog. Will definitely return next year and take in some great fishing and hill walking offered at this picture perfect sight. Cameron, the owner was on hand to help with any querie we had. The best thing about the place for us was the space between Lodges, it is not crowded. Peace and tranquility assured.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank joeandiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had a fabulous weekend at a 4* 3 bedroom lodge with our 13 year old daughter and her 2 friends. Our friends stayed in a nearby 1 bedroom lodge. The girls had a great time on the Canadian canoes on the nearby lake, cycling the bikes and playing the multitude of board games all provided for free by our host Cameron. We adults had a lovely relaxing weekend walking our dog amongst the spectacular surrounding countryside including knowing that the girls were having a great time. The lodges are spotless and really well equipped with fantastic views of the surrounding forests and hills. They are ideal whether you want a relaxing or busy holiday! We slept like logs at night – not sure if it was down to the busy days, quiet surroundings or comfortable beds? The girls still rave about their fantastic weekend which was TV, computer game and shop free – we didn’t have time to fit any of that in!!!We also had a couple of lovely meals in the local Crianlarich hotel and bought some fine wines from the Portnellan shop. We would recommend the lodges to anyone and will definitely be back and stay longer the next time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
1.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
20.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
14.1 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portnellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portnellan

Property: Portnellan
Address: Portnellan Glen Dochart, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Portnellan 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portnellan. Where memories are made. This years finalist for the Visitscotland's Thistle Award in the category "Best Self Catering in Scotland" for our region. Portnellan has a 'Certificate of Excellence' from Tripadvisor for the fifth year running with over 190 reviews from guests. A tasteful collection of 4 and 5 star self catering holiday properties owned and run by the Taylor family for over 35 years. Located just outside the picturesque village of Crianlarich within the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. A great central location for touring and visiting many of Scotland's attractions and adventure. All properties are positioned thoughtfully on a small private estate with sensational views of loch, glen and mountains. There are many activities onsite to enjoy including free use of rowing boats, Canadian canoes, kayaks and estate loch and river fishing. In addition there is an on site visitors centre with a small essentials shop, fresh organic meat (perfect for BBQing or home cooking), local information, board games and DVDs. Mountain bikes, clay pigeon shooting, WiFi, SKY TV package and BBQ hire are also available. All properties are tastefully appointed to 4 and 5 star standard varying in size from 1 to 5 bedroom with stunning views across the loch, mountain and glen. Other features include Egyptian Cotton bed linen and king size beds with pocket sprung mattresses. Some properties even have sauna and spa bath. There are even fresh eggs available from our hand reared chickens (when laying). This beautiful accommodation is available for short breaks, weeks or longer all year round. A family business for over 30 years proud of their Highland hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Portnellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portnellan Hotel Crianlarich
Portnellan Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing