We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portnellan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Monachyle Mhor(Balquhidder)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Ardlui Hotel(Ardlui)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inversnaid Hotel(Inversnaid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
186
23
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
23
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesboard gamesruined castleself cateringenjoy the scenerywhopperloch lomondwelcome packelectric showerlocal areapeace and quietlong weekendbeautiful locationsurrounding areareception areawarm welcomegreat hospitality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

First time at Portnellan Lodges and certainly not the last.

We stayed in Buzzard Lodge, which is a lodge with a great entertainment area.
It has a well equiped kitchen with washing machine/dryer, dishwasher with the necessary tablets, a flat screen, a wi -sports for the kids, a decking will be installed the coming week we were told.
Great surroundings, a loch and a river to fish and ben's to climb, right from the lodge. Cameron is a great host and he does everything to give you your perfect holiday.

Cycling (mountain-bike rentals at Portnellan and Killin), walking (a lot of short walks available), everything can be done from the estate.
We will certainly be back for another time.

Room Tip: Every lodge has it's own advantages, browse on their website and have a look at the 360 degree views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Scotland is amazing and when you visit places so well managed like Portnellan Scotland becomes more attractive. I spent a beautiful holiday in Osprey lodge, it had become a home for me. I was stressed out, but I was born again during that week!! Thanks to Mr Taylor, I really appreciated his kindness and helpfulness!!
I surely will come back soon to Portnellan!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vittoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Myself and 7 freinds stayed in 2 lodges here over Aug bank holiday weekend. Me and a friend were doing great swim in loch lomond on Saturday and when I mentioned this to Cameron during booking he offered to take us for a swim in the on site loch on the Friday when we arrived.

He really went out of his way to make us feel welcome, in addition to taking us out on the boat for a swim he was great in advising on local facilities and places to eat etc. The facilities on site were also really excellent and the laid back/help yourself approach made the weekend and the place feel like home from home. We took some canoes and fishing gear out on the loch on the sunday and it's a really great to have this available with no extra charge - fantastic way to spend an afternoon.

Additionally the lodges were great, spotlessly clean and well equipt with great views.

All in all, a great weekend and I couln't recommend this place highly enough. We'll definiately be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

For the third time we have chosen to stay at Portnellan Lodges and yet again we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the warm welcome from Cameron and Elaine. The lodges are extremely confortable and Cameron seems to have thought of everything when it comes to setting up the lodges. The location is almost idilic especially if you want to be able to get away from it all and totally unwind whilst still being close enough to tourist attractions when you want to enjoy yourself. Have now stayed in Merlin, Raven and Kingfisher if you want the views Raven and Kingfisher are hard to beat especially at sunset.

Room Tip: For two people Kingfisher is the one to stay in and don't forget to visit the Famous Grouse experience in Crieff.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger_08_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We visited Portnellan for 4 days during mid August and I have to say.....Amazing! Everything was 'just right', from the welcome, to the extremely well equipped lodge. We were very pleased to find knives that were sharp, plenty of pots/pans and many other useful cooking utensils. For me, these are the small details that if ignored, can lead to significant disappointment. We had a couple of enjoyable day trips (Oban & Stirling), but each time, it was great to get back to 'relaxation central'. The views are absolutely stunning, but do need to be experienced first hand.....The well stocked Reception area was also a pleasant surprise, with games, dvds, phone chargers all available fee of charge and Camerons knowledge of the surrounding area and 'things to do' was excellent. It looks like our daughters ice skating will bring us to Scotland again next year, so hopefully, a return visit will be on the cards.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews