We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Drymen Cottage Alqhuar”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Dining Kitchen
Our actual location
View over the Campsie Fells from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ipiper
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Drymen Cottage Alqhuar”
Reviewed 29 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Excellent wee cottage. Caroline is a great host who made sure we arrived, had all we required, but gave us space otherwise.

The cottage is clean and with a large modern kitchen/dining space. It’s location is rural with good views of local farmland and easy walking access to parts of the John Muir way and also to Drymen itself.

We had a great short break and would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Recommended retreat for couple, small family or party”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Take care on rough single track approach road esp if arriving in the dark.
Cottage is easy to find, on roadside integral with farm. Turn around before or after to park in bay outside (2 cars max)
The cottage is a conversion from a stables, bothy and garage
Outside appearance, and garden are disappointing - shabby, neglected and unappealing. Best to use wellies when outside unless bone dry. SCORE 1/5

Enter direct into kitchen which is spacious and modern but maybe a little stark. heavy drapes can be drawn over the entrance wall to aid privacy and seclusion.
informative OS maps on the wall are useful but should be laminated. lacking in essential utensils for home cooking and freezer compartment is too small (there is room for a small chest freezer. SCORE 3/5

Short interconnecting passage between kitchen and lounge has low head clearance and anyone over 6' will be ducking. there is also a requirement for a drape to separate these two rooms.the lounge maintains the character of the original bothy and is a lovely comforting space once the woodburner is lit making it very cosy. the television is too small and should be a 32"screen whilst the sofa bed is comfortable and easy to setup and put away. SCORE 4/5

The small shower room and toilet off the lounge is modern and clean but there is little headroom below the shower head for taller folks SCORE4/5

the bedroom is a simple plain space and gave a good nights sleep. however the bedframe has some evil spikes which need watching (esp if wine has been drunk) and one wall has some ugly wallpaper as if decorating has been unfinished SCORE 3/5

Connectivity,an increasingly important consideration, was average for both wi-fi and mobile but was able to run an xbox and music from youtube (through bluetooth speaker) with occasional interruption in streaming during the evening SCORE 3/5
large segment timer controlled panel heaters in all rooms provide great flexible heating 5/5
there are numerous power points throughout which is essential for gadgets and devices 5/5

Carolyn was friendly and attentive
Overall we enjoyed our short break which provided very good value for money

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2018
Hi Graeme thank you for your review.

We are in a rural location so if you aren’t used to driving on country roads you might describe our road as rough!

I’m sorry that you found the outside of the cottage disappointing. The garden is planted with fruit bushes, creeping vines and climbing roses as well as clematis and climbing hydrangea. The border is carefully planted with a mixture of spring bulbs and perennials which flower throughout the summer. You visited in February when nothing was in bloom.

The kitchen is well equipped for a holiday let and has a good selection of cooking equipment, crockery, glassware and cutlery.

As you know we live next door so if there was anything you needed you could have just asked. We found you to be polite and courteous during your stay and you left the cottage reasonably tidy.

Best wishes
Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolGrae...
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful stay in the cosiest wee cottage near loch lomond!”
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

we booked short notice for a short break near loch lomond and found this little cottage. we had a wonderful stay, close to the loch and lots of beautiful walks, we went into balmaha and it was breathtaking! the owner was very friendly and helpful and even checked we had everything we needed on our second day because there was very heavy snowfall! the log fire was amazing and we really enjoyed our cosy cottage break!! our toddler enjoyed visiting the horses and hens in the barn next to us too ( the day we were snowed in! very easy to find following the owners simple instructions and we would definately stay again! plus bonus of being able to take the dog and cot and high chair provided for our toddler. we've recommended to all our family and friends! thanks again Carolyn!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2018
Thank you Carol for such a lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you and your family to stay and I hope to see you again in the future xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzi M
1 review
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

From the moment we checked in we were in love with the cottage! It's in a lovely quiet location. The kitchen is beautiful, and very large. The living room is lovely and cosy with the wood burner, and the comfiest chair and sofa. The bedroom is decorated beautifully, with a lovely soft bed! There is nothing I could fault about our stay, it was perfect! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thank you Suzanne! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magali L
1 review
“Perfect appartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

we spent a few days in this cottage on april. Everything was perfect. The cottage is clean and well equipped with everything needed even a washing machine. A fire was lighten on the fireplace when we arrived. The owner of the cottage is very friendly and very compliant. And above all the location is perfect : in the countryside, near a farm, it is very quiet and there is a lot of walking to do and things to see in the surroundings. Especially, it is well located to discover Loch Lomond and the Trossachs. We had a lot of fun there and recommend this place for all people who want quiet place in beautiful landscape to spend a few days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thank you Magali, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to welcome you back in the future. Carolyn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeightonA...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, lots of wildlife and great location”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had an extended stay in this holiday cottage and really enjoyed our time. The location is fantastic if you want to branch out and explore Loch Lommond and the surrounding area. Immediately around the house there are some great walks and the view is very beautiful and we saw otters, pine martins, birds of prey and lots of other cool animals. A short walk up the road towards Drymen is a ridge and you can look out and see a fantastic view of the mountains. The house was very well presented and there was a parking area just outside for our car. The garden was fenced in which made it great for our dog and we could leave him sniff around outside with no worries. The house consisted of kitchen/diner, lounge and, bedroom, bathroom and outhouse. The lounge is great and has a wood-burner which we used several times and made this place feel nice and snug. We met the owner and she was very friendly and helpful and gave us lots of information on the surrounding area - any questions we had were answered. The house itself was very clean and certainly well looked after. If you have kids (like us) this is a cool place to bring them as there are plenty of animals and our young one loved watching the horses. It's very quiet at night and if you love to get off the beaten track this location is certainly a gem and still close enough to everything you need. There's a shop and a few pubs in the village (Drymen) just down the road (5 minutes drive) or 30 minute walk. There is a cycleway a short distance from the house that can take you to most places in Scotland - unfortunately we didn't bring our bikes.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing