We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Winnock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winnock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 November 2012

A lovely hotel. Nice rooms, lovely staff, food was great and reasonably price. The only downside for us was the banging of doors. The Roos around us were occupied by a family who has an ill child through the night but in going between their three rooms in the middle of the night every time they let the door shut it banged and woke us. Clearly the doors shut so strongly for fire regulation standards but it was very noisy.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tuckumbo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

693 - 699 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

Super location at the bottom of Loch Lomond. Set on village green alongside other pubs made for good evening entertainment. Looks like an old coaching inn from the front but has extensive buildings on the back. Room 92 clean, well presented and well equipped. Restaurant simply superb with atmosphere and great food. Staff could have been sharper (wrong wine, lost wine cupboard keys, meals to wrong tables) and more attentive but this is just an observation and not really a complaint because they were so pleasant and eager to please when we managed to catch their eye. Great breakfast with lots of choice. Free wifi accessible only in reception area. Bar very lively and comfortable with entertainment on our Saturday night stay. Only real criticism is noise from slamming bedroom doors that woke us throughout the night - I think this could be fixed easily with slow shutting mechanisms?. Despite this, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Naissuag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We were a team of 13 sales staff who work within the travel industry and I have to say what a superb stay, great rooms, service & staff. The food was absolutely first class. The Winnock signature pie is highly recommended!!!! Fantastic Scottish entertainment. A really traditional stay at the Winnock, within great driving access to all the attractions Scotland is so well known for.

Room Tip: All the rooms my party stayed in were of a good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

The room was clean and well presented. We enjoyed our five day stay, staff are always helpful and friendly. The food was excellent - beef was the best ever. This is the second time we have stayed in the Winnock. The last time was in winter with snow - cold days out and returning to a lovely log fire in the bar; this time we enjoyed the beautiful reds and golds of autumn reflected in Loch Katrine on a fantastic trip on the SS Rob Roy. We are looking forward to our next visit, lovely village, warm and friendly hotel

Room Tip: we have always stayed in the same area of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loobyloobyloo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Just had a brilliant weekend at this hotel. Although the hotel is a little tired, it is warm & welcoming. The staff could not had done enough for us. The food was excellent. A wonderful olde world hotel. Would book again without hesitation

Room Tip: Rooms out the back are reaaly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkfizz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

A very busy hotel with excellant entertainment and tasty food.The staff were friendly and helpful.It was a bit noisy over the weekend. The room we had was very small but the bathroom was much more roomy. We were in the old part of the hotel but there are bigger rooms in the new extension.

Room Tip: Ask for a good sized room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhiannon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We enjoyed a short break in this lovely hotel. I was very impressed with the quality of the food and the wide range of choices available.
Accommodation was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I would certainly return for another stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
8.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnock Hotel

Address: The Square, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range: £64 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winnock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winnock Hotel dates back to the late 1700’s and throughout history has always offered lodging to weary travelers passing through by Loch Lomond and the Trossachs areas.Formerly a coaching inn, The Winnock hotel has been lovingly restored and tastefully extended to its present day form. Offering 73 bedrooms, cosy lounges; many with open log fires, a characterful restaurant, function room and public lounge bar, the hotel has many things in common with its historic counterpart with one striking similarity - friendly, welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Winnock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winnock Hotel Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing