We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murderous Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Winnock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winnock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Certificate of Excellence
Stuhr
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Murderous Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Went to a Crime Dinner And had a great time. The room could have done with a bit of TLC, lovely hot water for the bath though.
We had a three course meal, very good food, service polite and efficient, nice ambient.
Cosy evening spent in front of an open fire, nothing better on a cold evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunch-o-heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    328
    161
    68
    45
See reviews for
136
484
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
caerphilly
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

A group of 8 of us travelled with edwards coaches for a 4 night stay over new years eve. What a fantastic time we had. Everything was just so lovely - fabulous food, staff, customer care and service; entertainment and location of hotel. We couldnt have wished for better. Would definately recommend it to others and would definately return myself. Just one little thing was that the rooms need a bit of TLC and a shower head holder and curtain. But everything else was first class. Happy new year all at the winnock and well done because you all worked so hard to ensure all visitors hada. Fab time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmad300861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I recently stayed over at the Winnock for a murder mystery evening, with my Sister,Niece and friend.Lovely location and very friendly check in.We were allocated two of the refurbished rooms, which were very spacious and clean.The murder mystery took place in the lovely conservatory area and continued over the dinner.The food was fabulous and staff were friendly and attentive.After dinner there was a karaoke in the bar which was a great end to our evening.Next morning we were running late for the murder conclusion and the very helpful young duty manager went to great lengths to keep breakfast warm for us.Nothing was any trouble for him.All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Just ask for a refurbished room, we were in 90 and 91.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillj61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is our 4th year at the hotel for new year and it has been the best one yet. All staff are great from the cleaners to Managers. Adam on the bar ,Tracey on reception and Dylan,John and Ryan serving us our food really stood out. Although it was over new year all staff who had to give up their new year to make ours special did not moan or grumble they were all happy to be of assistance. The manager David should give himself and all other staff a good pat on the back for a job well done. We will be back next year so look out staff, Winnock here we come.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was a great find. Roaring fires, clean rooms, very good staff who worked very hard to ,ake our stay memorable. The entertainment was brilliant. A great wY to see in the new year. Very good value. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have just got back from a wonderful 3 nughts short break, we will return ther in the future. The hotel food & the hotel staff where excellent and all very helpfull, the room amminties were lovely. This was a Twixmas break and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Having arrived before 9am on Sunday morning;with my fellow Hill Walkers,we decended on the Winnock to partake of Bacon Rolls/and that of the Link Sausage..Tea and Coffee..We could all see that the Restaurant was full of guests having breakfast,and why not.This presented no problem to the young staff on duty,and that of the young lad who's name I forget;but was I think in charge of this matter..We were seated in the bar area,which was very nice..Order taken,tea coffee and toast/Jams etc appeared instantaneously,to get us going..Within seconds,hot scrumptious filled rolls arrived.We as a walking club,would like to thank all the staff for this great service...I would add,that we returned after our adventures on the hill,for beer and coffee..We salute you service...........We shall return

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamson000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
8.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnock Hotel

Property: Winnock Hotel
Address: The Square, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Winnock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winnock Hotel dates back to the late 1700’s and throughout history has always offered lodging to weary travelers passing through by Loch Lomond and the Trossachs areas.Formerly a coaching inn, The Winnock hotel has been lovingly restored and tastefully extended to its present day form. Offering 73 bedrooms, cosy lounges; many with open log fires, a characterful restaurant, function room and public lounge bar, the hotel has many things in common with its historic counterpart with one striking similarity - friendly, welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winnock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winnock Hotel Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing