We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHORT STAY AT THE WINNOCK HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Winnock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winnock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Certificate of Excellence
Sunny Porthcawl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SHORT STAY AT THE WINNOCK HOTEL”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have just returned home after a four night stay at this hotel with a coach party. Our luggage was taken from the coach to our room and back on the return journey. There are no lifts in this hotel so this was a great help. Our room was pretty clean (bit dusty in places) and comfortable and decorated quite nicely. An extra power point would have been handy for charging my phone but this was not a huge problem.

Breakfast on the whole was good but the choice was limited on days 2 and 3, with no fresh fruit or yogurt available and no cheese or ham. However the hot breakfast was excellent and cooked to order with a choice of how you would like your eggs cooked. The waiting staff were all pleasant and nothing was too much trouble even though they were rushed off their feet at times.

The evening meals were excellent. There was plenty of choice with 4 starters, 4 mains (2 meat, one fish and one veggie meal) and 3 puddings or cheese and biscuits. Portions were generous! With our package we also had wine and water included with the meal and free drinks between 7:30 and 10:30 pm. There was entertainment every evening which, I have to admit, was not to our taste, but there were many guests who seemed to enjoy it. However there was plenty of room at the bar area where there were comfy seats where you could sit and chat by a log fire.

There was wi-fi available but we did not discover this until the morning of our departure as it wasn't made that obvious; there again perhaps we should have just asked! All the staff were welcoming, pleasant and courteous.

All in all if you are looking for a pleasant stay in a traditional Scottish country hotel you will find it here.

Room Tip: Rooms 38 and 39 are reputed to be haunted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skagirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    328
    159
    68
    45
See reviews for
135
484
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just back from another lovely sunday lunch, such great value, £9.95 for 3 excellent coursed of food. Even better we had 2 children with us and they had a childs meal split between them but there was still plenty of food. Very friendly staff too, very patient with our children, and our indecision thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have just stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and were made to feel at home from the start.The rooms were clean and comfortable,the food was excellent and a different menu every night.Entertainment every evening was very good especially James
Thanks for a lovely warm stay would recommend

Room Tip: Room 75 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We dropped on a good deal through Laterooms.com for this hotel. The staff were very friendly. The room was bigger and better equipped than we had expected. A well cooked scottish breakfast (though I'm not too keen on haggis). Good beer in the bar. Logs fires - which were very pleasant as the weather outside was awful.

There were 2 coach parties while we were there but they dined in a separate room so didn't affect us "normal" guests.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My Husband and myself were at the Winnock Hotel on 9th Feb at the Shindig could not fault this Hotel in any way lovely room spotless bathroom was the same friendly and helpful staff food excellent special thanks to Laura and Tracy at Reception ,will be back again May and Archie Hutton .

Room Tip: We had a lovely room,it was spotless really large room everything you need room 84 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayhutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Kettlewells coaches of retford have brought a group to stay at The Winnock hotel thisweek. Everone has had a wonderful time due to the owner David Warnes excellent attention to detail. The food is better than many restaurants with very good variety and portions. Entertainment has been provided each evening. All the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: No lift so mention this when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinekettlewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I travelled with Glenton to the Winnock Hotel,great crowd on the bus and a fun party night.Hotel excellent ,food first class.Staff very helpful,entertainment ****.This hotel is a little gem and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 860melsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
8.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnock Hotel

Property: Winnock Hotel
Address: The Square, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Winnock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winnock Hotel dates back to the late 1700’s and throughout history has always offered lodging to weary travelers passing through by Loch Lomond and the Trossachs areas.Formerly a coaching inn, The Winnock hotel has been lovingly restored and tastefully extended to its present day form. Offering 73 bedrooms, cosy lounges; many with open log fires, a characterful restaurant, function room and public lounge bar, the hotel has many things in common with its historic counterpart with one striking similarity - friendly, welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winnock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winnock Hotel Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing