We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing 2nd visit to the Winnock”
Review of Winnock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winnock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Came with my wife for weekend break on an Easybreak deal. Clean and comfortable room, friendly staff and good food. The thing we enjoyed most about the Winnock was that it felt as if the other guests were really enjoying themselves. Happy vibe about the place and great location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 94,009,007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked through easybreaks, 2 adults,2 nights db&b and bottle of wine for £130!! Wasn't expecting much at this price. I was so wrong! We arrived early and reception went out of their way to make sure we got checked in before 3pm. Then the surprise at the size of our room (31) with a four poster and massive TV. Lots of lovely fresh towels and plenty tea and coffee. Sat downstairs by the fire till dinner time. I could have went to sleep, such a lovely atmosphere. Bar staff were so nice and friendly. Then came the dinner, this chef should be on the TV. Restaurant is beautiful and we easily could have been in a 5 star! Food was to die for and served by very professional staff, they are all so nice and not one thing is a bother to any of them. Spent the night in the ptarmigan, just fabulous. Next day was a repeat, everything top notch yet again. Special mention to Tracy on reception, what a laugh! I would be very proud if this was my establishment and would praise all the staff continuously. When we were at breakfast (which was also delicious, loads of choice and always served piping hot)the first I asked when our room would get cleaned, the girl went and spoke to housekeeping asking them to do our room first while we had breakfast. Sure enough, that's exactly what happened. Went upstairs to a lovely fresh room, clean towels and tea all replenished. The cleaning girls were also so accommodating and lovely people. Definitely will be returning. Thank you so much to all of you at The Winnock for making us feel so welcome, treating us like royalty and making our weekend perfect. Well done guys, keep up the amazing work!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petal31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just had a few days at the Winnick hotel, Drymen with my husband, and can say it was value for money, The reception staff were excellent and the four course evening meal was first class. I would say that parts of the hotel could do with a make over but it's charm, friendly staff and a bedroom that was bigger than the one we had in Las Vegas who could complain.Would recomend the Winnock for a short break.

Room Tip: ask what is in the bedroom. we had two king size beds, couch and single seat and there was still ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I, together with four other couples stayed at The Winnock for four nights from 17th Feb 2014. We went along with the group rather than chose this hotel in particular. The cost of the trip was very modest, so we were not expecting five star luxury. What a treat we received.

It is not five star but it is the best three star we can recall, after a lifetime of travelling the world.

Nothing disappointed. The staff were first rate, always working so hard and so pleasant, always smiling and very helpful. The food was so good, both choice, quality and presentation. Our table of ten was, on every occasion, served, all at the same time, with the correct dishes, as chosen, on piping hot plates and with a smile. The hotel was full while we were there and having been in the licensed trade, we know this is quality of service is not easily achieved. The breakfasts were as good as anyone could expect and a glass or two of wine was included with each evening meal

We had a great room, (No. 82), on the first floor. It had king size bed, en-suite with bath and a very good walk=in shower, always piping hot water. Coffee and tea making facilities, with more than enough supplies, including drinking chocolate and biscuits. There was also a flat screen tv, alarm radio and even a tv set in the wall over the bath. There are windows on two sides of this room with pleasant enough views and a small balcony accessed thro' patio doors. Each day we had fresh laundry and the room was spotlessly cleaned. How good is this for three star? Were we just lucky and got the owners suite?

The lounge/bar areas were more than adequate made more so, with log and peat fires always blazing. Residents had the benefit of a 'free bar' for three hours a night, (1930-2230). Again no disappointments, the beer, Ptarmigan, was excellent, as was the bar staff. No waiting for service here and more often than not, they refused gratuities.

This has to be the best staffed three star and the best value in Scotland. If it isn't, I hope we are as lucky, on our next trip up there and find what would need to be some kind of gem to better our experience at The Winnock.

The staff were superb, even after we left, because they went to the nth degree to trace and return to us, a pair of gloves we had left behind. Great team.

Room Tip: Only saw number 82 and would certainly request it next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a weekend break and enjoyed the murder mystery at the hotel. We got a voucher for Christmas so didn't really know what to expect.

It was hilarious. Great food and the actors were really funny and made the night. We went to the public bar after where there was a singer on. Added bonus that did keep us in drinking though. Quite a few sore heads obvious next morning. Drink prices were very reasonable for a hotel.

Breakfast was good. Plenty of choice and well presented even though we were last ones in.

Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Great stay. We will definitely be back and will recommend to work for Christmas party.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strangward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I visited with a friend for lunch and the Winnock never disappoints. They have a lot of coach parties coming and going, and staying, plus a lot of people come in to the bar to watch the footy on the telly, so the place is often pretty busy - my friend & I didn't particularly want to compete with the football or the television so were quickly directed to the conservatory, where we could enjoy our lunch as well as have a good blether. Starter plus coffee (pot of) did the business, They source as much of their food locally as they possibly can, which is a big plus for me. Service top quality and the prices are extremely reasonable.
Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaryDoll_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Winnock recently with friends for their overnight murder mystery evening. The hotel is typically Scottish; by that I mean old, rustic, warm, cosy and friendly.

The hotel room itself was lovely, I think it was part of their refurbished/newer area and it was clean, fresh, spacious, modernised. The bathroom was nice, clean and fresh with a good shower over bath.

We ate in the hotel as part of the murder mystery evening and the meal was okay. Not the best I've ever eaten but nice enough and filling. There was a glass of Buck's Fizz prior to the meal where the characters were introduced and then the murder commenced!

I won't say too much about the actual murder mystery part for fear of ruining it for another traveller but it was humorous, entertaining and overall a good evening.

Breakfast was very disappointing. Too early a finish and hardly anything left when we got there (which was at least half an hour before breakfast time finished). No tea, coffee or juice. Breakfast was cold and as I say there was hardly anything left. The staff clearly weren't interested in going to refill anything even though there was still a full half hour left before breakfast was due to finish. It was the most disappointing part of our stay and something which is surely so easy fixed. And the overnight stay was about £90 per person a night so hardly cheap!

Would I return?! Probably not as I've experienced the murder mystery and that's the only reason we went to be honest. But nice hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank CAG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
8.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
15.4 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
138 reviews
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnock Hotel

Address: The Square, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range: £54 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winnock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winnock Hotel dates back to the late 1700’s and throughout history has always offered lodging to weary travelers passing through by Loch Lomond and the Trossachs areas.Formerly a coaching inn, The Winnock hotel has been lovingly restored and tastefully extended to its present day form. Offering 73 bedrooms, cosy lounges; many with open log fires, a characterful restaurant, function room and public lounge bar, the hotel has many things in common with its historic counterpart with one striking similarity - friendly, welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Winnock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winnock Hotel Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing