We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a meal”
Review of Winnock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winnock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in a bed and breakfast whilst walking the west highland way, so had to eat out in the evening. We chose the resturant at the Winnock hotel. It is a very nice setting and the service was good, however after a long walk that day I found the meal to be a bit small. The food was very nice and a fair price.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Steer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed only 1 night here, it was a last minute decision. We read that this hotel is haunted and we like staying in haunted places so that helped us decide.
The village of Drymen and the area is just beautiful with hills and lakes.
The hotel is a typical older an charming place. Our deluxe room was quite spacious and very comfortable.
Our daughter's standard room was small but functional.
The bathrooms were small but adequate.
Dinner there was excellent, traditional Scottish fare.
Breakfast was not the greatest... a very small selection for the cold buffet. And we somehow felt invisible to the staff in the morning, no one would make eye contact.
Still we liked the place and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Hotel is a little weary in décor, it needs dining chairs and chairs in conservatory updating.
After saying that most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful, we were on a 5 day break with Parry's and our bedroom was great plenty of room with a balcony and a TV in the bathroom, not that we used it though. Although the room was lovely there was quite a lot of dust on lamp shades and light bulbs. Food in our dining room was lovely and we enjoyed every meal. Entertainment on the first two nights was fantastic especially on Sunday night. We really enjoyed out short break at Winnock

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank charly124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for our friends anniversary (they were married in the Winnock 4 years ago) We had Room 74 at the rear of the hotel which had its own balcony which was quite large, had firm mattress and the only thing i could fault was maybe the floor boards being a bit creaky or the door vibrating slightly when anyone went through the hall doors. This did not impact on our sleep though and with the age of the hotel and the service we experienced will make allowances for that.
We arrived and the reception lady was dealing with a couple who had a complaint about their room, while trying to organise a manager to come down to deal with that and check us in the printer was not working properly. Hats off to her though as she was able to 'grin and bear it' and get us checked in reasonably quickly.
The meal we had in the restaurant was perfect. Had the Cullen Skink for starter, Rib Eye for mains, and it was not over cooked and fell apart when cutting into it, and finally honeycomb cheesecake for desert.
Was able to charge all of this back to my room with no fuss including the drinks as a surprise for our friends.
I did notice the couple from earlier appeared to be having an issue with their booking, but they shared the same surname as another guest in there at the time who had already been served and left.
We had one of the guests had lit up a cigarette in their room close to 4am and it set off the fire alarm, cannot blame the hotel for this as the night duty person had to go and check the zone before he can turn it off. I do think those guests should be able to be named and shamed as i would loved to have had a chat the next morning and i think a lot of others would to :)
Breakfast was of a high standard, and enjoyed a typical scots breakfast with Haggis, black pudding, tattie scone etc. Very tasty and not greasy. Had some marmalade and black berry jam on my toast to finish off. The couple from last night were having problems again selection available at the continental breakfast as we were finishing up so i guess bad things come in 3's or it just wasn't their day

One negative would be that the WiFi was not working apart from in one small area of the hotel, and not back to the rooms. 3G was available near the window of the room and only 1 bar of reception n the phones.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are very quiet, we had room 74 and was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Yes we were surprised at this hotel after reading some of the reviews. We travelled with parrys for a 5 day trip visiting the military tattoo. Our room was plenty big enough, and clean, the only thing was the floor boards squeaked wherever you walked, but given the age of the hotel what do you expect. Also I found the bath slippy even though it had built in non slip, a visit to reception resulted in a brand new non slip mat delivered to the room within 10 minutes, after the first nights sleep I did find the bed hard, maybe because we have a tempur mattress at home, another visit to reception and we were given an over mattress this was put on the bed within the hour, what wonderful service, the reception could not have been more helpful and friendly. The room was cleaned every day to a good standard. The food was superb, what a wonderful surprise roast lamb on our first night, how did they know I was coming. Good portions and excellent presentation. The service could not have been better waiting on staff very friendly nothing too much trouble, I had one night when there was nothing on the menu I liked, they soon came with a salad and new potatoes. We returned from the tattoo at 1.10 am to be greeted by hot soup, and sandwiches, they were freshly made and delicious, also a welcome drink at the bar, the lady on duty was extremely friendly and welcoming, as were all the staff, a truly lovely holiday and hotel . There were48 people on the coach and they enjoyed it as much as we did.
Many thanks to all the staff at the Winnock, you truly do an excellent job

Room Tip: We had room 81 plenty of space but very squeaky floorboards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank plemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We returned to this hotel having stayed a couple of years ago. We were disappointed from the moment we arrived. The receptionist did not even deign to look up when we checked in. She did it all without giving us eye contact. I assume she was having a bad day but not a good first impression.
The mattress on he bed had no support and had collapsed in the centre. Credit to the manager he came and saw and agreed and changed the mattress for a less bad one!
The welcome at the restaurant was less than welcoming. The waiter was not sure we were booked in even though we had paid up front. Again it took the manager to sort this and tell him to seat us. People around us we're complaining throughout their meals. Our was nice but errors occurred all around us and we had to sit and listen to other people grumble.
During the night the fire alarm went off at 4am which is not their fault but no one came to say it had been a false alarm and it was ok to go back to bed.
Wifi works in only about 3ft sq near fireplace. For a hotel in 2014 this is more than disappointing.
Breakfast had run out of all jams breads glasses cheese and ham by 9.30 when we came down even though there were still 30 mins til breakfast finished.
As we left the receptionist simply said ok. No "was everything ok" or "thank you" £170 wasted. Don't book here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tuckumbo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Positive:
Duty manager Ryan was excellent.
Restaurant food very good.

Areas for improvement:
No welcome at reception, kept waiting by receptionist who was more interested in her paperwork than newly arrived guests.
Kept waiting at entrance to restaurant due to a hotel admin. Error.
Pre-booked dinner price is more than the actual price of the fixed menu. A small amount granted, but nevertheless inappropriate.
Two members of staff replied to two different queries with "that's not my job".
Frustrated atmosphere in restaurant due to other guests experiencing long waits for food and mix-ups re: starters.
We had to request everything separately at breakfast (drinking glasses, marmalade, bread buns) because items on the counter had run out!
In summary this was not an enjoyable experience because of the problems above. Lots of staff training needed here, it new staff who are interested in their guests. I won't be returning here in a hurry.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Naissuag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
8.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
15.4 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnock Hotel

Address: The Square, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range: £67 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winnock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winnock Hotel dates back to the late 1700’s and throughout history has always offered lodging to weary travelers passing through by Loch Lomond and the Trossachs areas.Formerly a coaching inn, The Winnock hotel has been lovingly restored and tastefully extended to its present day form. Offering 73 bedrooms, cosy lounges; many with open log fires, a characterful restaurant, function room and public lounge bar, the hotel has many things in common with its historic counterpart with one striking similarity - friendly, welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Winnock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winnock Hotel Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing