We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long grass and sloping pitch”
Review of Drymen Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drymen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drymen Camping
Reviewed 10 June 2013

First night on the WHW and we arrive late at this campsite with our backpacks and tent. Only one other tent on the site but we still couldn't see a level pitch. We did see in the long grass however, a large dog turd. At this point, if there had been an alternative we would have gone.
We had sole use of the facilities except for one young German hiker who had the other tent and his parents (bag carrying service) staying in a motor home on the other side of the barn so it was alright.
Facilities in a nutshell
Sloping pitches in a small area fenced off from the cattle field.
Some wooden 'wigwams' that looked they needed a serious dose of TLC
A covered small barn area with picnic tables, sink, kettle and electric socket.
Portacabin toilets and showers. The heaters in the showers weren't working but the showers were good.
We struck camp in the morning and went back 50yards down the road to pay at the farmhouse, he hadn't even realised we were there! That was a tenner we could have saved but, maybe a tenner he'll put towards mowing the grass! There is now an alternative to this, it's two mile or so earlier on the WHW. We will try that if we go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Malc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

What a shame, This was the first stop on my West Highland Way walk for charity, We were given a telephone number to call upon arrival, there was no answer, we rang the door bell and had a frosty reception from the lady owner. We stayed in a Kacoon, there was no light, no socket, no room at all and no heater. We may aswell have layed outside. It was horrid. The so called kitchen area was simply scruffy work tops, no kettle or other facilitys. There were two sockets on the whole camp site, and with lots of campers wanting to charge mobile phones etc this was simply not enough! Id suggest the owners stop wasting time on abrupt and angry sign writing and put a little effort into the camp site. Id have rather slept in one of my horses stables! However the trip did get better once we had moved on!

Room Tip: Keep walking and stay in the village! the extra 2 miles are worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I personally wouldn't stay here again. I decided my sleeping bag wasn't adequate to stay in a tent again so I payed £25 for a kacoon, believe me it wasn't worth it. Although comfortable, it had no heat and no light... The toilets weren't terrible which is a bonus. The shelter didn't really deliver either... I wouldn't stop here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eloise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Myself and a friend camped here for our first night walking the West Highland Way. The location was definitely interesting - right in the heart of farm land and next door to a horse paddock. This didn't bother us, however some people might not appreciate the smell or the noise of the cows during the night! If anyone has a fear of birds or dogs they may want to avoid this campsite as these lovely animals roam freely (keep your eye out, a sneaky hen had her beak in my bags!).

The campsite is a good mile and a bit outside Drymen where you can find pubs and hotels for a hot meal and a good drink.

The facillities provided were not brilliant, although I was glad that there was something at the end of the day. There are 2 shower blocks (one male and one female) and two seperate toilets in a converted barn. A poster in the shower cubical said the shower only worked on "eco" setting as the ".." setting was scalding. The eco setting was too cold so I turned the dial between the two settings and it was a perfect temperature!

There is also an outside water source in the form of a rusty sink and an extremely wobbly tap which sprays when turned on. We used the taps in the bathroom to use for cooking and to fill our camelbacks.

Overall, we had to qualms staying here as it was only for the one night although we thought the toilet/shower block could benefit from a lick of paint and the outside sink should be fixed!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamnadyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

What a rotten way to start the West Highland Way adventure. Yes there is a couple of reasonable areas for a tent, but that is the last use of the word reasonable. On my recent visit, the one toilet in the Gents area was locked shut, of the two 'mixed' toilets one had no lock (how difficult is it to put a bolt on!!). I was told by a fellow camper that the ladies shower was next to useless and she had given up after being frozen and then scalded.
As for the indoor kitchen area, well even the nesting birds were looking a bit unhappy at the mess. Surely a daily wipe down and tidy up is not too much to ask - but then again, it obviously is.
Not worth £1 a night let alone £5. Felt so sorry for some international visitors who were starting out on the walk and who stayed the night - what must they have thought of Scottish standards.
Owners - get youselves up to Beinglas Farm campsite (amazing), or By the Way at Tyndrum (very well managed) or even Sallochy by Loch Lomondside (with it's composting toilets and outside sink - still miles ahead of Drymen Camping). If you can avoid staying then do - we noticed a campsite sign on a gatepost a couple of miles before Easter Drumquhassie Farm; you know what, it couldn't be worse.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brian2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Tipped up here by 2pm. No one around so retrieved my camping gear which had been transported to the location by Travel Lite (highly recommended) Small camping area and as was first on site had good choice of where to pitch. Ground a bit rough and sloping so decent bed roll is a must. Facilitys were basic and nesting swallows in food prep area resulted in droppings all over sink and tap. For £5 a NIGHT it served it's purpose. A good 1 1/2 miles into Dryman for a pint or two and good food in village pubs. If your camping you have no other choice as it is probably at least another 10 miles further to next camp site on The Way.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sprintrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This camp was our first stop on the WHW. We expected better space and facilities. At a cost of £ 10 (2 people and a tent) can get better accommodation, of course. Nevertheless, we got the basic service quality resonable for backpackers - Shelter for cooking, toilet and shower with hot water. Nothing more, nothing less. Places for tents are relatively few, in a gentle slope

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drymen hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
1.5 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,127 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lomond Luxury Lodges
Lomond Luxury Lodges
#1 of 5 in Drymen
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dunroamin Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
The Hawthorns
The Hawthorns
#3 of 24 in Drymen
247 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Drymen Inn
The Drymen Inn
#5 of 24 in Drymen
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drymen Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drymen Camping

Address: Gartness Road | Easter Drumquhassle Farm, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Drymen
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Drymen Camping Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing