We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy bunk beds!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mulberry Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drymen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mulberry Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Drymen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfy bunk beds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Like a lot of people here we arrived here after walking the first day of the West Highland Way. We actually arrived earlier than we thought we would and nobody was home but we went for a quick wander in Drymen and then back to Yvonne! We had the bunk bed room, which was cosy but completely fine for two people - and fantastic value. Bunk beds were very comfortable and Yvonne's welcome was lovely. The bathroom is AMAZING. I was so disappointed that I didn't see it til the next morning, because I would have definitely had a bath! That is one of the main reasons I am writing this - HAVE A BATH. Ok it's not ensuite but honestly don't worry about that - it was lovely.

Another perk is that Mulberry Lodge is actually on the West Highland Way (unlike Drymen) so you save yourself a wee walk. When we saw the sign for Mulberry Lodge a bit earlier than we thought it was such a lovely surprise!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
My only response to this fab review is that you must come back to HAVE A BATH. Seriously thank you very much for your lovely comments and I wish you all the best. Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
108
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Thoroughly recommend this B and B. Lovely room, comfortable bed, spotlessly clean and a lot of attention to detail
Breakfast was excellent and the owner a lovely lady who made us feel really welcome.
Very convenient for West Highland Way and for pubs for evening meal.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there was a bad one in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Lovely to read that you had a brilliant time at Mulberry Lodge. I hope you had a brill holiday all in all and I wish you the very best. Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

First I would like to say , Sorry Yvonne. It has taken far to long to write this review, ( So I had better make it good). What can I say It was one off the best place s Joan & I stayed on the whole way! A very warm welcome, from your self and Thackeray the cat .very comfortable accommodation, and only one mile from Drymen, And ,off course it is situated right on the WHW its self

Room Tip: Book the ground floor double room ,! it s the best room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 824StuartM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Better late than never. All reviews are welcomed no matter how long you take and I am just so pleased that you have taken the time out to write such a lovely review, Thank you. Hope you had a great holiday. Kind regards Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had been walking all day (the first day of the West Highland way) and arrived earlier than we had thought to a warm welcome. Such a beautiful house in a beautiful setting. Yvonne makes sure all the little details are just right. There was a lovely fire in the lounge for us to enjoy with Thackeray the cat. The breakfast table was beautifully set and the breakfast itself was delicious. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. I would thoroughly recommend a stay there, it would be the perfect place to stop to explore the area. Who knows we might make it back there, I hope so!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SueB682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay at Mulberry Lodge and it was a pleasure to share our home with you. We would love to welcome you back to Scotland and hope you will one day. Take care Yvonne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We arrived after walking 12 miles from Milngavie on the first stage of the West Highland Way. We had a warm welcome and were recommended several local pubs for dinner, one of which we tried and was very good. The room was very comfortable and well decorated, and the main bathroom was huge, and while we didn't use the bathtub it looked excellent. We spent some time in the lounge with the very friendly house cat Thackary. Unfortunately the heating didn't work during our stay, but Yvonne was kind enough to provide us with a space heater which kept us warm. We enjoyed our tasty breakfast with the other guest, and also had a packed lunch made by Yvonne which set us up for another day of walking! We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhuna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Chris Thanks for the great review and so please that you were able to see beyond the broken down boiler, which was repaired on the Monday and was back up and running by lunch time. These things always happen at the weekend!! We would be delighted to receive you again within the WARM surroundings of Mulberry Lodge, don't leave it too long. Take care Yvonne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

A great stay. Yvonne was more than helpful and a great host. The room and whole house in fact was immaculately clean, so so clean I spilt some water on the floor by accident and wiped it up with some white tissue and nothing, not a speck of dirt on it!

The bathroom is one of the nicest and most luxurious I've been in, the room whilst fair enough on the smallish side was comfortable and had everything you needed, tea coffee wardrobe, hooks and hangers and a bin and WIFI! Just tick boxes all around. Breakfast was fresh and delicious, not too much, not too little, the sitting room always with a fire on in the evening and comfy bit leather sofas.

Location is a 13 minute walk to Drymen village centre, very quiet, great country views, peaceful and an old Victorian style home with living room and dining room, quirky trinkets and antique furniture around in a homely but unimposing way. In the village there are a few pubs, I went two days on the trot to the Clachan Inn, the Oak tree inn further out from the village (a drive away) also was great.

Basically, if you're in the area for walks or just a chill weekend or whatever don't even think twice, stop comparing review on tripadvisor and just BOOK MULBERRY LODGE!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frothychocy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Jen Thank you so much for a fantastic review. I am glad that you had a great stay at Mulberry Lodge and I appreciate so much that you took the time to send in a comment. Take care and we may see you again in the future. You are always welcome. Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

While walking the West Highland Way with a friend of mine we came by this place. It's on the Way itself and just outside the village of Drymen itself. We got a great bunkbed. The bathroom is the most impressive one I have seen throughout several travels in Schotland. Other than that there was a lovely breakfast, great service and an overall great, friendly and personal treatment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daaf d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Mulberry Lodge and that you took the time to send in a review. I hope that you had a wonderful holiday in Scotland and that the alternative WHW worked out well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hawthorns
The Hawthorns
#1 of 23 in Drymen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bramblewood Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulberry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulberry Lodge

Property: Mulberry Lodge
Address: Mulberry Lodge Gartness Road | By Drymen, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mulberry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Mulberry Lodge, B & B, The West Highland Way, Drymen, Loch Lomond" - Welcome to our 19th-century lodge. Mulberry Lodge is a delightful old lodge house built in 1888 which still retains its character and period features. Enjoy the peace and tranquil location of Mulberry Lodge which sits on its own overlooking fields surrounded by wooded areas in the peaceful and beautiful environs of Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mulberry Lodge Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing