We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A really nice house”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
View of Loch Lomond from Conic Hill just 3 miles from the property
Wintyer view of Loch Lomond from Conic Hill just 3 miles from the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gosforth4
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A really nice house”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in August. The first thing to say is that this house feels like someones home, not a holiday rental. It is nicely laid out and tastefully decorated in an ecletic way with lots of interesting pictures. It is fitted and furnished to a high quality - higher than most rented houses. The kitchen is spacious and well equipped and opens into a dining area with an excellent log burning stove. They leave loads and loads of logs. There are two connected lounge areas , one of which which has double doors with panoramic views of the beautiful garden. On a nice evening you can go through the doors and sit with your drink on the cobbled terrace. When it starts to get a bit chilly you can toss a few logs in the fire pit and stay out longer.
The two main bedrooms are large and have on-suites. The other bedrooms are small and there is also a bed in the downstairs play room. The ensuite shower rooms are spacious and there is plenty of hot water delivered with good pressure.
The setting is absolutley beautiful with a large garden and a burn running down one side. There is a pathway to walk to the village of Drymen which takes about 15 minutes and we would highly recommend the Clachan Inn for good beer and food. The pub accepts dogs - not that we had any of course!
The minor negative points are that the ensuite in the main bedroom is a little gloomy because there is not enough lighting. You will bang you head on the staircase at some point. And there is no tumble dryer... in Scotland!!!
Overall we absolutley loved this place and would highly recommend it. We would definitely go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMas0n
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This house was a brilliant place to stay for a week in Scotland. We were all members of the same extended family & travelled from 5 different places to meet here and were in Drymen to attend a wedding. The house is spacious and easily accommodated all 9 people over night and even allowed for added extras to pop over for drinks in the garden and on one evening, 17 people were in the house for dinner; another morning I think there was 12 of us for breakfast. It was lovely to have a neutral place as a home away from home in a very known to the party area.
Booking this property was a mission and a half. There was a mix up with arrival and departure dates which were accepted in the first instance and then the owner realised an error of an double booking after the event of booking and it took many phone calls and emails (including cancelling the whole booking) to rebook and start again to get the right dates. We couldn't arrive until the Sunday and were charged from the Saturday and then were called on the Saturday evening asking where we were as we hadn't arrived, so the faffing around upon booking was for what I wonder? This was the most tricky reservation I have ever made for a holiday but in fairness it was sorted by the owner who was apologetic at the time.
Having stayed in many self catered holiday lets there were basics I felt missing ie no salt and pepper, no cooking oil, no spare toilet roll and most bizarrely there wasn't a usable wardrobe for us. There was a rail in the single room, but we all had full wedding attire that needed hanging properly. My aunty who lives locally brought us a clothes rail to use for the week so I suppose that was fine (for us).
That aside however, the space in that house, the location, the feel of the house, the dining room, the garden, the log fires, the cost and overall ease of the place; it was a wonderful place to stay on holiday and we are looking to coming back for another family wedding in 2019.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
The booking issue was explained at the time. We had just moved over to the Holiday Lettings and Homeaway direct booking site options and were unfamiliar with the chance that if website calendars were not synced immediately a double booking situation could occur. This booking was the only time that this has happened and we apologized unreservedly at the time.
Wine, coffee, tea, biscuits, sugar, milk and oil, salt and pepper are always left in the kitchen as a welcome pack along with washing up liquid, cloths,tea towels etc. We have spoken to the housekeeper who assures me that the welcome pack will be checked before guests arrive in order that this does not happen again. As the original booking was for 8 adults, we were never made aware that 17 people were arriving for dinner or that 12 people would be staying for breakfast. with that in mind I think the toilet paper perhaps should / could have been bought by our guests to accommodate theirs!
Hanging space has never been an issue before however Strathendrick will be going through a major refurbishment throughout this winter and that issue will be addressed. Thank you for your comments, please be assured that we take them seriously
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing homely quirky house in beautiful part of the world”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I spent weekend in strathendick house in late May whilst we did a section of the west highland way for charity. Everything was perfect. House well equipped, spacious and homely. Housekeeper met us on arrival and no issues at all. Wished we could have stayed longer. Would be perfect for groups or families wanting to explore area. Grounds and gardens amazing. Thank you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123carOle
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant. Home from home.”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What an AMAZING house. We had a fantastic long weekend at the house celebrating a special birthday. Everyrhing was immaculate even down to the lovely welcome pack including wine and shortbread.
The garden is huge and it was lovely to sit outside listening to the wildlife and even spitting the deer at the bottom of the garden.
Children would love to run around, just need to watch them with the burn. It wasn't deep when we were there and wellies on would make a wonderful adventure!!!
Two of the bedrooms are huge and have ensuites. The beds are so comfy and we had a super sleep. The other bedrooms are good and accommodate another 5 people.
The kitchen is well equipped and the logs fires were a delight to sit in front of. We will certainly be back at a letter date. Everyone has requested another stay. Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0n0ffire
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great time in a great house”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was a lovely house full of character and a great place to spend time with the family, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it,it was first class , the location of the house was ideal for activities and many of the sites we visited were close by ,the village was 2min away with shops.hotels and pubs, Our whole party loved the time spent ,there we wished it was longer

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous space”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This house was the perfect setting for our group holiday. It had everything we needed to cook ourselves in the big kitchen and had plenty space to do our own thing. Plenty within walking/short driving distance as we'd lucked out being there the weekend of the Drymen show. We were given plenty info for other things to do in the area. 40 min to Glasgow and much closer to Loch Lomond where we enjoyed climbing Ben Lomond. The fire pit and trampoline in the garden were particularly popular with our group.

Ker was most accomodating with our needs, letting us bring a couple of extra sleeping bags for our slightly larger group than the 9 the house actually sleeps. He and the housekeeper we spoke with were very easy to deal with and we will certainly consider using the space again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFPITT
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Holiday Rental in Drymen”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This house located in a quiet off the beaten track location in Drymen was just perfect for a family holiday that included elderly parents.The house itself is spacious and well looked after, with everything you need to enjoy your time in Scotland. The outlook from the lounge onto the spectacular garden was lovely to come home to each evening. We appreciated the welcome tea/coffee, biscuits and nice bottle of wine. These extra touches made difference. The bedrooms are spacious and extremely comfortable and we appreciated nice fluffy towels. The owner is extremely pleasant and easy to deal with and accommodated our ask for a bed downstairs for one parent,without any hesitation. We would not hesitate to recommend this house and would return in a flash.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing