We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried the food in the bar this time.”
Review of The Oak Tree Inn

The Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Drymen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tried the food in the bar this time.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Was in the area so stopped by mid week in the bar for refreshment of both the liquid and edible kind. Great location and unpretentious, friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Food good as it was in the past in the restaurant.

Have some concern about the claims of locally caught haggis! Many may believe this and it was not April 1st.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    189
    43
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good spot for lunch after climbing Conic Hill”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Party of six had lunch here after climbing Conic Hill earlier in the day. Food was reasonable, most of us had burgers which were well presented. The girls in the party liked the tea cups hanging in the dining area, might not be to everyone's liking mind you. Decent wee place to get a bite to eat, not cheap but not expensive either, middle of the road.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank invincible_ghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed at Loch Lomond Waterfront Lodges up the road in August last year and we visited the Oak Tree Inn on 2 nights for our evening meal. Can not fault the staff, the atmosphere or the food. It was brilliant and I loved it. Made a small mistake on the first occasion by ordering too much to eat, did not realise the portions would be so big. Make sure you take a look at the specials board for some really lovely food options. Haggis Pakoras were my favourite. Next time I am back in Loch Lomond territory, I will be sure to pop in again for a meal. Lovely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank evertonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice as Pie”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

One of the best around, go for the steak and ale pie, delicious rich, tasty, not overwhelming. Nice atmosphere, good wholesome English pub grub.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank frothychocy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Attractive Inn on West Highland Way”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was a real find on our walk along the West Highland Way in Balmaha. Fantastic atmosphere in a cosy and warm pub - good beer, the food looked excellent and although we did not eat there we would certainly have liked to. The menu was tempting and the portions looked generous for the many walkers who were stopping by. There is plenty of fishing equipment and photos on the walls in the bar - it looks like a local gillies bar and the tea room has an extensive collection of vintage cups and saucers hanging from the beams - looks better than is sounds! Actually very attractive. There is outside seating with views of Loch Lomond and a handy village shop next door for supplies. A great stopping point on the route and worth a trip to just for the food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wheeler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oak Tree Inn also viewed

Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing