We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scones and tea after first day of walking”
Review of Kip in the Kirk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kip in the Kirk
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Scones and tea after first day of walking”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Was greeted enthusiastically with a warmed up scone and hot pot of tea after my first day on West Highland Way (12 miles). Lovely restored church with original floors, bright clean bunks in former children's workshops area upstairs with clearstory windows. Great soft and warm quilts. Lovely warm hostess. First place you come to on your right entering Drymen. They also have a few private rooms that looked nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliea291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
44
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

11 of us turned up on friday night at the kip in the kirk at the start of the west highland way and we all agreed we would not get any way close to the hospitality and quality we received of Francis and Johnny.We had the top floor of there bunkhouse to ourself's and three of the guy's were on the lower made to feel at home straight away and if you get the chance to try Frances baking dont pass it up.True hospitality of Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaltonAthletic165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Kip in the Kirk was probably the nicest and homeliest hostel/bunkhouse I stayed at on my trip up the West Highland Way.

I arrived at 5pm and there was a scone and coffee on arrival.
The bunk room was spacious with good comfortable beds, nicely furnished and natural light.

Breakfast was fresh coffee (not a given in Scotland), juice, cereal, croissants, ham, cheese, fruit and probably more I can't remember.

The hosts were very helpful and welcoming. They also had good knowledge of the area, walking and the mountains.

It is situated just off the central village green which has a selection of pub/restaurants. For a drink I would recommend the Clachan which had a good contingent of locals and atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1harden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in this amazing converted church which manages to feel like a home, as well as having rooms to suit most needs, We were with our 3 grown up children having taken part in the Great Scottish Swim and Frances and Jonny couldn't have been more accommodating, friendly and welcoming. We even dried our wet suits on their washing line. It is spotlessly clean and in a great location. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances W, Owner at Kip in the Kirk, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to write this review. It was great having you and your family to stay here, kipping in the kirk! We do hope that you will come back next year to compete in the 'Great Scottish Swim' we look forward to welcomming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okanagan Valley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our room was very comfortable and immaculate, as was the bathroom. Breakfast was exceptional (continental style) and a nice change from the traditional Scottish breakfast offered at most of the B&Bs we stayed at. Both Frances and Johnny were very accommodating and very gracious. In addition, they offered us many tips and information on places to go and things to see and do in Scotland, as well as a few driving tips for a couple from Canada not used to driving on the left side of the road and the numerous round-a-bouts!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruce2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We arrived at Kip in the Kirk exhausted after our first day on the West Highland Way. Frances gave us a very warm welcome with tea and scones. Our room and en-suite bathroom were really lovely and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was continental, beautifully presented, and served in an open plan kitchen - and it was great to be able to chat to Frances and other walkers. This B&B was excellent value for money and we couldn't recommend it more highly. (We stayed at many places during this trip as we were walking the Great Glen Way as well - and Kip in the Kirk was one of the best). We ate dinner at the Drymen Inn - excellent food and a great lively atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christabel38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My son and I stayed here for one night before starting walking the Rob Roy Way. The place is immaculate, the hosts very friendly and we highly recommend it. Breakfast is served in the open plan kitchen meaning the guests get to mingle.
A great start to the week and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottng15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,055 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Drymen Inn
The Drymen Inn
#4 of 24 in Drymen
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hawthorns
The Hawthorns
#3 of 24 in Drymen
225 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kip in the Kirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kip in the Kirk

Property: Kip in the Kirk
Address: The Old Church | 11 Stirling Road, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kip in the Kirk – sleep in the converted Old Church. We have an en suite family room and a double room with private facilities. The large rear hall can accommodate 8 guests in full size bunks, with bed linen, towels and 2 lovely new shower rooms. We will be delighted to welcome you all with tea and homemade scones. Our bunk room is ideally suited to walkers on a budget, families or groups of friends travelling together. A first class continental breakfast will set you up for the day ahead, with freshly prepared items including our next door neighbour’s famous homemade marmalade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Kip in the Kirk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kip In The Kirk Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing